We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Purple Pig

The Purple Pig
Ranked #27 of 9,499 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Description: This is a new restaurant from the house of Bannos (owners of the infamously popular Heaven on Seven, here in Chicago). They have now opened what could affectionately be called the foodie tourists' dream come true, with everything from bone marrow to fried pig's ears and fresh ricotta as well as a nice selection of paninis, and of course, the wines. Not to mention: Its right on the Magnificent Mile!
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went with my mom, step dad and younger brother. Knowing they didn't take reservations is a must because you WILL wait. Whether it be 15 minutes or over an hour; there is a reason for it! The environment is warm but of course very tight. The staff are all very kind and ready to help even if they are not your server. I've been to Sydney, Aus. Montreal, Canada... Multiple cities with good food. But this was so unique that it made it the best food I have ever eaten at a restaurant! Even my 14 year old brother was willing to try something new and he LOVED it! The fact that it's all share able and the portions aren't overly huge makes it great to get a taste of everything if everyone orders their own one item and shares it! Lots of flavor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,812
    1,177
    256
    104
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harvard, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place. I loved everything !!!! Most memorable thing we ate was the JLT. Pork jowl, frisée, tomato, and to top it off..a fried duck egg!! So delish. Yum yum yum. My tummy is craving it just typing about it. Also the sweet breads were delicious! And our waiter had a fantastic mustache. Lol ..must try purple pig!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kyliesue91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, horrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food met all the expectations from rave reviews - especially liked the calamari salad, the fried pig ears and the gravy "smear". But in addition to the 75 minute wait for a table, we waited endlessly for food. Two out of the four ordered items arrived after 15 minutes. Then there was a 45 minute gap to the remaining two items. These were in no particular order, and this would have been worse if one of us had been eating the first two alone, and the other then waiting. Wait staff just says "its coming". People at the next table had a similar experience, while others seemed to have fared better. Overall, not sure this was worth the bother.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank born_to_run_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant three times in the past 6 weeks, and the quality of the food has never failed to impress. The creative menu is superb and the service great. Arrive early to avoid disappointment because its pretty much always full and so there'll usually be a wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathwilseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Go late, or go early!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The wait for a table was very long, over and hour and a half. It was worthi it though, I really enjoyed the food and service. The octopus, sweetbreads, and the tuna, were all amazing. The deviled eggs and the panini I regret. Not that they were bad. I just wished I ordered something a little more out there. The more risk you take on ordering outside the box, the tastier the food seemed to be.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzieC153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Purple Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing