We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but a little expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Purple Pig

The Purple Pig
Ranked #25 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Description: This is a new restaurant from the house of Bannos (owners of the infamously popular Heaven on Seven, here in Chicago). They have now opened what could affectionately be called the foodie tourists' dream come true, with everything from bone marrow to fried pig's ears and fresh ricotta as well as a nice selection of paninis, and of course, the wines. Not to mention: Its right on the Magnificent Mile!
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food but a little expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The food was amazing and unique! Just make sure you're ready for a more pricy meal without huge servings. Will return to try a second time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pleachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,742
    1,163
    251
    103
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great energy, interesting menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a food adventure in Chicago, you've got to try the Purple Pig!

Dishes are meant to share, so we ordered several unique meat and cheese choices. Everything was amazing!

The first time I ate here we sat outside, which was lovely. This time I wanted to be where the action was, and we sat at the counter. The energy in there is amazing! Everyone is laughing, chatting and
having a good time!

DO come to Purple Pig if you like to try new and interesting food and don't mind trying different animal parts than you might be used to. DON'T bring your
vegetarian friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KathrynTheThird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food & Drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Wow, one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago. If you love small plates, you can't miss this. The grilled stuffed squid is outstanding. Good wine list, cocktail menu.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaytonaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun place to go with a group!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This place never disappoints. They have a great menu with funky food offerings if you are willing to try. They also have much tamer items so there is a good mix for less adventurous palates. Everything is share-able so I recommend going with a group to be able to try more things. The staff is very knowledgeable and you can tell they know their menu well as they are able to recommend items and also pair them with beverage selections. The place does get busy and it is small so go early or during off peak times.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
236 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Fourth visit and still 100% fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

I sat at the bar for dinner while traveling alone in Chicago last weekend. While I try not to do too many repeats in a town full of outstanding dining options, I make an exception for The Purple Pig. First of all, it's totally solo-female-diner friendly. Being a party of one I bypassed the crowds of people outside waiting for a table and luckily found a single opening at the bar. Took my time enjoying wine (a dry rose, well-recommended by the bar server Josh) and a starter of peas and bacon. While this may sound boring, it was a flavor explosion - and I'm not a pea fan. It was fresh garden peas, some in tender pods and some not, with tiny cubes of lardon-style bacon, pea shoots, crumbles of a mild cheese and baby spearmint leaves dressed with a light, lemony vinaigrette. I think there may have been some pea shoots in there as well. It was enough for two but I ate it all! I followed that with the grilled octopus on a bed of fingerling potatoes and wax beans. Amazing; will dream of it. Finished with a cheese plate (three cheeses for one person may be enough to take some home - they were probably over an ounce each), served with sourdough toasts. They have an amazing cheese menu and your server will make recommendations. The restaurant's slogan is "Cheese, wine and swine" and they're serious! Once again, a really memorable dining experience. I wasn't rushed and the service at the bar was outstanding. It is great fun to watch the sous chefs work in the tiny kitchen. I love The Purple Pig.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Purple Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing