We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rocky start” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #9 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sandusky, Ohio
1 review
“Rocky start”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We checked into Hotel Palomar Friday the 13th, and the reception personel were very friendlly and helpful. Had a few issues with check in. Our first room only accomodated two people and we had three so they held our luggage while a different room was being cleaned for us. After checking into our second room the airconditioning did not work. They kept sending workers up to fix it, however after the first hour, I asked my husband to please get us yet another room. Staff was wonderful in finding us a room and gave us complimentary drink tickets for our trouble. Only trouble is, we are not drinkers. Overall the stay is nice, lets see how our second night is! Oh and the baggage guys were the most helpful of everyone!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mallmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Dear mallmaj:

Greetings from the Palomar Chicago and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize that a few things did not go right when you first arrived. I hope we were able to rectify everything to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palomar in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,931
    550
    85
    19
    10
See reviews for
634
933
120
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

Stayed at the Hotel Palomar, July 5th, for one night with wife and children ages 10 & 12. Chose the Palomar to try something different and it was and it was all good. We were greeted by a friendly helpful doorman and then entered a very modern looking lobby. The front desk glows and there is a fireplace in the lobby were at various times there was complimetary lemonade, water coffee, and wine. The room was really nice and we all had animal print bathrobes. When Cullen, the bellman, told us pets were permitted at the hotel, my girls mentioned they had no pet. A few hours later a goldfish appeared in our room and my girls named it Cullen. We swam at night in the pool and had it to ourselves. A blue light lit the ceiling of the indoor pool and you can walk out onto a large deck furnished with lounge chairs. There is free WiFi, a refrigerator, and everything in the room was very nice. Upon leaving the bellman filled my large cooler with ice. The Navy Pier was short and free trolley ride away. Michigan Ave. was within walking distance. This was our first stay at a Kimpton Hotel and we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdhkkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

I read the reviews from Trip Advisor and decided to book a stay. We were very pleased with our experience. The staff was friendly and very helpful when asked about the sites and sounds of Chicago. The door man Darren aka D, went out of his way to be helpful, far beyond are expectations, a true ambassador for Chicago.
Not used to the city noises, we found the traffic, emergency services sirens disturbing to our sleep, but other than that. Excellent!!! Thank you to the entire staff!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb181720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Dear deb181720:

Thank you so much for writing a review about your experience with us - we are always very grateful to our guests for taking the time to do that. We are also very pleased that we were able to make your trip special.

We hope to see you visit us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

I also booked our stay based on the previous reviews and I am so glad I did! All of the positive reviews are correct. This is an amazing hotel! No sense repeating some of the details other people have written about, i.e. wine reception, coffee/tea and other beverages, location, ALL GREAT!

When making our reservation, I was not able to book our last night as there was no availability. I emailed the hotel to ask if we could be put on a wait list. Nabil, the manager, quickly responded and promised to check into the availability for us. Although a music festival was happening during the upcoming weekend, he arranged for us to stay at his hotel for our entire stay! Perfect, as who wants to pack up and move to another hotel for one night. Nabil was awesome in making our trip perfect and so memorable. There were some personal reasons for us needing to getaway, and one night Nabil had champagne delivered to our room! How thoughtful is that? At other hotels you are a number and they don't care what might be going on in your life.

We arrived early last Sunday and were immediately greeted by “D” (Darren). What a wonderful guy! He is so friendly and aims to please. Every morning when we left the hotel D would ask where we were headed, gave directions and suggestions on where we could eat that day. Not only “D”, but Mateo, Mark, Cullen and all the staff are WONDERFUL!!! So helpful, friendly and they all make you feel so welcome. You can tell each of them love their jobs.

We arrived at 10:00 a.m. so understandably our room wasn't going to be ready for awhile. They stored our luggage and we had brunch at the Sable. Our meals were delicious and they gave us so much food, we could not eat it all. Prices were reasonable too.

Nabil told us that Transformers 3 was filming just down the street so we headed down to Wacker Drive and it was so cool to watch the action!

When our room was ready Cullen brought up our luggage and showed us around the room. We asked if we could get a mini fridge and, without exaggeration, within 5 minutes we had a mini fridge in our room - at no charge. Cullen again came to our rescue during our last night. While dining at a nearby restaurant red wine was spilled onto my husband. We headed back to the hotel to change and Cullen met us at the door. We told him our story. We went up to our room to change and less than 5 min. later, there was a knock at our door and Cullen had arranged for club soda to be delivered to our room. I am so sorry I forgot the gentleman's name who brought up the club soda, but he felt so bad when he heard what happened that he even offered to bring a bottle of wine to our room - not kidding! We needed more club soda and more was delivered immediately.

The rooftop patio was very nice and the pool looked nice also, although we never went in it. Never went to the hotel bar at night, but if other reviews loved it then believe it! Some people complained about the elevators, but we stayed there for 5 nights and never had any issues with a long wait or crowded elevator.

Our king room with the Figi tub was awesome! The tub was so relaxing after a day of walking and not irritating like other Jacuzzi tubs. The shower was huge. Some other reviewers complained about the sliding bathroom door not completely closing, but it wasn't a problem with us being a couple. We understand the hotel is in the process of repairing this issue. The turn down service was a very nice touch. We were on the 15th floor and heard some sirens during the day, but they did not keep us up at night. Very quiet hotel, didn't hear any other room doors closing, etc. The housekeeping service was excellent. The hairdryer and iron were great quality and it was a nice touch that the hotel supplied cotton balls and qtips. Also, there was a list of other items you could get for free or for purchase, at a minimal cost, if you forgot something. We also liked the tiger and zebra robes! A prior review complained about the number of tv channels, but there were lots for us. All the major networks, speciality channels (ie Discovery) plus plenty of high definition channels. To be honest, you don't go to Chicago to watch tv, but after a full day out touring there is enough on tv to just chill if you want to.

This is the best hotel we have stayed in. Would highly recommend it to anyone, and hope to return next year! Bravo to Nabil and all his staff!!! Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. They truly make customer service their number 1 priority.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okfyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, August 19, 2010
Dear VacationJuly2008 :

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful detailed reveiw of your stay with us. It was also a real pleasure meeting you and helping make your trip so memorable.

We really look forward to welcoming you and maybe your friends next year.

All my best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

My wife an I stayed 3 nights. Great location except the occasional fire engine (firehouse a few blocks away) but I think regardless of were you are in the city you are going to here them quite frequently and I mean frequently, but not that big of a deal. Second, yes the bathroom door is a little, interesting lets say. An obvious failure at an attempt to be a little too out of the box. Great concept in style just poorly executed. But a supposed fix in the works, or at least I hope there is, b/c other than that this hotel is top-notch class, fun, and very convenient to anything in Chicago you could want. Besides there is a beautful bathroom in the lobby if this door thing really bothers you. This hotel is truly worth a try and so is the fabulous restaurant/bar downstairs (Sable). Great apps. and a very fun yet educational drink stop. Plenty of popular bars great restaurants and even infamous restaurants within a pleasant walk Portillos, Gino's East Pizza, Rock and roll Mc Donalds (24hrs) Joes Seafood and Steaks (visited all of them and all worth going to at least once during your stay) there are also many more that looked like very good candidates. Rush St and Michigan Ave within 3 minute walk. The "L" stops out front of the lobby. Cant ask for a better location and service and price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trav8169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taormina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

I was at this albergocon the miafamiglia for 6 days. It 'a boutique hotel, very nice furnishings. In the air there is always a smell of clean, well inside the elevator. the rooms are comfortable, to see all that damage in strada.Ho found the ironing board and iron and 'a servizzi free, I' found it very comfortable, even the internet system is' free. The rooms are very clean and good restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelVillaDucale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Really enjoyed the hotel. Very stylish. Nice rooms. Great bed. Location is right in the heart of everythign. Easy access to anything Magnificent Mile related or Rush/Division. I would bring my significant other here to visit chicago or just visit with friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMGIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,298 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing