We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lamb Ribs and Octopus”
Review of The Purple Pig

The Purple Pig
Ranked #19 of 10,125 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Description: Experience the exquisite cuisine of James Beard, Rising Star Chef 2014 - Jimmy Bannos Jr. As a fourth generation restaurateur, he was mentored by his father, Jimmy Bannos (Chef/Owner of Heaven on Seven) and catapulted his expertise through training by nationally renowned chefs. Since opening in 2009, under the leadership of Jimmy Bannos Jr., The Purple Pig has received numerous accolades, including being named one of 2010’s “10 Best New Restaurants in America” by Bon Appétit magazine; and a Bib Gourmand recipient from the Michelin Guide Chicago in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014; among other honors. Dubbed the "Prince of Pork" by Dana Cowin (Food and Wine Editor and Chief); Jimmy Jr. brings his love for Mediterranean food to the Windy City in fun, inventive ways - at this rustic sharable plate restaurant, conveniently located on the Magnificent Mile. Located at 500 North Michigan Avenue, the restaurant offers cheese, swine and wine, among other standout dishes, showcasing the flavors of Italy, Greece and Spain.
Reviewed September 9, 2016

This place is a gem. Fortunately we got there early and got a seat at the family style tables on the deck. You sit next to one another rather than accross, but its fun and you can interact with others if you choose. The food is eclectic and fun. We had lamb ribs and
octopus. The ribs were tasty and the octo really tender and flavorful. My second time here. Third attempt, but the line was too long on one visit.
I've also had the cured meat platter. It's really good. Great spot. Will go again when possible

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank worldtravelersagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (6,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,831 - 1,835 of 6,036 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

My two sisters and I enjoyed a delicious meal of many diverse dishes. Each menu item is meant to be shared with whomever you're dining with. We enjoyed beets with goat cheese, lobster, pork shoulder and meatballs. Each plate is brought separately as it is ready. Each dish had it's own unique tastes and flavors. We ate outside which is not a place for a quiet conversation, but we were there to enjoy some great food and we weren't disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank ceki2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2016

My fiance and I were in Chicago for a week, working and going out at night. Having been extremely picky with our dinner place selections, we did our research and decided to come here. We loved being outside, but in the shade. My wine was delicious, but kind of expensive for 8 oz ($16, and it was one of the cheaper selections). A 5 oz pour of a glass of wine is very stingy imho. We asked the waiter for recommendations and chose from that. There are not a lot of non-meat selections. In the end, we had 5 dishes and I would say all of them fell short. There was not one dish that we thought was outstanding. Either too salty or two sweet. With a couple of drink, the bill was about $120. The menu also changed while we were sitting down. I found it weird to be looking at one menu then all of sudden, cannot order from that menu, here is the new one. How about when the time comes, give the new patrons the new menu and allow the existing patrons to order off of either one.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carrie012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2016

We stopped in for lunch. Great suggestions for food and wine pairings. The food was excellent! Bone marrow, beets, appetizer cannolis were all excellent and are fun, different foods. The staff was also wonderful about giving suggestions for places to go in Chicago.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patti-Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2016

Even without a reservation, on Saturday night, Labor Day weekend, we only had a short wait. While waiting, we were invited to have a drink outside and the mixed drink menu was amazing. The blend of cocktails made choosing something quite difficult. Out outside waiter took our order and we were seated before he brought out drinks. How he found us inside the restaurant just blew me away. All wait staff had a great personality and the food was so different than the run-of-the-mill menus. We decided on several appetizers to share, such as salt roasted beets with whipped goat cheese, delicious and chirizo stuffed olives, a little salty, different, but tasty. A great experience and I would recommend The Purple Pig when visiting Chicago - a great place to dine!!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2013Marge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Purple Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.