We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
brazil
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Beautiful rooms, great service, fantastic location and staff that go out of their way to make your stay perfect.
I'm a tough critic, but there's nothing that needs improving with this hotel!
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aguedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear aguedes:

Thank you for the short but sweet review - we are so glad we could please even the toughest of critics. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,790
    517
    75
    17
    7
See reviews for
576
873
111
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I only had a one night stay here, but I wish it could have been longer. I requested a "quiet room" and the one I got lived up to the billing. The blackout curtains were great, too. Overall, the room was comfortable, with lots of power outlets. The Etro toiletries were a nice touch. Loved the morning coffee in the lobby. Staff at the front desk was friendly and accommodating. I hope to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asdca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear asdca:

Thank you for the review - we appreciate it and hope to see you again soon. We thank you for your business.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is my favorite place to stay in Chicago! From the moment you arrive, the staff makes you feel welcome and makes sure you're taken care of. The rooms are comfortable with great modern decor and the location can't be beat. (Frontera Grill is just a couple of blocks away as is great shopping!) I didn't order room service from their restaurant this time, but their parmesan truffle popcorn is amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear laura a:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the Palomar. We can tell that you truly enjoyed your time with us, which makes it all worthwhile.

We thank you for being a loyal repeat guest.

See you soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I started staying at Palomar hotels 3 years ago, and when the price is right and there is one in the city i'm traveling to, i try and stay there. The Chicago Palomar is what I expect when staying at these hotels, a small boutique feel, nice fresh new rooms, and great service. Also their wine hour and typical great chef led restaurant attached. My friend who manages another restaurant in Chicago actually swears by Sable both for their mixoligists and their food.

Room Tip: The Spa rooms are always unique and great for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JG230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear JG230:

Cheers to a wonderful review and especially for telling our TA community about how cool Sable is -it does have a big local following which is exactly what we hoped for.

We look forward to seeing you again - thank you for staying with us since the beginning.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albi, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The location is great between the Magnificent Miles and the Loop.
Subway is next door.
The staff try hard.
Rooms are quite nice in size ,storage,bed.

But
Rooms are noisy from the outside (right corridor from lift), and from inside ,climatisation
(left corridor from lift)....
Plumbing sucks (inneficient flow, fixed shower).
Toilet in the bathing room unuasal in europ at the price of the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herethic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear herethic:

We are so sorry to read about your disappointment with your stay at our hotel. However, we are pleased to know that our staff tried hard to make things better for you.

As to your comments - as I have replied before to other reviewers, when you are in a downtown location, with a bustling metro area around you - outside noise is inevitable, no matter how many steps you take to mitigate it. As for having a separate toilet room, or commode, that is not very common in hotels in the USA, unless you book a room type such as a suite or similar.

Once again we thank you for your feedback.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Another great visit at a Kimpton Palomar Hotel. Location in Near North is ideal both to the Magnificant Mile and the Loop. Subway right across tjhe street. Excellent restaurants and pubs a few blocks away. Rooms are sizable and well fitted out; plenty of storage space, quiet, etc. Evening wine and appitizers in the lounge is an added benefit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhale53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear rhale53:

Thank you so much for posting such a great review - we truly appreciate it. We could not agree more - we also think we have an A+ location.

See you again soon,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Visited Chicago for three nights following six days in New York.

Initial impression of the hotel was very positive with welcoming staff and great lounge space.

We were fortunate enough to have a one bed suite on the ninth floor. Good lounge area with floor to ceiling windows looking down the side of the hotel to the main road. Large bathroom with shower and great Fuji spa bath. Bedroom was lovely with big king sized bed looking out through a floor to ceiling window.

Restaurant was superb with high quality food and service to match. Turn up early or book as very popular with locals.

The swimming pool on the 17th floor was great to use on an evening and I had it to myself. Views over the city as you swim. There is an open air terrace beyond the pool which I suspect on a warm day would be a fantastic place to view the city from.

Hotel is very central for the main areas of Chicago. Once you get your directions sorted it was within easy walking distance of all key locations.

Chicago is a wonderful city to visit and it is hard to think that there is a better hotel to base yourself from.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a suite... Awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinMW1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear MartinMW1963:

Greetings from Chicago and thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We truly do appreciate you going in to so much detail about the hotel, our restaurant Sable and the city. We love Chicago.

Please come and visit us again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,370 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,660 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,727 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#12 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing