We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love "The Pig"”
Review of The Purple Pig

The Purple Pig
Ranked #19 of 10,125 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Description: Experience the exquisite cuisine of James Beard, Rising Star Chef 2014 - Jimmy Bannos Jr. As a fourth generation restaurateur, he was mentored by his father, Jimmy Bannos (Chef/Owner of Heaven on Seven) and catapulted his expertise through training by nationally renowned chefs. Since opening in 2009, under the leadership of Jimmy Bannos Jr., The Purple Pig has received numerous accolades, including being named one of 2010’s “10 Best New Restaurants in America” by Bon Appétit magazine; and a Bib Gourmand recipient from the Michelin Guide Chicago in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014; among other honors. Dubbed the "Prince of Pork" by Dana Cowin (Food and Wine Editor and Chief); Jimmy Jr. brings his love for Mediterranean food to the Windy City in fun, inventive ways - at this rustic sharable plate restaurant, conveniently located on the Magnificent Mile. Located at 500 North Michigan Avenue, the restaurant offers cheese, swine and wine, among other standout dishes, showcasing the flavors of Italy, Greece and Spain.
Reviewed October 8, 2016

We're in Chicago 2-3 times a year, and for the last few years our first stop after checking into the hotel is "The Pig." Hidden down a little alley walkway off Michigan Avenue, this always busy little restaurant is easiest to visit between lunch and dinner.

We usually get 2-3 small plates from their seasonal menu (although some favorites repeat). This time we tried a "Smear" of pork neck bone gravy with ricotta ($12) and a small plate of pork saltimbocca w/ prosciutto, gigante beans, escarole, & white wine sauce.

Our wonderful waiter, Phil, matched our selections with two unique and superb wines, a Crotian 2012 Pilizota 100% Babić and a Spanish Toro region 2012 Nimanthia Termes (100% Tonya de Toro).

For dessert we choose another "Smear" or salt-cured Greek yogurt with apple preserves & pistachios.

Delicious and delightful.

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank ColoradoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (6,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,753 - 1,757 of 6,036 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

Went for a late weekday lunch with a friend. It was not very crowded and we sat outside. There is a nice wine selection and they offer half bottles. We started with a cheese plate (try the Up in Smoke) and a half bottle of the Gavi (followed by a half bottle of the Vermentino, which I liked better). There is a choice of accompaniments with the cheese--the marcona almonds and honey one was especially good. We also shared the stuffed squid and the meatballs. Both delicious! Great service and a fun time.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank nylanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

Every time we visit Chicago, Purple Pig is a must.
Wide variety of food to share with nice combination of flavours.
We have tried almost everything in the menu!!
We would definitely recommend the grilled octopus, the calamari and fregola, the eggplant dip!
Service is really good.
You may have a rough time getting a table, be patient, try to arrive after regular lunch hour.
Enjoy!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank 198aimeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant for anyone who wants to try something different
/unique and pair with great wine! Loved their menu including dessert!

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 941kelliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016

I would not have picked this place based on the name, but it was recommended by several people and the concierge at our hotel so we gave it a try. Glad we did. Very eclectic tapas menu perfect for sharing a few dishes. Had probably the best wine list for a restaurant in this price range than any I have seen. The service was excellent. It was busy but the wait was not bad (told 45 min, was actually 30 min) and well worth it. The calamari appetizer stood out (not fried, served cold, wonderful combination of tastes and textures). You will some SOMETHING that appeals to everyone. Definitely worth finding this place.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tlagyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Purple Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.