We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Four Night Stay at the Palomar!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ON, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Fantastic Four Night Stay at the Palomar!”
Reviewed June 30, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Palomar at the end of June and were really pleased with the hotel, staff and location.

Our King Deluxe City View room was a good size, very clean, well equipped and nicely furnished, very comfy bed, good bathroom amenities with nice thick towels, as well as robes.

The wine reception (5-6 p.m.) was nicely done, and a great place to enjoy a quick or leisurely drink in their large sitting room (interesting books & a very nice fireplace in there as well.) The pool, exercise room and outdoor patio on the 17th floor are also great. (We took our wine up to the patio to enjoy the views and comfy lounge chairs there one evening.)

Coffee/tea in the lobby, and bottled water at the door in the morning were appreciated.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

We were there over a w/e and although the hotel was busy, we never had to wait more than a minute or two for elevators.

We saw a few dogs but there are only a couple of floors designated for clients with pets, so it's not a concern for travelers without pets....it was actually fun to see a few pets during our stay there.

In-touch members receive free internet, which saves about $12/day.

The location is excellent ... within walking distance to the river, Michigan Ave, the Loop, Millennium Park, and also right next to the Red Line station (we made good use of the CTA on the trains and buses with our 3 day passes.) It was easy to take the train from the airport to the hotel and back again.

We had an amazing time during this first visit to Chicago, and felt that staying at the Palomar really made the trip special!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,019
    584
    87
    20
    10
See reviews for
674
967
123
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Just returned from a 4-night stay at the wonderful Hotel Palomar. We had 7 girls in our group (2-dbl queen rooms) -- right next to each other on the 15th floor. From the time we arrived to the time we left, the staff were absolutely wonderful. Upon our arrival, we were presented with a big basket of "libations" which a friend of ours had dropped off and next thing we knew, the hotel delivered a platter of chocolates, nuts and dried fruit & bottled water to our room -- very nice. We called to ask for more towels and they were promptly and cheerfully delivered to us. Also, two of the girls had purchased a 12-pack of beer and had iced them down in one of the large trash cans -- the cleaning staff threw out the melted ice and replaced it with fresh ice -- nice touch. Jason at the front desk was also kind enought to print out all 7 of our boarding passes. We did not have any problems with the bathroom door or any other problems for that matter. The location of the hotel was also great -- very convenient to Michigan Ave., the Pier, and just anywhere you wanted to go. The doormen were very friendly and helpful in hailing cabs and helping us with luggage, doors, etc. All 7 of us will highly recommend this hotel. And a big thank you to the staff at Hotel Palomar for making our Girls' Weekend so memorable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rscrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Dear rscrowe:

Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review. I am thrilled that you had a great girl's weekend. I know how important it was to you. We will be sure to share all of your feedback with our entire staff and especially Jason.

Sincerely,

Nabil Moubayed
General Manager - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by the Palomar and it outdid our expectations.
They were overbooked when we checked in so instead of our double queen standard room we were upgraded to a king suite with a pullout couch. The young woman in reception could not have been nicer, and wanted to make sure the upgrade was okay. It was perfect with the wild storms we have been unfortunately having this summer, the upgrade was oh so welcome!
The room was clean, the bathroom was amazing! Loved the bath products too!
Ate breakfast at the restaurant, which they gave us a partial comp for and everything was delicious.
Wine reception was very nice and again because of the weather, it was crowded and the staff was always polite
Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinfieldRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We were excited to learn about the new Kimpton hotel and it did not let us down. The room was great (loved the lighted room numbers), the pool and exercise room were fabulous and the service was top notch. What other hotel offers soy milk with their morning coffee? Of course we always try to schedule our activities around the wine hour! We did order some snacks from Sable, the majority of which were quite tasty (avoid the pretzels as this wasn't worth it.) The hotel is very conveniently located. You can walk to Michigan Ave or grab the subway which is just a block away. The free internet is also appreciated as some other hotels charge $12/day! I can't wait to come back in two years for another conference!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhartman90019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC, OK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The best customer service I have ever experienced at any hotel. My husband arranged this trip for my daughter and I to celebrate a birthday and graduation. When told of the event, the front desk manager upgraded our room to a suite, and a giant cupcake was delivered to my daughter on her birthday. The staff who worked the breakfast area got to know us in the few days we were there, and remembered our preferences every day.

A special thank you and unlimited praise go to the doorman, Darren. He greeted us by name daily, helped with our bags, and even walked us to the subway as we left. We have never been treated as well at any hotel regardless of price.

The hotel is new; the rooms are awesome as are the common areas. Prices are still great as the hotel builds its client base, but you better start making reservations early - with this level of service the hotel is sure to become the most popular in the city.

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay (and to my husband for choosing this hotel!) We left the Palomar with one thought - "When can we come back?"

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Four2Ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The only way I would stay at this hotel again is if 1) I was travelling alone/ with significant other only- will explain below, and 2) if it was a killer deal.
You have to appriciate the attempt at fine decor, but this comes along with one huge design flaw. The bathroom door is a barn style sliding door. It is a big over sized door on sliding track that slides over the smaller door opening. What this means is that the door doesn't close, at the doors resting position there are 2 inches of open space on each side of the door. Wouldn't mind this if I was with my partner only, but I was with extended family. You can hear exactly what's going on when someone is in the bathroom. This means every time I had to go I would have to take the elevator up to the gym for a little privacy. Also the pool was closed on our visit and they said they were working to open it, yet we never saw one single worker. Also we had an intense storm while there, which knocked out the cable for a day and a half. You would think a hotel in Chicago would have strong enough cable equipment to master their nasty weather. Lastly it was mission impossible in this place to get washcloths and soap. We called twice to get washcloths and never recieved them and had to find the housekeeping room ourselves. They don't give you more shampoo or conditioner each day and we also had to help ourselves to those. The housekeeping actually had the nerve one day to move the half empty shampoo bottle out of the shower and put it on the counter as if it was new. Ill trained staff and poor design will keep me away from this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HppyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaParsonsAGM, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear Hppy Travels,

Greetings from Chicago! Thank you for taking the time to extend your feedback. It is very important for us to receive all reviews so we can better enhance the Palomar experience. Please accept my sincerest apologies for a visit that did not meet your expectations.

We are delighted to let you know the pool is now open, as of Thursday morning! The reason you did not see anyone working on the pool during your visit is because some work was being done in the pool area, such as patching and painting (mainly overnight) while other work was being done in the mechanical space below the pool. We are also very aware of the gap in the bathroom door and we can assure you it is a primary focus for us. We are working with our engineers and design team to create a more functional and aesthetically pleasing door for our future guests. I'm so sorry you felt we did not provide ample bathroom amenities. In an effort to support our green standards, our housekeeping team is trained to replace amenities that contain less than half the product. In the future, please don't hesitate to let us know if you need additional products. I can assure you our team makes every effort to provide exceptional service and I apologize for falling short in this instance.

I hope you will consider returning to the Palomar in the near future. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of assistance.

Sincerely,

~Amanda Parsons
Assistant General Manager
Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I have stayed at many highend Chicago hotels, but this one has the cleanest rooms by far!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookseller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,687 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,388 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
2,091 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing