We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Oasis for Business Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #13 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Relaxing Oasis for Business Traveler”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed one night at the Palomar and wish it could have been longer so I could enjoy more of what the hotel has to offer. While there I dined at their restaurant --- which was EXCELLENT... the breakfast room service the next day met the standard of the dinner meal of the night before.

Room: large, beautiful views of downtown Chicago, very clean, free wifi

Lobby: coffee bar in the morning was a nice touch. Check in and check out was a breeze.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luisa1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear luisa1071,

Thank you for your wonderful review and gracious comments about your recent visit. We too, wish your stay could have been longer! All the more reason to return! I thank you for choosing to stay with us and I wish you safe travels always.

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,979
    562
    85
    19
    10
See reviews for
652
948
123
500
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Location: The hotel is situated in a very nice part of town..lots of great food and places to get a drink. Not to mention the mass transit system is a few hundred feet away. For the price this hotel is perfect!

Service: Greated instantly upon arrival by the doorman. They are nothing but first class service from bellman to front desk they are amazing! We arrived way early and they accommodated us greatly with the room being ready for us to go in and clean up after a long trip.

The Room: Clean, inviting with contemporary decor. It was very quite..not a peep from the family that was across from us with kids.

Only complaint, not sure if its worth anything but a personal preference but the bed is beyond firm, near sleeping on a stone firm. Not my cup as I like beds I can just sink about a foot into.

PS: check out the 17 floor indoor pool...nice warm and the view there is pretty cool!

Room Tip: They asked if we wanted a quite room or a room with a view. I choose the quite room..which it was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spooner101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Spooner101,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback on your stay with us earlier this month. We appreciate your kind comments and I am glad to hear that you were well taken care of by our team. Point taken about our beds. I think you nailed it when mentioning this is "personal preference" as we have had many compliments on the comfort of our beds, but there are certainly some folks who prefer something either softer or firmer, depending on their likes/dislikes. With that being your only concern and all else going well throughout your stay, we are grateful for your praise and willingness to return.

Safe travels to you and your family,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We've visited the Palomar in the past as well as others in the Kimpton chain and will again. What stands out, beyond the leopard skin robes and exotic animals in the lobby, is exceptional customer service, at all levels, from restaurant, to concierge to front desk. This a full service hotel in the old sense and offers a first-rate fitness center and even provides yoga mats in the rooms. While the elevators were slow due to a full house, we were able to navigate easily and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Joining the Kimpton loyalty program is easy and provides benefits like a free morning paper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMilo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear DMilo46,

I thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel and our service levels - and I appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize for the elevators being a bit slower during high traffic times, but glad to hear you were not hampered by this challenge. I wish you and yours safe travels always - and have a lovely Spring season.

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Palomar is a really nice hotel with a warm yet very modern feel in a great location. We stayed there a couple of days before Christmas for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay.
The hotel lobby was cosy and with the daily free wine and pizza event, actually full of people chilling in front of the fireplace (never seen a hotel lobby actually used by guests before).
The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the barmen at the Sable bar.
Our room was perfectly clean and comfortable, with an amazing view of Chicago skyline. The decoration and style, however, were not quite on par with the hotel common areas, lobby and reception. A little too conventional, really ugly carpet, while I was expecting light colors, designer lighting and furniture. It looked more like a deluxe room in a big hotel chain like a Hilton than an upscale boutique hotel, but the room rate was also pretty low.
The indoor swimming pool looked amazing, but as other reviewers noted before, it was so full of screaming kids that it felt like a daycare - even in the evening. Enjoying a swim with a skyline view would have been awesome, but the level of noise in there was unbearable. I also wish they had a bar on the top floor, it would be a great addition.
The location in River North is absolutely perfect: not in the heart of downtown Chicago so it's relatively quieter, but within a walking distance of the Magnificent Mile, the Loop, the Lake shores, Navy Pier (which was mostly closed). There's an incredible amount of restaurants of all styles and prices in the area, including the new Eataly venue which is just a couple blocks away.

Overall, I think the Palomar hotel was a great base to discover downtown Chicago. It is comfortable, stylish (the lobby/reception more than the rooms), has friendly staff and a perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Lulle79,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and praise here on Trip Advisor - of your visit with us a few months back. We certainly appreciate your complimentary comments and I also offer my apologies for the aspects of your stay that were not to your liking. I am sorry that you did not care for the decor in your room, but am happy to hear that you liked our public space areas and lobby. I also share my apologies for your not enjoying our pool area during your stay. We, at Kimpton Hotels, certainly welcome our guests, of all ages, especially children - which find our indoor pool a big hit. We certainly didn't intend for you, or any of our other guests, to be inhibited from enjoying our pool. We do hope that you would still return for another visit, and I want to thank you for your business.

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway. We really enjoyed everything about this hotel. Every person we encountered, desk, concierge, bartender, valet were outstanding and friendly. I do like the smaller boutique type hotel and this one was well-located. It happened to be really cold or we'd have walked even more than we did. The room was nicely appointed and bed was great. Excellent fitness room and heated pool on the 17th floor with ceiling high windows. We attended the complimentary wine reception which was very nice, as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Jeanne B,

So nice to hear that you had a lovely time here at the Palomar. It was certainly a cold February here in Chicago - and glad you were still able to get around and see the city. Please come back and see us soon, and I thank you very much for this review, as well as your business.

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The entire staff made our weekend a complete blast! Front Desk, Concierge, Doormen, Sable staff - EVERYONE treated us incredible! Every time we came through the door, we felt like we were back home! I don't want to list names for fear of leaving someone out - literally EVERYONE was great.

Room Tip: Corner rooms (01) have an AWESOME view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie0308014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Julie0308014,

You are so kind. We appreciate your review and great comments about our team and how well you were treated while here as our guests. It was our pleasure to have you all stay with us and we hope to see you again! Thank you for your business.

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great hotel from the valet to the front deck everyone made me feel right at home. Room was very big bed was comfortable. The lobby bar was a great spot of an after dinner drink, once again the bar tenders were very friendly. Would defiantly stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floors can get a good look of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Peter K,

Thank you for your very kind review and 5 star rating! So gald to hear you were comfortable here with us at the Palomar and that you had great experiences at Sable Bar. They definitely do things right and never disappoint! We do hope to see you again soon and I wish you a wonderful Spring season!

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 188 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,456 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing