We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and helpful staff at beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #36 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff at beautiful hotel”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stayed here while on a conference, and I was quite impressed! The room was beautiful and modern, the bathroom was quite large and beautiful as well. Plenty of closet space, and very comfortable beds. The staff was also impressive, as they were quick to assist with anything needed. I could not find my information to print my boarding pass, so I needed to get into my e-mail. The lady at the front desk gave me her keyboard, turned her monitor around, and let me get into my e-mail from there, rather than making me go pay for internet service. The staff members go out of their way to assist the guests, which is wonderful to experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopy0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    380
    98
    25
    19
See reviews for
208
294
45
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Spent one night at this property. It was one of the nicest Marriott hotels I've stayed in. Room was flawless, clean, very well appointed. Staff was helpful, polite, professional and helpful. Bed was big and very comfortable. I've stayed in many hotels in Chicago and this is the nicest one I've stayed in. I'm changing my future stays in Chicago to this hotel, I've found my new home. Anyone finding flaws with this property would be very, very picky.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

JW Marriott brand is a notch above your regular Marriott. This is a luxury 5 star hotel.

This hotel has very professional staff, extremely clean and luxurious rooms, very spacious modern bathrooms and simply the most comfortably linens. Marble is abundant in the bathrooms.
The rooms have large size Iphone/Ipod docks, large screen TV's, nice carpet and high quality furniture that could easily accommodate a long stay. Closet space is more than adequate for 2 people for a longer stay.
The bar downstairs has a great drink selection and a very warm welcoming atmosphere with pleasant and very professional bartenders. The staff knows a lot about Chicago and will answer your questions about where to go/what to do even if you know quite a bit yourself.

This hotel has a very sophisticated yet warm and home like atmosphere. Please understand, it is not the absolute biggest or best of what Chicago has to offer, but it is very unique in it's own way and very welcoming. It is located in one of Chicago's most historic and oldest buildings to provide that old world city charm. It is the type of hotel that you want to come back to time and time again and call it home away from home.
The room service menu is very extensive (dinner and lunch) are very reasonably priced for a hotel of this type.
Due to the location of this hotel, please do not expect a great view, just an OK view. It is located in a historic building that over the years became surrounded by other taller ones. If you want a street view, you will have no problems getting it you reserve your room by phone in advance.

Just like ALL the other hotels in this class, breakfast is not included in the price but again, it will be delivered to your room and the prices a very reasonable for a hotel of this level.

The hotel is very close to your major conveniences: Walgreens, Starbucks, Cafe's, Restaurants and etc. Some reviews complain that is it not close enough to the 'shopping central' on Michigan Avenue and etc. It is really not fair to judge this way and most people who stay at this hotel do not have shopping as their #1 priority for the day. Please check the map before you book. This is foremost a sophisticated professional/business/luxury hotel and it is for that purpose in an ideal location...the center of the financial district. If you want a 5 minute walk to the Water Tower and Michigan Avenue shopping there is a regular Marriott on Mich. Av. for about $100 less. However, this JW is not that far of a walk to Michigan Avenue shopping if you are a fairly fit and not lazy :-) If anything, a maximum 5 minute cab ride to Water Tower.


Not so negatives but just pointers for future guests and management.
Wi-Fi is not complimentary
No slippers for after bath/shower

For the price, this hotel is without a doubt a winner and worth boking if you haven't stayed there.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, please call and ask in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silverwaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

A lovely hotel in a convenient business location that has everything, including a great spa. An easy walk to lots of outside art. The food in the restaurant was delicious and creatively prepared. The rooms and amenities were perfect for our use. The only drawback is that I booked a room that included breakfast. The breakfast was only continental and served in the bar. I could not change to a buffet breakfast in the restaurant. It would have been nice to know that I was paying buffet prices for a continental breakfast when making the reservation. Also, eating in the bar was not really appropriate when traveling with a child.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheesehead_In_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This property is 1 year old and absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We went to Chicago for a weekend of shopping and fun. Although we looked at a lot of hotels, we stayed here because we got a great rate. The rooms are really nice. Comfortable beds, nice linens, etc. The bathroom was huge. Nice glassed in shower, large separate tub, nice appointments. The only downside was that it is not close to shopping and much of the area is not open on weekends. I understand this is due to the fact that it is in the business district of Chicago. The EL station is close by and you can always take a taxi. This is a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I just stayed at the JW Marriott in Chicago on Adams Street, which is in a great location in the heart of the financial district. The hotel is beautiful, as was the room albeit a bit small. Unfortuantely I experienced a few small mishaps which was an inconvenience for this quick business trip. The first was while doing a quick cleanup after checking in to see that the mouthwash foil seal was broken. The second was jumping into the shower in the morning and realizing that I was left no shampoo. I called the operator and politely asked if someone could rush it up which she said yes to, however that took almost 30 minutes. Minor complaints but disappointing given this being a flagship property.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rkalish12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#10 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#104 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Property: JW Marriott Chicago
Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing