We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and fun atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Purple Pig

The Purple Pig
Ranked #27 of 9,493 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Description: This is a new restaurant from the house of Bannos (owners of the infamously popular Heaven on Seven, here in Chicago). They have now opened what could affectionately be called the foodie tourists' dream come true, with everything from bone marrow to fried pig's ears and fresh ricotta as well as a nice selection of paninis, and of course, the wines. Not to mention: Its right on the Magnificent Mile!
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and fun atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had to dine at the Purple Pig since everyone just raves about it and now I know why. The food was unique and exotic. The wines were amazing and the staff was fun, interactive and welcoming. If you have one meal in Chicago the Purple Pig is a must!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BennettTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,807
    1,173
    256
    104
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Getting to Be a Regular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We are starting to dine at the Purple Pig on every visit. The location is great, the service is phenomenal and there is a different dish or two to try on each visit. Servers are skilled at their recommendations for food and wine. Worth a wait!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Indiana
Level Contributor
490 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had a great meal here today. The atmosphere was spot on. This is the real selling point for the Purple Pig. We have walked past this place for years, but today we actually stopped and we were very hapy with our choice.
We tried the meatball slider and it was pretty good. We tried the ham panini which had a different flavor, but still pretty good. The best of our selections was the chicken kabob. Highly recommend that.
The best part...service. Did not catch her name. but she was awesome. Nice work! Good service can be hard to find sometimes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sigs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on my feet
Level Contributor
125 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

service was solid, small (some, not very small at all) plates of little perfections--a wonderful place to have a lunch in a pretty loud, raucous environment. every dish was delicious and executed well, with explosive flavour. would love to come back and eventually try everything on the menu. . .protip: if you come for lunch, and can swing eating right when they open at 11:30, there is barely a lineup--you will be seated virtually immediately. wait 20 minutes, and the place will be slammed. . .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank world_weary069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beet Salad and Bone Marrow worth trying, Really amazing taste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was unsure of the marrow experience. But I believe in trying new things and was not disappointed with the marrow and the fresh bread. It tastes like prime rib. The beat salad and goat cheese was amazing too. Great wine and beer selection. We sat at the bar and had great service and the staff was super friendly. Will go back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielkube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Purple Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing