We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with Great Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Penthouse at Grand Plaza
Ranked #19 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location with Great Accommodations”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This property is NOT a hotel. It was built as a luxury rental apartment building but I think the management company is renting furnished units until they can fill the building with full time renters.

I also think there may be several different companies renting units in this building. We rented from Chicago Premier Suites. Our unit was on the 48th floor and was wonderful. We had a balcony that measured about 6 feet deep by 35 yes 35 feet long. Furniture and appliances were like new and bedding and towels were first rate. There was a 24 hour door person in the lobby. Parking was included in our unit which was worth a minimum of $35 per day. We had unlimited in and out so we used our car many times for attractions farther from the building. If we had used a regular garage, our bill would have been at least $60+ on some days.

It was any easy walk to Michigan Avenue and the many restaurants very near the property. The "L" subway Red Line has two entrances literally steps from the front door.

We were two couples staying in this 2BR 2BA unit with a good size living room and full kitchen. It worked out to about $250 per couple per night. We initially looked at hotels which were going to cost a minimum of $250 per night without parking and without a kitchen or living room.

Our friends in Chicago were blown away by the place and price and said they would recommend it to friends visiting them from out of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wbk215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Hotel could do with some renovations. Our first room smelt like stale cigarettes.
Second room had a 2 inch cockroach and no running faucet in the bathroom.
After complaining we finally got the view of the Lake on the top floor.

Room Tip: view of Lake Michegan from the east of the hotel are spectacular. If you cant get that ask for the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseeross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandplazapenth0use, Owner at The Penthouse at Grand Plaza, responded to this review, July 11, 2017
sorry we have no record of you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixlegg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The location of the hotel is perfect - straight at Lake Michigan; The Buckingham fountain is just upfront.
The distance to the heart of Chicago is within walking distance. The ambience of the hotel is very good.
The room was ran down already but clean and o.k.. The price is o.k. also.
It is a perfect place for business and holidays as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elisabeth_bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandplazapenth0use, Owner at The Penthouse at Grand Plaza, responded to this review, November 10, 2016
Elisabeth

If you were able to see Buckingham fountain, you did not stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,388 reviews
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
2,091 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#12 of 190 in Chicago
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penthouse at Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penthouse at Grand Plaza

Property: The Penthouse at Grand Plaza
Address: 540 N State St, Chicago, IL 60654-7231
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Penthouse at Grand Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A collection of magnificent unique rentals located in downtown Chicago with dramatic two story living areas and exquisite fireplaces. From the 20 foot floor to ceiling windows, the city unfolds before you with Lake Michigan as a backdrop. Nowhere in Chicago can you stay with views like these! Bordered by the elegance and glamour of North Michigan Avenue to the east and the artsy sophistication of the River North District to the west, The Penthouse at Grand Plaza is at the heart of one of Chicago's most exciting neighborhoods. Life here is flavored with world class shopping, the best of casual and fine dining, galleries and clubs. LIFE IS ALWAYS BETTER AT THE TOP! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Penthouse at Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing