We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary, yet cozy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #12 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Contemporary, yet cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Let me say up front that we are huge fans of the Kimpton Hotels. Their happy hours, their pet-friendly policies and their unique properties are a big attraction to us. The Palomar in Chicago is a very new property and was nearly flawless when we stayed there. We received an upgrade to our room and found it to be very comfortable. The bed was somewhere between medium to firm and worked for both of us.

The rooftop pool area is not to be missed. It's an indoor pool on the roof of the hotel with a sizable deck to the side with wonderful view. The workout facility wasn't cramped and we were able to use the weights and cardio machines without a wait.

It's hard to stay at a Kimpton without commenting on the accommodating staff. I don't recall any particular interaction with the staff that left me smiling, but I just remember feeling like they were friendly and went out of their way to help, particularly with our questions about the area.

Finally, we love the wine happy hours! Returning from a day of sightseeing and shopping, it was nice to swing in, drop off our bags, have a glass of wine, then head back out for dinner. The location is very convenient to many dining options, so you won't have to worry about venturing very far for a bite to eat.

One more thing -- if you're not a member of their rewards program, we've found it to be worth it. We get notified when a new property opens and often receive emails alerting us to special deals. In fact, our first stay at the Palomar was at a member's only promotional rate. That was icing on a very tasty cake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator. Being that the hotel is right downtown, guests might not be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanExplorerTES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear UrbanExplorerTES:

Thank you so much for the detailed and thorough review you posted. We truly appreciate the many tips and recommendations you have made to the TA community. They are all spot on.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,852
    539
    82
    19
    8
See reviews for
601
901
114
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have stayed at the Palomar a few times and every time it has been a pleasure.
The staff is outstanding. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are great.

I never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Albert H:

We truly appreciate your loyalty and honesty. Please let us know if we can ever do anything more to make your stays even more enjoyable.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was my second opportunity to stay at the Palomar and I hope not my last. This property is just the right size, not too big to be overwhelming and diminished service yet not too small to have a positive "vibe" and wonderful on site amenities. Superior location and easily accessibility to the Red Line. The staff is very accommodating, professional and friendly. The King Spa rooms are simply wonderful. Be sure to join the Kimpton loyalty program for special perks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Tbouy:

Thank you so much for staying with us again. We truly appreciate your business and are honored that you will be coming back to see us soon.

All the best.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I've had the great good fortune to stay at this hotel before. Yet again it performs above and beyond expectations. Best concierge team I've ever come across, in fact you just can't fault any of the staff, they are all charming, friendly, helpful. You also cannot fault the hotel's premier position close to many of the fine dining hot spots in Chicago. It's a gem of a place and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BalhamBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear BalhamBlonde:

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and especially our concierge team. We could not agree more, they are fantastic.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I wasn't expecting this hotel to be great. I was even hesitant to say the name of the hotel when my coworkers asked where we were staying. It turned out that this is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. We couldn't check in early but that was just fine because they have a big lobby where you can just surf the internet using the hotel's WiFi (free if you are a Kimpton member). The internet connection is great as I was using that to connect to a VPN when I have to work from the hotel. I like that I can easily walk to the red line to go to the loop. Good restaurants are only a few blocks away. Same with the Magnificent Mile. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuieLuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Luie Luie:

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We truly appreciate it and are so glad that we were a nice surprise. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I paid a fraction of what I recently paid at the Wit for a much nicer room, spotlessly clean, with a pool, excellent restaurant, and great location. First the room, beds were very comfortable, beautiful linens and towels, very good toiletries, and the room was cleaned early and quickly every day. There was not much of a view from the room (10th floor) but it was very quiet and our sleep was not disturbed by either street noise or neighboring rooms. Check-in was perfect and the professional and the very friendly staff made us feel welcomed and taken care of. I have only had service like this at the Ritz Carlton. The amenities are fantastic, great workout room, very clean pool with towels and a very nice view, morning coffee, hot chocolate (delicious), and tea in a beautiful lounge/living room area with a fireplace. On Thanksgiving morning the hotel served a complementary continental breakfast because the restaurant was closed. The location is amazing, you can take the blue line from O'Hare to Jackson transfer to red line and get off across the street from the hotel for $2.50. We also took State Street bus down State to shopping, Millenium park, etc. Nordstrom is around the corner and all of Michigan Ave. is a few blocks away. We also walked four blocks to Whole Foods, one block to Starbucks, and two blocks to Frontera Grill. You are in the middle of everything here. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tamcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear tamcarol:

We can't thank you enough for such a detailed and positive review. That's what keeps us motivated every day, knowing that we are making the hotel a great place for our guests to stay.

We appreciate it and hope you will join us again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed with my husband for 4 nights and loved Chicago. The concierge was very helpful. Nice, clean, quiet, comfortable hotel. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go. Great service, good breakfast. Waited for the elevators at times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Irma48:

Thank you so much for the review. Glad to see you had a great time in Chicago and enjoyed our hotel. We hope we can do it all again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#11 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#16 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#4 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing