We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very good hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our stay in Chicago was a pleasant surprise. A great clean seemingly safe city with amazing architecture and easy access to transport.
The Palomar was very well placed, being close to shops and sites.
Room good comfortable standard and quiet without being lavish. Great staff and good breakfast facilities.
General close location to many good restaurants and easy walk to waterfront and magnificent mile shopping precinct.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Paul C:

Thank you so much for the recent review you left us. We truly appreciate it. We hope to see you again when you visit Chicago.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,019
    584
    87
    20
    10
See reviews for
674
967
123
513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

So the location alone is just perfect, but the hotel is all around great. Every interaction with the staff here impressed me. They were real people that were super helpful before, during and even after checkout. The concierge Bobby helped us on our arrival with lunch suggestions, nearby salon & barber, and nightlife thoughts. All of the staff here were just great- wow...from not just asking how I was, but asking about my day & shopping adventure when it was obvious that I had been out enjoying...to a bellman asking if I needed help with directions, me sharing I was taking the train across the street and him suggesting that I walk a few blocks to avoid the train transfer- it was the best walk of my week! Just beautiful!...I left my cell phone & had to return to the hotel to find it after checking out. The head of housekeeping met me to help me look for it with success...there was even a staff pumpkin carving contest on display during our halloween stay- just fun even for us business travelers.
There is a wine reception in the evenings that was a nice way to start the evening.
We stayed in a suite & enjoyed the spaciousness of the room. The decor was nice- which some of the photos make it look dreary. It is not at all- just a clean look & feel to the rooms. It had a huge fuji tub that was relaxing.
I was super impressed with the quality of their room service menu- well done! I enjoyed egg whites with veggies and fresh fruit for breakfast. For lunches I had a tomato soup & great salad- tomatoes, cucumbers, avocado, blue cheese- it was just yummy. I had no reason to go out for great food when it was so good at the hotel- yea!
Again, just a great stay all around! I do recommend becoming a Kimpton member before you go to enjoy the benefits that go with that- free wireless & even a discount on in room massages.

Room Tip: Our room faced another building, so did not have a view at all- I would just ask next time to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Keleeisenhauer:

Wow - we can't thank you enough for such a detailed and thorough review - I am sure it will help other travelers truly plan their stay in Chicago.

Thank you for calling out Bobby our concierge and the bell and door guys. They are all a true asset to our hotel.

We hope to continue to be your first choice when you come back to Chicago.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany,ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Staff was excellent, very helpful.
Hotel is clean and centrally located.
Street noise, fire engines in particular, might be an issue for light sleepers.
Restaurant in the hotel was great, ate there twice.
Room was large enough to stretch out on the floor, which I like to do after a long day.
Each floor had different art work opposite the elevator doors, so as the doors opened on each floor, you got a brief view of some new art.
Concierge very helpful, got tickets to sold out Second City performance for us.
Recommend the river architecture tour.
If you plan on going to any of the more renowned dining establishments, be sure to reserve ahead of time. Some restaurants were booking several weeks (or more), in advance.
Had a very special dinner at Takashi restaurant, highly recommended.
Oh, the hotel has a wine tasting every evening in the lobby area, a nice touch. You can actually have a nice social time with other travelers, compare experiences,etc.
Overall, we had a great time in Chicago and enjoyed our stay at the Palomar Chicago.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texypoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear texypoo2:

Thank you so much for the great review - we are so pleased we were able to help you have a memorable experience in Chicago. We too love the nightly wine reception, as it also allows us to meet our guests.

We hope you will come back and visit soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Palomar hotel. This was almost perfect. First, a great location close to the Magnificent Mile and close to the Chicago River. Next door, you find plenty of good restaurants, bars and jazz clubs. It's a kind of boutique hotel with great staff. Very efficient, very customer minded and very helpfull. The room was quite large, with a nice view over the city on the 17th top floor. We had a corner room....There is a pool and a gym at the same floor with scenic views . Breakfast is good and lobby bar is very popular and seems trendy. There is a free wine reception every evening. A place to recommend and great value for money.

Room Tip: 17th floor...next to the pool...next to the gym....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mannecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear mannecker :

Thank you for the very kind review you left for us. We appreciate all of the great tips for other TA reviewers and we look forward to your return one day.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were booked for three nights.The first day we had luke warm water and so asked the front desk to have it fixed. The second day our water was a little warmer and again requested it be fixed or be moved to a different room. The third day we finally had a hot shower at 3:30AM.
It was a shame since the staff were nice and the concierge very helpful. The room was absolutely spotless and pleasant and we had a really nice red wine at their wine tasting.
But all those good feelings were wiped away while standing in an esentially cold shower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear C L:

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I cannot apologize enough for the issue with hot water. We did have some physical plant issues we were diligently working through at that time and we are sorry it affected you so dramatically.

We hope you will give us another chance to show that this was clearly an abberation from our normal operation.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Travelled to Chicago for a trade show, and took my wide and college-age son. Stayed Saturday and Sunday nights. Our one-bedroom suite was great - lots of room to spread out, and a queen size sleeper sofa. Staff was attentive at check-in, but not so attentive after that. A request for extra pillows, for the sleeper sofa, went unanswered. There was also an incident in the adjoining room overnight, and my wife had to notify the front desk about the distressing noise coming from next door. My guess was too much partying turned into too much toilet hugging. But the calls for help by our female neighbor were upsetting. Lots of activity outside in the hall way after that, but again no call from the front desk saying everything was alright, and not to worry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank payday1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear payday1972:

Thank you for writing a review on our property - we are sorry that there were some issues that were not properly followed up on on our behalf. We certainly always take our guest feedback seriously and will do so in this case.

We hope to see you again in the near future to show we can produce a consistently great experience.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

No grand entrance, huge sign, restaurant on the curb, etc. Rather, a refined feel located in a superb central location. Great rooms, great service, super friendly staff. My choice in Chicago. Hotel offers typical Kimpton coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. Restaurant is connected, but not hotel owned. My experience with the restaurant was also excellent. Walk next door to Nordstrom's if you need to ship, Rock Bottom Brewery across street if you need a beer or fellowship, Mother Hubbard's Sports Bar around corner if you need TV's, and Starbucks one block if you need a midday Coffee. Two blocks and you are in central Michigan Avenue.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great with a lot of natural light. I also prefer a higher level room to avoid road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Russell P:

Thank you so much for you review. We could not agree more that we have a great loaction and superb adjacent restaurant Sable Kitchen and Bar. Thank you for sharing your experiences with other TA reviewers.

We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,685 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,388 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 190 in Chicago
2,091 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing