We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Villa D'Citta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa D'Citta
Ranked #3 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This B&B is conveniently located in an action packed part of Lincoln Park. Perfect for suburbanites like us. Ralph the proprietor helped us get acclimated to area and his home. The ambience is incredibly soulful. Martha made our children feel so welcome. The 24 access to the gourmet kitchen is awesome. My husband enjoyed all the Itailan meats and cheeses that were readily available. Located in close proximately to great restaurants shopping and Depaul University. We used public transportation to get to the Zoo, Wrigley Field and the theatre.
Villa d'Citta has moved to the top spot for our family when looking spend time in Chicago

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midtown491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 368 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is a bed & breakfast well above most you'll find. Everything about it was clean, comfortable, convenient and first rate. If you want to be in Lincoln Park, this is a very good choice. Our son and his wife live two blocks away and it was so easy to leave our car parked for the visit. We took a suite with a large bathroom and bedroom which were well appointed and quiet. The walk-in shower was huge with a heated mirror and sink so you could shave immediately after or during your shower. If you are high maintenance and require a lot of service, this may not be for you. On the other hand, if you like to come and go and be left alone, it works very well.

Room Tip: Call early and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magpie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

What a great place to stay in a big city. We were there for 6 nights and had the priviledge to stay in 3 diffferent rooms. The first room was the Venetian, smaller but nice access to the rooftop and hottub. The next two nights in the awesome Tuscan Suite. Huge room with an over the top bath suite. Loved the steam shower! The last night in the Milan Suite, another surperbly decorated room. All the beds were great-no aching back complaints all week!
The ability to fix your own meals with the delicious food provided was so fun, especially in the utterly devine gourmet kitchen --- something that I will now always compare other B&B's to--and they will all come up short of the Villa D Citta!
The location couldn't be better. I rode the subway every day to the convention ctr and it was so easy and accessable from the villa. Lincoln Park is a wonderful part of the city--the restaurants are the best, the zoo (free no less) , shops/ boutiques, and nightlife are all within walking distance. But if you need a cab, Ralph has it waiting for you! He has knowledge of all the hot spots including the best blues bar, best cupcakes, and even the best florists :) (just in case you need a bouquet or two for that special person)
We have stayed in many B&B's/Inns around the world and this is the best . You do feel like family and its all due to Ralph's hospitality. Thanks again Ralph and of course Martha--who keeps it all so neat and spotless.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This place is authentic and most pleasant! My wonderful hubby brought us here for my birthday!
We thorougly enjoyed our stay here--Ralph gave us such very good tips, too! We'd have rated it a 5 had we stayed in the larger room, but our late-date reservation made it so we'll do that next time!
The kitchen was stocked with fresh fruit, organic oats, great (real) bread, gourmet coffee, eggs, cheese, and more! We really enjoyed interacting with the other guests there, too.
We recommend this place for all the above, as well as its proximity to great restaurants, lakeshore, zoo, etc.
We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0veLakeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I spent a night to just get away and relax. I was greeted by Ralph, whom could not have
been any nicer! My room was Heaven! I felt like I was at home, I had the keys to the building.
The Kitchen was there for me to grab a snack, to make a meal if I choose to. I walked to blocks down to Cafe Ba Ba Reba for some Tapas instead. I must admit I did raid the fridge at midnight for some ham and cheese. I can not wait to go back when it is warmer, to go back with some friends, and hang out on the patio, and maybe grill some steaks.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Wow- we just ended our long weekend at Villa d'Citta. It was fabulous, I don't think that there is a single thing that they can improve on. Well stocked kitchen, hot tub, parking, etc. We were pleasantly surprised at the setting, as we didn't expect there to be so many restaurants and stores within walking distance. This was our first trip to Chicago and won't be our last. This house is just amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherieSpencerport_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I don't even know where to start...Villa d'Citta was absolutely WONDERFUL!!! My stay was for a girls weekend "staycation" in the city. To say we enjoyed ourselves immensely is an understatement. We booked the entire 4th floor; each room was immaculately clean and decorated beautifully (we even took home a few ideas). The beds are simply heavenly! The kitchen is every woman's dream and well stocked for breakfast and snacks throughout the day. We enjoyed our surroundings so much that we didn't leave the building our ENTIRE stay!! :) From the time we walked in the door Ralph catered to our every need!, Not only suggesting restaurant choices, but even placing the orders for delivery. We were all so impressed and outdone by our stay that we can't wait to go back in the summer to enjoy the beautiful grotto and we each booked a stay for our wedding anniversaries before we left! I have the privilege of being the first to return this weekend for my wedding anniversary!!! Can't wait for my husband to experience Villa d'Citta!!! This is definitely one of Chicago's hidden gems! Ralph and Villa d'Citta are top notch and first class!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cancun120205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#18 of 192 in Chicago
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,932 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#59 of 192 in Chicago
3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa D'Citta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa D'Citta

Address: 2230 N Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60614-3625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range: $144 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa D'Citta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden behind the modest facade of this Chicago greystone lies a true taste of the Italian architecture and style. The Villa D' Citta is a Chicago premier owner occupied residential rental that is nestled in the heart of the city's trendy Lincoln Park neighborhood. The Villa offers an old world comfort and unparalleled luxury, steps away from Chicago’s number one boutique shopping district, along with some of the best dining and nightlife the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa D'Citta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing