We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #11 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
tividale
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Classy hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Husband and I stayed here for four nights in August. This is the fourth trip to Chicago with different hotels each time, and this was definitely a great place to stay. The front desk staff were always ready to help, and were quick to have a coffee maker installed in our room as soon as we asked about it. We loved the "raid the minibar" coupon and the free internet - both very nice perks of joining their loyalty scheme - we only made it to the free cocktail hour once during our stay, but it was another nice touch. The hotel is in a great part of town with lots of dining options close by, and within walking distance to just about anywhere in the downtown area. The room was comfortable and quiet, and very well appointed. We hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear bmtours,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments and details from your stay with us this summer! I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you were well-treated by our front desk team throughout your stay. Glad that you were able to partake in our perks, and we certainly hope you have become a loyal Kimpton-ite! Safe travels always, and enjoy the fall season!

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,935
    550
    85
    19
    10
See reviews for
636
935
120
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Palomar Chicago is well situated on subway and bus routes, near wonderful shopping areas (upscale and not-so-upscale), and a short distance away from the theatre and concert district. It has an exceptionally good restaurant (but avoid the "scrambled eggs" at the breakfast buffet.) I stayed in a suite on an upper floor. It was well appointed and very comfortable. The entire hotel is attractive and quite well maintained. The staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful. If you want a 4-star hotel in downtown Chicago, you could hardly improve on the Palomar.

Room Tip: Best views from rooms facing south or west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear James G,

Your very kind review is well received and much appreciated! Great to know that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Palomar in our River North neighborhood of Chicago. Please travel safe and know that we welcome you back for your next visit to Chicago!

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Palomar for one night as a getaway in Chicago. It's a very good hotel in an excellent location in the River North area. The staff are plentiful and helpful. The room was spacious and with a very very comfortable bed. We also had dinner at the restaurant on the ground floor, Sable. Eclectic and delicious food.

Our only unfortunate experience was the surprise $2 access charge per outgoing call (with calling card). I'd recommend making this more obvious to guests within the room or on check-in, but it could be that I'm used to hotels that long ago stopped charging fees such as this.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DJ999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear DJ999_13,

Thank you kindly for your review here on Trip Advisor. Excellent to hear that you were comfortable and satisfied in your room, as well as enjoyed a great meal at Sable. Sorry for the outgoing call access fees. I can understand how this would be frustrating if not known prior to making calls. We will certainly take your comments to the table in making this more aware to our guests. I wish you safe travels always from Melbourne, and please come back and see us here in Chicago on your next trip!

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo

AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary in Chicago. Have never been there and were so pleased with the results. Every time we walked into the door of the hotel, we were greeted as old friends. The front desk personnel were friendly, efficient and so helpful. When they discovered the reason for the trip, they upgraded our room and sent us a bottle of champagne to celebrate!

I cannot say enough about this hotel. If you want excellent service, spotless rooms, a fun-filled wine hour each evening, then I would suggest that you book a room at the Hotel Palomar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 550Claire50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear 550Claire50,

To begin...40 years! Congratulations! I am so happy to hear that you chose to spend such a special occasion here with us at the Palomar Chicago. I thank you for your very kind review and while we hope you will visit us again soon, we also expect to see you on your 50th as well!

Sincerely,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay, great rooms (a/c was ice cold as I like it) thoughtful and attentive staff much appreciated by this overseas visitor. Bobby and co are an excellent mine of information. Particularly enjoyed the win and pizza hour after a hard day's sightseeing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Durbs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Durbs75,

Thank you for your kind review of our Hotel Palomar Chicago. Your praise does not go unnoticed and we very much appreciate your taking the time to share. Glad to hear you were comfortable in your room - and Bobby is very thankful for your mentioning him in your comments! He works very hard for us and to help all of our guests with anything they may need. I do wish you safe travels and hope to see you again soon here in Chicago!

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Palomar Hotel was recommended to me by a friend when I was having no luck getting a room at my usual Chicago Hotel!! now the Palomar will be my usual!! great location, beautiful rooms,a thoughtful and attentive staff. Because coffee is served in the lobby in the morning, you have to request a coffee maker for your room, I did, it came immediately and I was a happy girl!! The evening wine reception is a lovely touch although my business took me out of the hotel much later than the 5 - 6 time of service..if I could, I'd make it 5-7 for us trade show folks who are working til 6!! the breakfast in Sable is delicious!! The room was spacious, clean, well lit, and very comfortable. there were plenty of outlets for charging various devices and the towels are nice and thirsty!! I recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Donna M,

Great to hear that you had a wonderful stay and we love being one's "usual" hotel when in Chicago! We really do appreciate your taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor and please know that your, and all of our guests' feedback is greatly welcomed and utilized to improve and encourage. I thank you for staying with us and I wish you safe travels always. Until next time...please take care.

Best regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel was nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, however some of the fixtures need attention. The phone by the bed did not work, the chair at the desk needed replacing with the leather have worn through in places. The banquet facilities were nice. If a member of their frequent hotel plan you get free wifi which is a nice benefit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Stephen S,

I thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. So sorry about your phone not functioning properly. Definitely something we should have caught prior to your arrival. And thank you also for your feedback on your desk chair showing wear. We are working to replace such worn items in the near future. Good to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay, though, and we do hope you will choose us again the next time you are in Chicago.

Kind regards,

Adam Gurgiolo
AGM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,308 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#12 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing