We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I ran a hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Ranked #12 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“If I ran a hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

....this would be it!

Not much to add to the other great reviews. We loved it. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The room was excellent etc etc And the wine and pizza were an unexpected and wonderful surprise.

We will be looking for other Kimpton hotels after this experience. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Haddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Mr_Haddock:

Thank you for that great review - I would love to have you join me for a couple of days to help run the hotel. Now that would be fu!!

We appreciate the compliments and look forward to your return one day.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,955
    557
    85
    19
    10
See reviews for
644
942
123
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The car door closes, the doorman takes your bag, and you're whisked from the city into the marble-floored lobby. As is the case with all the staff at this hotel, the receptionist was extremely friendly, even going so far as to use her rusty French with my boyfriend who was in town visiting at the time. As is the case with all hotels, it's really the small touches that make a stay truly great: the silent elevator, the 'raid pass' ($10 credit for the mini-bar given to Kimpton In-Touch members), the personalized message center on the TV, and the hand-crafted soaps. I'm always happy to meet the management of any hotel I stay at, and this is possible during the Wine Hour offered daily. I've stayed in many other hotels offering free drinks in the lobby, but this is the only perfect execution of it I've seen. The goal is to offer a social outlet, a feeling of community, to its guests and that is exactly what it does.

Room Tip: If there are enough rooms available, reception will ask you upon check-in what your preferences are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Colt J:

We are honored that you posted such a great review. Thank you. So gald you had a wonderful visit with your boyfriend. I hope we can do it all again real soon.

Best regards,

Nabil Moubayed
GM -Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We hosted our first training meeting in Chicago at this hotel. It did not disappoint in any way. The area has unlimited activities, restaurants, sporting events, shopping, and architecture. The public spaces are clean and pedestrian friendly. From the moment our staff checked in it was apparent that the hotel places a high priority on customer service with a helpful, can-do attitude. The staff of the hotel was always on hand and the General Manager came by our registration area to introduce himself and to be available for questions. Our primary sales contact came by multiple times during the day to check on things, and the banquet staff was on-task, available, and extremely friendly. Our AV tech was certainly among the very best with whom we've ever worked. We had 80 guests on property and there was NOT ONE reservation or service issue with the rooms. Even better: the internet quality and speed. Make sure to sign up for the Kimpton loyalty program because then the internet is free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2y2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear 2y2p:

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I remember your group well and am so glad that every one felt that this was a great experience.

We hope that we can continue working with you and your team for future programs and we look forward to seeing you in Chicago again soon.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Wow! Where to start? The location is fabulous with dining, shopping, and access to the Red Line just outside your door. We were in Chicago for our annual girls trip, and The Palomar was the perfect hotel to serve as our home away from home. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. The wine hour was the perfect ending to the day/begining to our night.
I want to give a special shout out to the bell man, Bleu. He went out of his way to assist us with directions for the L train, getting a cab, and even recommended a great Sushi restaurant for our last night in town. Always stay at a Kimpton when traveling, and will surely return to the Palomar on my next trip to Chicago!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 93Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear 93Nic:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we truly appreciate it. Also, Bleu says hi - he was thrilled that you mentioned his name.

All the best and see you soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I don't know if it's the good location, the comfortable room, the professional staff or the attached Sable Kitchen and bar, but.. (alright, it is the Sable bar. That place has an amazing selection of well-chosen distilled spirits, a staff of talented and friendly bartenders and some very tasty appetizers). The hotel rooms themselves are nice; very comfortable and clean. While I wish the bathroom doors were once that closed with a resounding CLICK rather than a barn-door slide, The bathrooms themselves are well appointed. We opted to stay at another (non-Palomar) hotel on our last visit to Chicago and were disappointed (and somehow managed to find ourselves back at Sable for cocktails anyway).
I think this is not just my favorite hotel in Chicago, but my favorite Kimpton overall.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank margieco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear margieco:

Thank you for such a great review and for loving Sable as much as we do. It truly is an amazing experience.

We can't wait to see you again.

All the best,

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Having been so pleased with our previous stay, I booked a block of 30 rooms at the Palomar for my out of town guests during my wedding weekend. Despite being fully booked with other weddings and guests from the Ryder Cup, our stay this time was even better than the last. Sarah did a tremendous job helping me with the reservation process, and made sure that all of our special requests were taken care of.

My husband and I stayed in one of the larger suites with seperate bedroom and living room areas. If you can, I would definitely recommend the upgrade! The room was huge, and had more than ample space to allow me and my wedding party to get ready on the day of the wedding. The hotel management also made sure to provide our stylists with extra tables and benches to work on. The bathroom was huge, and featured one of the fabulous fuji soaking tubs that I fell in love with during our first stay! This made for the perfect place to unwind with the celebratory bottle of champagne the hotel left for us after our big day.

Overall, we and our guests were extremely impressed with the Palomar. My husband and I stayed at two of the Four Seasons properties in Hawaii during our honeymoon, and I beleive the service here is at least on par with those properties.

We will be staying again very soon!

Room Tip: If you can do the upgrade, request a room with a Fuji tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Rory0110:

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and for blocking so many rooms with us. We certainly appreciate the business and also thank you for the favorable comparisons to some other great hotels.

We hope we can host you for many years to come. Maybe a yearly anniversary trip?

See you soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

What an an amazing birthday week we had two weeks ago at the Palomar Chicago. Mark and Bobbie G. were two of most competent and nicest concierges we have ever met. They made us feel so at home and they know their city. The entire front desk and door staff honored my birthday with a lovely card and treats. The whole staff is awesome and the Sable Bar, in the hotel is a must. The bartenders and staff there were so friendly and caring. We felt like we had made many new wonderful friends by the time our week was up. I couldn't recommend this hotel more.

Judy B
Bellingham, WA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyBellingham_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPalChi, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear JudyBellingham_WA:

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel and for calling out our great concierges Bobby and Mark. We appreciate all of your feedback.

See you soon.

Nabil Moubayed
GM - Palomar Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,387 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Address: 505 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4803 (Formerly Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palomar is a luxury, boutique hotel in Chicago's River North surrounded by the city's top attractions, restaurants & destinations. Guestrooms offer stunning contemporary decor and hotel guests enjoy the 17th floor pool & terrace with workout facilities. Guests also delight in the Sable Kitchen & Bar featuring new American cuisine, one of the city's hottest bars and a popular weekend brunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing