We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a health inspector”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Chicago
Ranked #43 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 8, 2011

JW Marriot Chicago is a beautifully appointed hotel , sliding doors open to the wrong side ? The lobby is bright, clean and the staff look bored. It is located in the financial district so the restaurants are closed on weekends. Magnificent mile is a good 30 minute brisk walk. I attended a conference . The rooms are small,new furniture sufficient enough. Bathrooms are nice, with the mirror bordered by florescent lights, great , white lights and the counter has dotted led lights which is great at nighttime. Toilet was not cleaned properly since there was some fecal residue on the sides, called the front desk. Next day we were missing some toiletries and towels, hair clump on the shower -front desk again, The cleaning time is not consistent since when I came back after lunch the room was not yet done. When calling for anything it takes a while for them to pick up like 5-7 rings. I have stayed at the Marriot before for medical and business conventions, but this hotel is sub par in terms of room cleanliness. DId not try the restaurant Florentine since it was empty we walked to Magnificent mile. In terms of location, it is a poor one especially if you have limited time after all the meetings and CME's. Prefer the Magnificent Mile marriot location was perfect, cleaning was better and so was the staff. Would not reccommed JW to anyone. There are better hotels in the same echelon you go go for.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank conjuror88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,421 - 1,427 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2011

The lobby is beautiful. The food is average. I ordered room service twice for dinners. Each time it was "skimpy" at best. They got the orders wrong both times. And I ordered directly from menu without any variations. The food that did come was delivered lukewarm or cold. And usually they make room service a nice presentation, but i guess at this hotel you just get the basics. (for example, i ordered a cheeseburger one night with a salad. The burger was dry and overcooked too welldone, the fries came cold, the salad was missing things on it that the menu said it had, and they were just too generous to send a single small bottle of catchup instead of a couple. Very basic, no table cloth and a lack of presentation) The rooms were very nicely decorated, but the standard room i had was small. Bathroom was clean and with good amenities. Spacious bathroom. The pool is still not ready, it has been about a year I think. Fitness center was impressively large.

Overall i would probably stay here again as it is a nice hotel in good location. Staff is very helpful with directions and anticipating needs. I think management just needs to focus on consistency and delivery standards for service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KollegeKlubMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Stayed here for 5 days for business conference meetings.

Long hallways that wraps around... with lifts on one side. You will get lots exercise, if you happen to have rooms on the far side from the elevators.

First of all, the internet is SLOW and really sucks, as it only allows you to have one device connect at a time (with their annoying log in/log out service). That means, if you use your laptop to do some emails, you cannot use your PDA/iphone/ipad to do anything else. All that hassle, and they charge you USD14.95 per day.... for slow crummy broadband internet. Otherwise, you can opt to pay USD19.95 for "faster" access.

The gym is located on the basement... no windows!! :-(
Supposed to have a heated pool... but will not be opened till November 2011 it seems.

Compared to other Marriot Hotel that I have stayed (especially in Asia) the housekeeping is horrible. For one, they do not clean your room at a consistent time. Most days, they do not even clean the room until 6pm. Even when they do... the end up missing to refill all the bathroom amenities and one day, did not even refill the coffee / sugar / plastic coffee cups. Next day (after complaining to front desk) they end up piling on all the coffee & milk, but forgotten the cups and water.

Even on a "good" day... they still forgot to the bathroom floor towels.
This is the worst housekeeping for a Marriot, I have experienced - no excuse for a 5-star hotel !!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Was in town for the Chicago Bulls playoff game. The hotel was beautiful and the staff went above and beyond to provide exceptional service, i.e. allowed me to check in early due to the early game time. The room was clean, spacious and the bathroom was awesome! Room service was quick! I will defn stay here again whenever I come to Nashville!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renacrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

My wife and I decided to spend New Year's Eve in Chicago. While we enjoy touring the different areas (and neighborhoods) of Chicago, we generally gravitate towards the Loop when staying in a hotel since we enjoy taking advantage of Amtrak. Union Station is only a couple of blocks away, which is great walking to/from the hotel.

The JW Marriott just opened last year, and it is magnificent. The lobby is warm, clean, and very inviting. The bar has an excellent choice of beers, and for whatever reason the deserts were outstanding (you normally don't think of eating deserts while drinking at a bar, unless you are my wife). The service in the bar was extremely attentive (and all the cocktail waitresses were very attractive - don't worry - my wife said all the guys working at the bar were also attractive). The room was very modern and comfortable; including the bed. The bathrooms was very spacious and bright; our bathroom had a separate toilet room, a soaker tub, AND a walk-in shower. And last, but not least, the room service was fast and immaculate.

The attention to detail was just incredible. It literally felt like they had three employees for every guest in the hotel. This was the best part of the JW Marriott - the employees being ready to assist. We felt like we were at a five-star hotel off the Champs-Élysées in Paris. You know how in the movies they show all the hotel employees running up to help a guest struggling with their three carts of luggage? That's what it felt like. And that's why we had an incredible romantic evening in Chicago for New Year's Eve.

We will definitely be going back this year for New Year's Eve.

Room Tip: We just had a regular room - and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalyan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

very pleased with the location and amenities of this hotel. my view was nice and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyp51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Two night stay at the JW with a friend to just "play" in the city. Service was outstanding from valet parking to departure. We did not dine onsite but did get a tour of the spa and wish we had more time to use those facilities. Rooms were soundproof and comfortable. Bathrooms in the standard guest room were incredible. We only live 40 miles away but will return to what will be a world class hotel in no time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
W Chicago - City Center
W Chicago - City Center
#107 of 192 in Chicago
2,572 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Chicago

Address: 151 W Adams St, Chicago, IL 60603-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#14 Business Hotel in Chicago
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Green Hotel in Chicago
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $225 - $621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter a landmark Millennium Park hotel and experience the renowned architecture of world-famous Daniel Burnham at this luxury hotel in Chicago, Illinois. Located at LaSalle & Adams, this Chicago, Illinois luxury hotel soars above skyscrapers in the heart of one of the world's most powerful financial districts. With a $396 million restoration, the historic JW luxury hotel in Chicago, IL exudes Burnham's refined style combined with 21st century sensibility, providing downtown Chicago with a one-of-a-kind authentic destination. Unwind in our luxury Chicago, IL hotel rooms or dine inside our world-class restaurant, The Florentine. As the epitome of refined elegance, the JW Marriott Chicago hotel provides stunning domed-ceiling ballrooms and meeting venues for corporate gatherings or extravagant weddings and social soirees. Discover Daniel Burnham's foundation of excellence at the JW Marriott Chicago, and experience a premier luxury hotel in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing