We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #14 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Had a fantastic stay at Hotel Palomar in Chicago. Everyone there provided exceptional service. Used the secret word, "fireworks" for July and we were upgraded to a king suite. It was amazing. I also mentioned that it was our anniversary and when we returned back from dinner there was champagne and some strawberries with chocolate waiting for us. As a Kimpton member we received free internet & "raid the mini bar" - got $10 worth of items.Excellen location, just 2 blocks from the Mag Mile." Thanks again for making this a wonderful stay. The only problem: we had to leave:)
See More

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maestrajennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,658 - 2,664 of 2,817 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2010

Stayed for a weekend in July. Walked everywhere, enjoyed the comfy bed and quiet hallways.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leos_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2010

Dear leos_10:

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Pal Chi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

There is something about a new hotel - the team are aiming to please and certainly have in this case - the staff are helpful/knowledgable. The quality of the hotel is also tops, well equiped gym (better than most hotels) and location is excellent - very close to the magnificant mile - magnificant shopping strip. Being a Kimpton hotel they also do the nice evening drinks so guests can meet other guests.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torrie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2010

Dear Torrie 6:

Thank you so much for your recent review. We appreciate hearing from our guests and it is always good to know about what we are doing well and what we could do better. We hope to see you back in Chicago soon. Until then, stay well.

Sincerely,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Pal Chi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Trendy style, Amazing location, Top notch amenities and Personalized service! Let me start off by saying that I do not write reviews. I read them sometimes but never take the time to write them. I have stayed at the Four Seasons Florence Italy to the Grand Wailea Maui and everything in between. As great as they might have been, no hotel has ever inspired me to write a review until I stayed at the Palomar.

I can't say enough about this hotel. My wife and I needed a night out (away from the kids and In-Laws). We chose the Palomar based on the location but the hotel itself ended up far exceeding our expectations. The location couldn't be any better. Right around the block you have it all Michigan Ave for shopping, Rush Street for dinning & going out and just about anything else you could want to do. The service was outstanding. Everything from the doorman dashing to open our cabs door to the management personally greeting you. The rooms are comfortable and the decor is trendy. We also really enjoyed the rooftop pool and lounge. Our stay was perfect.

Our only complaint is that there's not a Palomar Hotel in Los Angeles. I guess we will have to come back to Chicago next summer for another visit.

The attention to detail is really what makes this hotel a world class destination. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a night or two at the Palomar!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommyrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I had booked this hotel through some frequent flier miles I had sitting around and was extremely happy to find it was worth all those miles! I did research on this hotel prior to booking to ensure I would be using my miles wisely, and saw a few mixed reviews since the hotel was new. I am happy to have taken the chance on this hotel, our stay was excellent. The location is great if you are interested in walking within downtown Chicago and is close to any city transit you could need. From the top of the hotel you could see many of the well known Chicago landmarks. The front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful to our every need. The rooms were decorated in a beautifully modern way. The gym was small but did have a nice array of cardio machines with an excellent view of the city (if you opted not to watch the individual tvs provided). Generally we stay with family when visiting Chicago, but if a situation arises again where we need a hotel, I would not hesitate to book a room here again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delawaretraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This is the perfect hotel in every way from the arrival to check out. Beautiful surroundings, courteous, helpful staff and a lovely accommodation. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Canadiangypsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

From the moment my friend and I arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with smiles and wonderful attitudes, The doorman "D" was awesome along with the rest of the staff. They were all extremely helpful. They even pointed us in the right direction for events, restaurants and everything else in between, as it was our first time in the city. The hotel was very clean and the room was nice, stylish and very comfortable. I definitely would recommend this hotel for several reasons, the staff, the decor, and the location are just a few.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tije99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
388 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#17 of 192 in Chicago
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $159 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing