We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$229
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of $287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency McCormick Place(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$152
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of $252/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$178
$157
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $239/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$137
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$139
$123
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 50% below average rates

The price you found is 50% lower than this hotel's average rate of $244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$157
$109
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$166
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$227
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kinzie Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$160
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$207
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,929)
Filter reviews
2,929 results
Traveler rating
2,161
625
103
27
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,161
625
103
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine hoursable restaurantwine receptionanimal print robescomplimentary wineyoga matrooftop terracefloor to ceiling windowsfront desk staffnorth areaone bedroom suiteindoor pooltop floorthe rivercorner roomstate streetmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
1,263 - 1,268 of 2,929 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My 11 year old daughter and I had 3 nights in Chicago for a mother/daughter trip.
We found the hotel to have all the amenities we needed - nice clean room, great staff, a wonderful location for everything off of the Mag Mile, even a nice pool and patio on top of the hotel which we were able to spend a little time enjoying. The design of the hotel is European decor, and it clearly attracts visitors from "The Continent" who all seemed happy to be there.

Although the attached restaurant - Sable - is really not what I'd call a "family" place for dinner, we did have 1 late dinner and it was just fine (she was the only child in the restaurant at that time). But I could see why it is highly rated.

The complimentary coffee in the lobby area and iced water were nice touches (and they also have a very nice complimentary happy hour in the lounge).

The only downside to the whole experience is just the street noise at night (due to the wonderful location of being in the center of North Riverside).

Would definitely recommend the hotel to those looking for a nice place in a great location.

Room Tip: request a high floor to escape some of the street noise
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank suzerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear suzerd,

I want to thank you for your very kind and honest review. Such feedback is wonderful to read and great informative details about our hotel and surrounding area. We hope to see you again for your next Mother/Daughter trip to Chicago, and I thank you for your business!

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Palomar was excellent! From the moment you walk in, you are greeted by very pleasant workers. The rooms are immaculate and spatious! I was there for my birthday, and the next day there was a bottle of wine for us in the room which was a very nice gesture! We enjoyed the bottle of wine on the terrace the night which was absolutely stunning. On the terrace, you have a beautiful view of Chicago! During our stay, the hotel had a wine tasting event which was free for guests. Everyday, the hotel had refreshing drinks in the lobby. Our deal included breakfast which was very good! Overall, I had a great stay at the Palomar and would DEFINITELY stay again! Thank you for making our trip to Chicago even better!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear maria c,

Your review is very kind and so much appreciated. It is wonderful to hear that you had a great visit and enjoyed the comforts of our "home" here at the Palomar. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Chicago, and I certainly thank you for your business.

Best,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our 4th stay at Palomar in 4 years. The first 2 times we stayed, we really enjoyed it. The 3rd time and 4th times were just ok. The staff was super friendly as always. The food at Sable is really good and the atmosphere is great--- for breakfast and lunch. After 9pm it becomes really crowded and impossible to get a drink or fit a place to sit. The elevators take forever... Just be aware.

We stayed on the 12th floor this last visit and at all times, we had the smells of food wafting into our room for some reason. Sounds like a dream come true, right? Well after a while it was a overwhelming and annoying. The "duvet cover" is basically 2 flat sheets (we'll call them "the buns") with a dingy old duvet inset in between them (we'll call that the burger). Nothing buttoned or tucked in order to conceal the burger, so literally after 5 minutes of trying to get comfortable, the buns had separated and the burger was exposed. No one wants to touch the old dingy burger, right? Irritating to say the least. The mattress was really uncomfortable too. The room just showed signs of wear which we hadn't experienced here before. So we're unsure if this was just fluke or if the hotel is going a little downhill.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear JSC79,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and feedback from your recent stay. First and foremost, I thank you for your continued patronage to our hotel over the years. We certainly would like for you to continue staying with us when in Chicago. I am so sorry for the food smells that you experienced in your room. This is something that we will definitely look into with our engineering team to work on a solution. I also thank you for sharing your description and experience with the bedding in your room. This is the first complaint I've read regarding our comforter set-up, but one that I will look into further with our housekeeping team. I would like to assure you that our hotel is not going "downhill" as you mentioned - Please know that as hotels age, we work strategically and expediently to combat that age and refresh along the way in the necessary areas. We are always working on improvements and we rely heavily on our guests' feedback to point us in the right direction. I thank you again for yours, and we hope to see you for another visit very soon.

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My title says it all. The wine and apples at 5pm is great and its all Free. The hotel itself is small but quaint. The location is center city and you can walk over where. Aside from the pricey rooms its worth it cause you can drink wine for 2 hrs straight for FREE

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Eric D,

Thank you for sharing your comments here and great to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially our complimentary wine hour each evening! We hope to see you again soon and I wish you a wonderful Summer season.

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our recent stay at Palomar went well. I'll start by listing the good. The room was nice (good bed, very clean, nice bathroom, great water pressure, and nice view). The staff was helpful, nice and accommodating. The restaurant had great food and great service. The hotel is in the very center of the city and was within walking distance to everything. As another reviewer stated, it was a great "hub". These are all very strong positives. We stayed in a room high up and I would definitely recommend that for noise control. The rooms were actually very quiet. We had several "woo" girls staying in the room next door who we could hear loudly in the hallway, but once we were in our room their squeals disappeared. City noise was also non-existent in our rooms (excepting sirens or other loud incidentals).

Our only issues were consequences of the area and our age. We are in our 40's and 50's. This area of Chicago is the "in" area. Be very clear that when something is "in" that means that the 20 somethings have decided it's cool. The entire area and, especially, this hotel becomes a hive at night--swarmed with the very young. So much so that there actually is a loud background roar resembling high volume white noise. It sounds like a busy hive. The roar begins at the onset of free drinks (when the lobby packs with young guests) and lasts until....... At night, Sable's bar area jam packs with 20 somethings and thumps with "cool" music. The youth hive phenomenon extends beyond the Palomar for a radius of about 3 blocks in all directions.

Fortunately, there was a quiet rooftop area with a nice city view to escape the hive. Although, there is no bar service and alcohol is not allowed up there (which is unfortunate). It's just an offshoot of the pool area and a quiet place to talk or unwind. It is the only place we saw people our own age at the hotel.

So, I would recommend this hotel for many reasons and give it a high rating. If you are in your 20's or early 30's, or if you enjoy rekindling your youth and are perpetually young at heart, then the Palomar will be perfect. But, if you are looking for a more genteel and sophisticated stay, this hotel may disappoint. However, as I said, it is close walking distance to everything, so if you are older and choose to stay here you should be able to find more age appropriate after-hour scenes nearby.

Overall great central location, great value and lots of amenities nearby. Good luck!

Room Tip: I listed average on the noise level because the surrounding area is loud due to the volume of people and nightlife. However, the rooms were quiet and managed to dissipate the city and guest noises. I recommend staying high up to minimize city noises and you would definitely want to be toward the backside of the hotel (there are also views there, but you won't be across the street from loud bars).
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank GetawayABCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear GetawayABCs,

I want to thank you for your detailed and insightful review. We certainly appreciate your praise and positive comments about the great comfort, cleanliness, and functionality of your room. I would certainly agree with you that the River North neighborhood where we are located, is most definitely a high energy area of Chicago, with one of the most highly condensed areas of top restaurants, lounges, and nightlife in the city. I must mention, though, that this area, and our hotel, including Sable Kitchen and Bar, draws the attraction of people of all ages. We consistently receive excellent reviews and feedback from our guests of all ages, as we cater to everyone. We have an excellent Kimpton Kids program who love our pet goldfish, our fun animal print robes, also available in childrens' sizes, as well as quiet and relaxing areas of the hotel, as you had mentioned in your review, for anyone who would like a more serene atmosphere. Overall, we take great pride in offering activities around town and around our neighborhood for anyone and everyone, regardless of age. I completely understand and appreciate your personal opinions, as those of all of our guests are critical to our ability to offer excellent accommodations, but I just wanted to share my own thoughts about our hotel to the Trip Advisor community as well. I do thank you for your business and if you should choose to stay with us again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Palomar!

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews