We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I travel for business often and have fallen in love with Kimpton properties for a number of reasons. This is certainly the "best of the best" of the Kimpton hotels. I recently stayed at the Palomar Dallas, and it doesn't even come close to this chicago Kimpton (Palomar hotel).

Previous to finding this hotel, I've stayed at a number of properties in Chicago. After finding this one, I will stick with Palomar. Here is why:
- not that one should expect to check in early, ...but as a business traveler when I arrive early, they always have a room available for me.
- the service is top knotch and welcoming
-the rooms are spotless
-the room service food is always clean, light and fresh. one can get sick of starchy, heavy room service food when traveling for business and the weight starts packing on. it's nice to know that when you arrive exhausted and want to order room service, that there are healthy, fresh, delicious and well portioned items to choose from.
-Of course, the free wine at cocktail hour is a huge plus
- and some of the other kimpton perks are wonderful too (the "raid the mini bar" promo, etc)

This particular hotel is safe & centrally located. I just really like it and it has a good feel to it. The best in chicago.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lives4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Lives4Travel:

Thank you for such a favorable review - we truly appreciate it - always motivates us even more when we can tell that our hard work is being recognized. The detail in your review is sure to be a big help to the TA community when they make a hotel choice.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,895
    544
    83
    19
    10
See reviews for
619
919
118
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Hotel Palomar Chicago and we loved it. We have been huge Kimpton fans for greater than 10 years as their properties NEVER disappoint. This hotel is absolutely beautiful; it might be our favorite Kimpton to date (we have stayed in 20+ throughout the country). The staff was incredible and the State Street location is great; quick walk to Michigan Ave and many great restaurants and bars.

We secured a Spa King Premier room; it was wonderful. Our room was spotless and spacious with floor to ceiling windows on two sides. We had a fabulous view of the city (thanks Tyler H. ☺). The décor is “Kimpton Cool” and the bed was dreamy. The extra sitting area was a nice space to relax in and the bathroom was amazing. Loved, loved, loved the huge Fuji soaking tub. Everything about our stay was stellar. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else while in Chicago.

Room Tip: Spa suite was fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceyPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear TraceyPhoenix:

Thank you for the fabulous review and for calling out the names of our great staff - they always get a kick out of that. I am so glad we were able to get you in a King Spa room - they are my absolute favorite - just the right size with a really spectacular bathroom.

Thank you fo rmaking us your favorite Kimpton Hotel - we are honored.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Point, IA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This review is long overdue, as we stayed within the first month they were open a few years ago. Having visited Chicago several times, staying in different hotels, the Palomar is by far our favorite. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the wine hour is wonderful, rooms are great. Perfect location for exploring the city. We had breakfast at Sable one morning--fabulous. Absolutely would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dana82899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear dana82899:

Thank you so much for the overdue review.....as they say, better late than never. We always appreciate the reviews and kind words.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventura
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is TOP NOTCH as are each and every one of its staff members! From our first greeting at the door (Colin) to the front desk person that checked us in (Dana), we felt very welcome - and that did not change each time we went out and came back in!

The rooms are so homey (not typical hotelish feeling) and the beds are very comfortable. The towels are soft, not scratchy. The decor is tasteful and elegant.

I had indicated in my reservations comments that I was traveling with my 10 year old daughter. Upon arrival they had a goodie bag for her and our room was equipped with a kid sized robe and a GOLDFISH (whom we named Bubbles!). She felt SO IMPORTANT - it was wonderful! I can't thank you enough :)

It is very obvious the Kimpton Company only hires the best in the hotel industry. My job requires that I travel every 4-6 weeks and I have visited several hotels that should take lessons from the Palomar staff on how to treat their guests!

I have to give a special shout out to Jon Luc (probably spelling his name wrong...his name badge was damaged so he was wearing a badge that said RYAN, or he was puling our leg!). He truly went above and beyond his door man responsibilities. He was so sweet to my daughter every time we saw him - asking how our day was and what we did. He recommended places to visit and eat, even telling us what his favorite dishes were. He even texted Dana (the gal that checked us in) for my daughter. As part of the Scavenger Hunt she was given in her goodie bag, she needed to find out Dana's favorite color (which is Pink BTW). Jon Luc is a gem and a valuable member of Palomar's Staff!

I will stay at Palomar every time I am in Chicago!

Room Tip: room 1601 (corner room) was amazing and gave views of the city as well as the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santikis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed with family for 4 days in December before Xmas. It is in a great location surrounded by multiple restaurants and bars. It is only a couple of streets from Michigan Avenue shopping. The wine hour is perfect time to stop off and relax and regroup before choosing a place for dinner. The staff is friendly and efficient, the rooms are good sized, well decorated and good views. The pool is nice but rather small, but the views are great from the rooftop.

Room Tip: Only problem with sleeping is the unfortunate location of the fire station down the road from the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Don S:

Thank you for the review you recently submitted. We are so pleased that you had a good time at the hotel and especially that you enjoyed our wine hour.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotels has excellent amenities couched in a hip and cool environment. We got a one bedroom suite with a nice living room, bedroom and bath. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a huge self cleaning jacuzzi tub and a separate, large walk in shower. The room service was prompt and user friendly. This hotel offers the am entities of a five star hotel but without the huge price tag. And, it is located in a great area of Chicago close to Michigan Avenue shopping and the theatre district.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JIA-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear JIA-7:

Thank you so much for the review you left us - we truly appreciate it. We hope you will come back soon and visit us.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is the only hotel I will stay in when in Chicago. My most recent stay was in November 2012. The staff is phenomenal!!! From the person who helps you out of car/cab to the front desk to the staff at Sable, everyone is helpful and smiling. The hotel lobby is small but most of the lobby area is a large sitting room for guests where they hold the popular wine and cheese receptions . I wish they served drinks or appetizers ordered from Sable in this room during the evenings too as it is a great space to hang out with a glass fireplace. Check-in is always a breeze and front desk staff patient and considerate. Rooms are SPOTLESS and not worn out. I know the hotel is over 2 years old but it looks brand new. The pictures on the wall are copies of period photos of Chicago World's Fair. Even smaller rooms seem big since the windows are floor to ceiling. Never had a city/river view but the view to State street is great since the hotel is one of the tallest buildings around. Bathrooms are large enough and again spotless. The Spa tub bathrooms are worth the extra splurge--it is like a swimming pool. I love the fact that the Palomar is close to Magnificent Mile. Kitty corner from the hotel is a Bed Bath and Beyond and a grocery store if you forgot anything. And the hotel is surrounding by great restaurants and bars. Although I have become a devotee of the hotel restaurant Sable which is amazing--tapas and small plates meant to share--and I make sure to go each time I stay. Teh Chef was on Top Chef and the Lamb Sliders, Potato and Cheese Pierogis, and Brie and Bacon Jam are incredible dishes. Beware the restaurant is really crowded--you need a reservation made a day or two before even if staying in the hotel. It was fully booked for the evening when I checked in on a Thursday morning--fortunately someone cancelled. Bar area is loud but the restaurant area isn't too noisy, so conversation is easy. I also like Pops Champagne bar 2 blocks away which has great retro cocktails and champagne drinks too and is fun for before or after dinner at Sable. Looking forward to my next trip in March!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear jlmcc:

Well thank you so much for the incredibly detailed review and positive comments. We could not be happier and truly appreciate it. And it goes without saying of course that we can't wait fro you to come back.

Happy New Year.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,230 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 186 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#8 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#13 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing