We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Favorite---Everytime”
Review of Villa D'Citta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa D'Citta
Ranked #3 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This was the second time I have been here. I LOVE it! My fiance booked it last year as well. I love that there are different themed rooms. The place is always so clean. Love the flat screen tvs with satellite cable. Love that the water pressure in the showers are strong and not just trickling like some hotels/BB. Love that the showers always have Dove products ie. shampoo, conditioner, body wash. The fridge is always stocked. I loved that we were able to cook our own breakfast in the morning. They have everything from eggs, toast and danishes to belgian waffle mix (already prepared in the refrigerator) and bagels with cream cheese. Love the lay out of the place. This place is SO relaxing, yet right in the middle of the city! Would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 366 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

My sisters and I rented a room in Villa D; Citta for two night. One of the owners, Ralph, was very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in wes very spacious and clean.

We will definitely stay in Villa D' Citta on our next visit to Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepetjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I would like to tell all that this is a great place but I am afraid if I do I will not be able to get reservations again, because once you stay here you will never stay anywhere else while in Chicago. The place is spotless, food is great and service is outstanding. The housekeeper is a definate "keeper". She will do anything for you. On weekends she makes some killer potatoes that anyone can have with the eggs they may want to make. The fridge is stocked with very fresh lunch meat, breads, eggs, bacon, potatoes, etc. There is a waffle maker for anyone to make waffles for breakfast (prepared mix is in fridge). Always fresh fruit on the counter not to mention the daily supply of fresh baked cookies in the cookie jar. This is all next to the huge Television you can watch while you are eating breakfast, or better yet go out to a beautiful patio. You will think you are in Italy or France!! No kidding. And no, I am not related to any of the owners. My son lives in Chicago and this will be the only place I stay from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This B&B is conveniently located in an action packed part of Lincoln Park. Perfect for suburbanites like us. Ralph the proprietor helped us get acclimated to area and his home. The ambience is incredibly soulful. Martha made our children feel so welcome. The 24 access to the gourmet kitchen is awesome. My husband enjoyed all the Itailan meats and cheeses that were readily available. Located in close proximately to great restaurants shopping and Depaul University. We used public transportation to get to the Zoo, Wrigley Field and the theatre.
Villa d'Citta has moved to the top spot for our family when looking spend time in Chicago

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midtown491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is a bed & breakfast well above most you'll find. Everything about it was clean, comfortable, convenient and first rate. If you want to be in Lincoln Park, this is a very good choice. Our son and his wife live two blocks away and it was so easy to leave our car parked for the visit. We took a suite with a large bathroom and bedroom which were well appointed and quiet. The walk-in shower was huge with a heated mirror and sink so you could shave immediately after or during your shower. If you are high maintenance and require a lot of service, this may not be for you. On the other hand, if you like to come and go and be left alone, it works very well.

Room Tip: Call early and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magpie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

What a great place to stay in a big city. We were there for 6 nights and had the priviledge to stay in 3 diffferent rooms. The first room was the Venetian, smaller but nice access to the rooftop and hottub. The next two nights in the awesome Tuscan Suite. Huge room with an over the top bath suite. Loved the steam shower! The last night in the Milan Suite, another surperbly decorated room. All the beds were great-no aching back complaints all week!
The ability to fix your own meals with the delicious food provided was so fun, especially in the utterly devine gourmet kitchen --- something that I will now always compare other B&B's to--and they will all come up short of the Villa D Citta!
The location couldn't be better. I rode the subway every day to the convention ctr and it was so easy and accessable from the villa. Lincoln Park is a wonderful part of the city--the restaurants are the best, the zoo (free no less) , shops/ boutiques, and nightlife are all within walking distance. But if you need a cab, Ralph has it waiting for you! He has knowledge of all the hot spots including the best blues bar, best cupcakes, and even the best florists :) (just in case you need a bouquet or two for that special person)
We have stayed in many B&B's/Inns around the world and this is the best . You do feel like family and its all due to Ralph's hospitality. Thanks again Ralph and of course Martha--who keeps it all so neat and spotless.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This place is authentic and most pleasant! My wonderful hubby brought us here for my birthday!
We thorougly enjoyed our stay here--Ralph gave us such very good tips, too! We'd have rated it a 5 had we stayed in the larger room, but our late-date reservation made it so we'll do that next time!
The kitchen was stocked with fresh fruit, organic oats, great (real) bread, gourmet coffee, eggs, cheese, and more! We really enjoyed interacting with the other guests there, too.
We recommend this place for all the above, as well as its proximity to great restaurants, lakeshore, zoo, etc.
We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0veLakeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#9 of 192 in Chicago
2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Rogers Park
Lang House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa D'Citta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa D'Citta

Address: 2230 N Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60614-3625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range: $167 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa D'Citta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden behind the modest facade of this Chicago greystone lies a true taste of the Italian architecture and style. The Villa D' Citta is a Chicago premier owner occupied residential rental that is nestled in the heart of the city's trendy Lincoln Park neighborhood. The Villa offers an old world comfort and unparalleled luxury, steps away from Chicago’s number one boutique shopping district, along with some of the best dining and nightlife the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa D'Citta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing