We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest Marriott I've seen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #40 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This hotel is georgeous. Everything from the lobby to the rooms to the bar. First class all the way. Expect to pay Chicago loop prices for rooms and parking.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincytraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,385 - 1,391 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

This fairly new (less than a year old) hotel in the Chicago financial district was created from a classic Burnham-designed bank building. They did a nice job of modernizing while keeping a hint of historic style. Service was impeccable; the room was spacious and well appointed (huge bathroom). All employees went out of their way to be helpful. There's only one restaurant (an independent restaurant with excellent Italian food) in the hotel, but there is also a cocktail lounge in the lobby. It looks like their conference and event facilities are extensive, however.Our room didn't have much of a view, as the building is set closely between other massive old edifices, and we did hear the Chicago elevated train once in a while during the night. But it was an ideal location for exploring Chicago's downtown loop, with easy access to transportation elsewhere. There isn't much traffic in the financial district on the weekend, so that was good also.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjj3111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My friend came out to visit for a spa weekend and my daughter recommended we try this hotel. The hotel was beautiful. The rooms were gorgeous and so so nice. It was worth taking cabs to Michigan Ave. to stay at such a wonderful place. The staff was so courteous and super friendly. The fellow who helped us get our cabs was so extremely nice. The food at the Florentine was delicious.
When I arrived home from the weekend, I realized I forgot my make-up in my room. I called the next morning and the person who worked in lost and found was very helpful. He said he would go across the street immediately and fed ex my makeup back to me. I got it the very next day.
My husband and I are going downtown in December. We will definitely be spending the night at the JW Marriott

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retiredtraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The rooms and the beds are beautiful and perfectly appointed, just a great city hotel. We also like being away from the noise of Michigan Avenue. The staff were impressively accommodating! We showed up with kayaks on our vehicle and the valet matter of factly told us that they would not last five minutes on our car if we parked it in an outdoor lot. (The underground secure lot could was not high enough). They suggested storing them in the bellman's closet and proceeded to haul them through the lobby, all with enthusiasm at that. When we went to leave three days later they had already mounted them back on our car!!! Never have we had such over-the-top valet service.

Room Tip: High floor, inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveitallx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Expect excellent service from the time you check in through check-out. Staff always courteous, friendly, and knowledgeable. The large quiet room was much nicer than most hotels and was an exterior room (recommended). Had a wonderful dinner at the Florentine restaurant but the food and drink choices at the lobby lounge were very good as well. Kudos to Linnea for being a quick and friendly server in the lounge; I liked her enthusiasm for the hotel as well. I would definitely stay at the JW Marriott in Chicago again.

Room Tip: Choose an exterior room vs the ones that face interior onto a courtyard area. Mine had long walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChilliO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I like the location and amenities. If you are focusing on Marriott properties, it is worth the difference in cost to the Renaissance.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtanpcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The spa facilities are really nice, with a large gym and state-of-the-art sauna and steam. The room are well decorated, clean, and large. Definitely plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cswerdloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#17 of 192 in Chicago
1,727 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Hare
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
#111 of 192 in Chicago
616 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#115 of 192 in Chicago
2,603 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $193 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at JW Marriott Chicago. Our luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois is located at LaSalle & Adams and it soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, historic JW Marriott Chicago exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in one of our luxurious hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, JW Marriott Chicago provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing