We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed here after hearing that the Kimpton Group was opening a new hotel so got in at a great promo rate. Excellent location..easy walk to Michigan Avenue and all attractions. Front desk staff very helpful. I would say a smaller hotel, no grand lobby or anything but very efficient. Rooms were about average in size, nice decor and good TV. Bathroom door was a bit odd, it slides over doorframe so never completely closes in space..you can see out either side but was just me and my hubby so we did not mind.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cml11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,488 - 2,494 of 2,767 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed 3 days at the Palomar Hotel. Great location and excellent restaurant on site called "Sable". We really appreciated the personal attention/great service from the booking to the check out. I signed up to be a member of the Kimpton hotels and that gave us a few perks (wine reception, newspaper and choice of room, internet). A few days before our trip, the guest service supervisor of the hotel sent me an email asking if we had any special requests and if it was for a special occasion. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and when we arrived in the room there was a bottle of wine and cupcakes; a nice touch!
The room was impeccable. It was very clean and spacious (for a Chicago hotel) and the bed was comfortable. The service-- front desk, cleaning persons etc were always courteous and helpful. In addition, we really liked the location of the hotel. Ask for a room on a high floor so you can get a good view. There are only 17 stories so the higher the better.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sild-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Great hotel near many restaurants and shopping. Very well done inside. Indoor pool thats only 3.5 ft deep on the 17 floor. Staff was great! Concierge, Mark, was extremely helpful! Free wine during social hour and Free coffee in the morning made the stay that much better! Would recomend and will return!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigFrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

This place was a beautiful, contemporary boutique hotel. It was very clean and the people were extremely friendly and helpful. I really felt welcome here. There was a wine reception in the living room from 5-6 every evening and coffee and tea each morning.

The Sable restaurant and bar were very nice. We did not eat at the restaurant but we had great drinks at the bar. The food looked and smelled fantastic and we wished that we were able to stay a little longer to give it a try.

The staff at this hotel was probably one of the best that I have ever encountered. Each person seemed to go out of their way to make our stay a pleasurable one and they succeeded. We would definitely visit this hotel again but would probably ask for a room facing away from the street.

There is a firehouse nearby and we heard alot of sirens throughout the night. It might not be a problem on most weekends but we were there on Halloween weekend and there was a large party going on at another nearby hotel; there had been alot of trouble and serious injuries reported on the news the following morning which probably contributed to the siren noise.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MawCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Dear MawCincinnati:

Thank you very much for your recent review of the Palomar Chicago. We are always pleased to hear about what we are doing well and what we can do better. We will be sure to share your feedback with our entire staff.

Being a downtown hotel and in the middle of everything, the siren noises are unfortunately part of our daily fiber. Even with double paned windows and relatively thick drapes the noise is something unavoidable. This is pretty much true for all downtown hotels and residences and some days are better than others.

We thank you for your feedback and hope to see you at the Palomar Chicago again.

Warm regards,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I think that the most important thing at Palomar is the attitude.
Nothing is a problem, from the little things you forgot at home and they are made "handy" to you through the free happy hour wine, through the willing to help from all the staff members.
One of the best hotels we've ever been!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoraIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Wow! My husband and I just had a truly wonderful weekend stay to celebrate our 12th anniversary at the Palomar. Everything from the wine reception, the bathrobes, the jacuzzi and an evening room service on our first night was remarkable. The staff is knowledgable, helpful and courteous. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed was absolute heaven.
I thought it was well worth the price for such a nice room with a jacuzzi (which we used it three times!). We saw no problem with the sliding bathroom door as some others have posted.
The one and only bad thing was when we had breakfast in the Sable on our last morning, my husband was very disappointed with his breakfast. Plus, it was very over priced. For breakfast, go to the place called "Eatt" a block down. Very good food and more reasonable priced.
In summary, If and when we ever go back to Chicago (and we plan on it) I will not hesitate to book at the Palomar.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Over all it was an average place to stay. Inexplicably expensive, slow internet. Expensive parking. Every time I tried to call the concierge or the restaurant—the line was busy. I expected more for the price. On the other hand, the location was an easy walk or cab to just about anywhere. I can find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2010

Dear edwo2:

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding you rerecent stay at the Palomar Chicago. I am so sorry that we did not leave as much of a lasting impression on you as with most other reviewers.

I am not sure how to respond to the comment of being "inexplicably expensive" as we charge rates that are in line with all four star hotels in downtown Chicago, based on supply and demand for that particular date. Additionally, at $46/night our parking fees are actually below the median rate for parking at downtown Chicago hotels.

I do apologize that you were not able to get through to the concierge or restaurant and about the slow internet speed. We wil certainly take that feedback to heart.

I wish you many more safe travels to Chicago whether they do or do not include this hotel. I am sorry we did not fulfill your expectations.

Sincerely,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,475 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,829 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
1,534 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $154 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing