We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cultural Experience”
Review of Chicago Chinatown

Chicago Chinatown
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Chicago Film Tour
More Info
$53.10*
and up
Chicago Tastes of Chinatown Walking Food Tour
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Chicago Essentials Bus Tour
Ranked #94 of 650 things to do in Chicago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Chicago's large Chinese neighborhood is full of popular restaurants.
Romeoville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent Cultural Experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although Chicago's Chinatown is fairly small in size, it really allows you to immerse yourself in chinese culture. Whether walking through the chinatown market where locals shop, to dining on some Dim Sum at one of the many authentic restaurants Chicago's Chinatown really is a unique experience. Would highly recommend visiting. Plus it's only a couple miles from downtown right on the CTA Red Line (Cermak station).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geo89_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    161
    134
    57
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Truly a cultural spot in Chicago”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good shopping, good restaurants, great residents. This is a fun spot in the city. Some people don't like its location, but overall it's a great place to visit and is so unique and different.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Troy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything you want and close to home too”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I love the atmosphere, the people and service, and the deals you find here. In fact, I bought my wedding dress here and the dresses for my entire wedding party (and many of the decorations too). Thanks so much to everyone here who made my wedding what it was. :-)

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I always love taking a day and visiting Chinatown. You actually feel like you are in China. The shoppes are great, knick knacks, etc., lots of Hello Kitty stuff, restaurants are very authentic. The markets are full of surprises and lots of exotic foods. My twelve year old son loves to visit also. Would highly recommend for anyone who lives in Chicago, as well as tourists. Good day excursion, especially with kids.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nik35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem outside of downtown Chicago”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

One of the best Chinatowns I have ever visited in the USA. It is very organized and has a ton of stores and restaurants, it can take you up to one hour to discover it all, plus have a nice Chinese lunch or dinner. It takes only few stops on a red line from downtown and you can still see the Chicago skyline from the far away. I would definitely recommend this neighborhood to see something different other than just downtown Chicago. In my opinion, it's much better than Chinatown in NYC.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago Chinatown also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing