We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great overall experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 184 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great overall experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Palomar is a great hotel. The room (king) is quite adequate. There is an exercise room and a swimming pool on the top floor. The lounge area is also comfortable. There is free coffee in the AM and if you need a refill later you can go to the restaurant. The service was stellar-no problems. As others have written the location is great. If you want some munchies you can raid the room cabinet or go downstairs to Jewel-Osco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear raynan:

Thank you for the review you just sent in - we appreciate it - River North is such a central location to everything in Chicago with many great hotel options. We are so glad you chose to stay with us.

See you soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,784
    511
    75
    17
    7
See reviews for
572
871
110
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The best part about the hotel is its location. The redline is across the street, orange a few blocks south, and Miracle Mile also just blocks away. It is also near a lot of great restaurants, bars, and cafes.
The stay was also great with a comfortable bed, large room, and a lot of items to request if you forgot something.
The staff was top notch from check in to checkout.
The only minor downside is a large fire station is nearby so you will hear sirens but thats standard for any large city. I will certainly stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear TransitNerd83:

Thank you so much for the review and we appreciate the stellar feedback. I could not agree more that this is a fantastic area - we love being in the middle of it all.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Palomar hotel is a fantastic property. The staff is very friendly but not overbearing. The location of the hotel is fantastic and you can walk to hundreds of bars and restaurants.

I did have a similar "shocking" experience as another reviewer mentioned; the elevator button static shocked me every single time. Another thing I might recommend to the hotel is to install doorbells for the larger rooms; I had housekeeping walk in a few times because you could not hear knocking on the door at all from the bedroom....it was extremely annoying. Please, please, please get doorbells for the suites, it is very uncomfortable for both parties.

We did have room service for breakfast which was fantastic. Also, the Sable restaurant downstairs was very pleasing.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1627, which was a Luxury 1 bedroom suite. It had pretty good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Derek B:

Thank you so much for the review and most of all for the recommendations. We will look in to the idea seriously and possibly install if it makes sense for us.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel for our first visit to Chicago based on trip advisor reviews. We found this hotel to be so good that we decided to stay again on our return through the Windy City the next weekend.
The location is very good with so many things within walking distance. The well decorated rooms are spacious, modern, spotless and quiet. The reception lounge with its huge fireplace gives a very nice vibe, especially when guests gather for wine and pizza in the late afternoon. There is coffee and hot chocolate available in the morning. We signed up to be Kimpton members and received a daily newspaper at our door and a mini bar credit as well as free wifi! We only had breakfast at the Sable Restaurant as it was packed with a lively crowd every evening.
The best part of this hotel though is the front desk and front door staff. Everyone was upbeat and friendly and best of all.... smart! Bobby worked very hard to try and find us tickets for the Book Of Mormon and Cory got us all the information we needed for a foray out to the Frank Lloyd Wright area. Every person connected with the hotel every day gave us the feeling that we mattered. We had not expected that in Chicago.
After such a positive experience at this Kimpton Hotel, we will be on the lookout for them in our future travels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Sara M:

Thank you so much for the detailed and thorough review - we appreciate the feedback and we truly are glad that you enjoyed the time you had in Chicago. Book of Mormon is a hot ticket in town. Also, becoming a Kimpton in Touch member is very much worth it with free wi-fi and a $10 Raid the Mini-bar card. Thank you also for calling out Bobby and Cody - they are wonderful members of our team.

Please come back and visit soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband, 10year old daughter and I wanted to stay downtown in the city for a long weekend.
I can't say enough about how pleasant and helpful all the staff was to us. They always greeted you with a smile and gave you good advice on places to eat and things to do. The hotel was very clean and in a great location.
We really enjoyed the complimentary wine reception that the hotel offered every evening and my daughter liked that they had hot apple cider.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Wendi H:

We are so thrilled that the three of you had a great long weekend - and apple cider is always a crowd pleaser. Please come back and stay again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I came up to see a play at the Steppenwolf Theatre and dine over a long weekend. We were intrigued by the great reviews, great prices, and perfect location of this hotel, so we booked it. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and our corner room on the 8th floor was quiet and very comfortable. We were able to walk to Topolobampo our first night, and shop along Michigan Avenue. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a wonderful experience at a fabulous price.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which might be slightly larger, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Leslie F:

Thank you so much for the great review - we appreciate it and are so glad that you and your husband had a fun weekend with us. Let's do it all again soon.

Best regards,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I travel for business often and have fallen in love with Kimpton properties for a number of reasons. This is certainly the "best of the best" of the Kimpton hotels. I recently stayed at the Palomar Dallas, and it doesn't even come close to this chicago Kimpton (Palomar hotel).

Previous to finding this hotel, I've stayed at a number of properties in Chicago. After finding this one, I will stick with Palomar. Here is why:
- not that one should expect to check in early, ...but as a business traveler when I arrive early, they always have a room available for me.
- the service is top knotch and welcoming
-the rooms are spotless
-the room service food is always clean, light and fresh. one can get sick of starchy, heavy room service food when traveling for business and the weight starts packing on. it's nice to know that when you arrive exhausted and want to order room service, that there are healthy, fresh, delicious and well portioned items to choose from.
-Of course, the free wine at cocktail hour is a huge plus
- and some of the other kimpton perks are wonderful too (the "raid the mini bar" promo, etc)

This particular hotel is safe & centrally located. I just really like it and it has a good feel to it. The best in chicago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lives4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Lives4Travel:

Thank you for such a favorable review - we truly appreciate it - always motivates us even more when we can tell that our hard work is being recognized. The detail in your review is sure to be a big help to the TA community when they make a hotel choice.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 184 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,357 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 184 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,640 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#15 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,701 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#10 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 184 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing