We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #13 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clarkston, MI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay”
Reviewed April 8, 2010

This is a brand new hotel downtown Chicago; when we arrived we were met by a very friendly bell man. We nearly fell to the floor when we were told that our parking was going to be $46. The staff inside told us that the other parking facilities would charge the same maybe a couple dollars less; but another guest told us that there were cheaper parking (of course by this time we had given the car to valet). We were able to find parking just down the street for only 34.00 (so shop around). The staff were great and really went out of their way to make the stay pleasurable. The hotel is located just a few blocks off Michigan Avenue; and everything is brand new.

I think that the Kimpton Brand hotels are the best out there for their STAFF and the amenities they provide. For example, if you sign up for their membership, you will recieve a welcome beverage (or snack) coupon which I think rocks after travelling. We got our bed turned down, and ice placed into the ice bucket (which is totally wonderful), the maid also noticed that the tv was not working (sound but no video) and she told us that she had already called someone to come and fix it...and no kidding he showed up several minutes later...great service!!! In the morning, the hotel had cold water to go which was complimentary. I really do think that its the little things that matter, and this hotel understands this. That is the exact reason we booked an anniversary party at this hotel. This visit was to ensure everything will run smoothly for the actual event.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,980
    562
    85
    19
    10
See reviews for
652
949
123
500
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at the Palomar a week and a half after they opened. We got a great opening deal and became members of the Klimpton program before our stay.

The hotel is beautiful. The staff was very friendly and constantly asking what they could do to help. The lobby is lovely and there is a living room with couches and chairs where they have evening wine service for guests from 5-6 and also coffee in the mornings. Door and front desk staff were so welcoming.

I think we may have been the first to stay in our room, so of course it was very clean, but even after it was serviced it was great. The robes were cute and the bath products were very nice. There was one small issue with an electrical outlet that was immediately resolved when we mentioned it to housekeeping. We also had free Wifi, which worked well in the room, lobby and at the pool.

The pool is also gorgeous. It is not large or deep but it is nicely lit and the outdoor terrace is amazing. It has an incredible view day and night. One afternoon we spent an hour up there reading and it was wonderful.

The hotel's location can't be beat. It is near some great restaurants and very close to shopping. There is a Red Line stop just outside the door but cabs are also reasonably priced if travelling to other neighbourhoods. The only negative about the location is it is a block from the fire station so we heard sirens from the street now and then. Light sleepers might want earplugs.

We loved this hotel and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuteontariocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

This hotel just opened about a week and a half ago. Absolutely amazing experience. Right when we got there, valet service taking care of you. You get cocktails on arrival and the atmosphere was amazing! Most comfortable beds, 42 inch flat screens in bedrooms and also free earphones if you asked!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubafreaktoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 10 year old son. The nicest people on the staff were the valets and the outside crew. They were so warm and made us feel at home and welcome. The hotel decor is modern and upscale without being pretentious. The rooms were spacious with extras such as cool zebra striped robes. Make sure you sign up to be a Kimpton member which is free. You will get free internet and $10 worth of free goodies to take from the honor bar. With the incredible rate of $95 a night (it was called the sweet deal rate) we received a free continental breakfast for 2 each morning. That was a little disappointing. You get coffee, juice and toast, bagel,croissant, or muffin. The toast was overly dry, the muffins were dry and didn't taste fresh, and, you guessed it, the bagel was on the stale side. Didn't try the croissant. The coffee and juice were good and the restaurant was pretty. Every afternoon, in the lobby, there were huge jars of jelly bellys to help yourself. We did! That was great. Every evening there was a wine reception, which was very nice, they have sodas for the kids. Yes, the pool was small. The hotel was only a few blocks from Michigan Ave. and there are tons of shops, food, grocery stores right there. That's especially nice when you're traveling with kids. We walked to the Oriental Theatre to see "Billy Elliot" (which was fantastic) and it only took us 10 minutes. We walked back after the show, it was after 11pm, and my son was hungry, there is a Subway (food) right next store. We got subs and brought them up to the room. The parking is really expensive, $46 a night. There are some other garages right around the block if you want to save arount $8 a night. The only negative thing that I can say is that when I was making the reservation the woman on the phone wanted to know how old my son was because they like to have something special for the kids when we check in. I thought that was so nice, but it never came to fruition. Oh well, with the Lego store 2 blocks away, he got his share and more! Hope this helped. We go to Chicago every year. We've stayed at a lot of different hotels, and I'm really picky, and I have to say that I liked this one the best for the price range that it is in. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbcnbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed for the weekend for our 19th anniversary and we couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. We stayed at the Allegro last year for our 18th and were very pleased, but we will be returning next year to stay at the Palomar for our 20th. The ONLY negative thing I can say is that the construction made it very difficult to get to the hotel, but having said that, it was a minor inconvenience. The first person we encountered was Darren, at the street and he immediately made us feel welcome. Johnathan was the next door man we met and between him and Darren, we found out everything we needed to know about downtown Chicago, riding the subway and where to eat. The rooms are very nice, the view from the terrace is breathtaking at night and the location of the hotel couldn't possibly be better. Everything is within walking distance. I spoke with Andy Yoon on the phone when there were some questions with our reservation and he was extremely helpful and took care of everthing for us. Our experience with the Kimpton hotel chain has caused my wife and I to plan our weekend getaways according to the location of the nearest Kimpton hotel in whatever city we will be visiting. We drove 6 hours to Chicago and after the end of a long drive, I was energized because of the warm reception by the hotel staff. Thanks so much and see you next year!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We were thrilled to stay at the hotel during its first weekend. Of course the rates were lower--getting something up and running has its bumps in the road, but once the kinks are worked out, this is going to be a great place and we would not hesitate to return. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. Sable, the restaurant in the hotel, has delicious drinks and unique appetizers. Activities of every kind are within walking distance. We can't wait to go back. The only negatives we experienced were that our room was not ready at check-in time, but the brew pub across the street was a great place to wait and our luggage was checked, and the key did not work to our mini-bar--something must have been wrong with the lock. Other than that, it was flawless. Parking is definitely on the expensive side at $46 per night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

I was very excited to be staying in a brand new hotel, but knew that there could be problems considering that they were only open 2 days before we got there. During check in they told me that they were having problems with their elevators, but they assured us that they would have them up and running shortly. The manager took us up different elevators, the first elevator to the 6th floor and then the second elevator to the 12th floor. She was more than helpful! We put our stuff away in our hotel room, and then headed out for dinner, whcih was probably 20 minutes or so after we got there, and the elevators were up and running by then. On our way out the people at the front desk asked us if we needed any assistance or a map, so I told them where we were going and they gave us a map and directions. Everybody at the hotel was VERY HELPFUL and VERY NICE!! They offer cookie coupons for the kids to get cookies and milk for a snack, which my daughter loved. We were supposed to have a goldfish in our room when we arrived, but they didn't have any at the location yet, so 10 minutes after we arrived somebody was knocking at our door and they brought goldfish crackers for my daughter since they didn't have a goldfish available, my daughter thought that was just great. Saturday they did put a fish in our room for her while we were out. I have nothingbut good things to say about this hotel, everyone from Housekeeping to the front desk personel were great and very helpful. One of the front desk ladies even left my daughter a little card at the front desk for when we checked out letting her know that they enjoyed us staying there at the hotel and she wanted to say good-bye, but didn't think that she would be there before we left, that was very nice of her, because my daughter just thought that she was the nicest lady and she would always tell her about our day when we got back to the hotel. The only small negative I would have to say about this hotel is that the pool is pretty small, but you can get past that, and also it is only open from sun rise to sun down. GREAT HOTEL, ESPECIALLY FOR THE MONEY! WILL WITHOUT A DOUBT STAY HERE AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,457 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing