We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Mexican in Chicago” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xoco

Xoco
Ranked #56 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nice Mexican in Chicago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I went to the lesser of the Bayless restaurants today and it was pretty great. A great restaurant visit includes discover and I discovered one important thing: Cilantro is not evilly bad if it is very fresh and added sparsely to a dish. In fact, it is good. The key words ar fresh and sparse. Too many restaurants don't follow that rule.

I had a torta made of carnitas swiming in a tomatoe soup/suace of that was loaded with peppers sweet and spicey. The bread was white was like a baugette but not really. The carnitas were strong and said their names loudly. I also had a side salad made of arugula, romaine, cucumber, and jicama cover in a lime vinairette. Very good.

I wish I could go to his other two restaurants here but I don't have time. The fancy-fancy one is booked for months that the fancy one requires a long wait in line.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank innerbum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    210
    62
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best hot chocolate ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stopped by for a "nightcap" of bean to cup chocolate after having a delicious dinner at Frontera. The place was packed, but the line went quickly and we each ordered a hot chocolate. I had the Authentic and my expectations weren't high as I am not a huge lover of chocolate. HOWEVER,it was incredible. Rich, smooth, better than any dessert I could have had. I am glad I don't live in Chicago, or this would quickly become a bad habit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeeWeestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
246 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great breakfast !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Yes, they serve breakfast .. in fact, on Saturday they serve from 8am to 10pm (NOTE: like all Rick's dining spots, they are closed on Sunday)

We went about 10 am -- perfect, no line at all! They offer egg dishes, chaquiles, mollettes (open face sandwiches) -- all interesting & yummy. BUT YOU MUST HAVE THE CHOCOLATE !
This is REAL hot chocolate & I recommend the AZTEC wtih a bit of spice.

Always a delight to eat any Rick Bayless establishement.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank outoford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
153 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Rick Bayless food at counter service prices--awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed across the street from this spot and enjoyed eating there three separate times in less than 24 hours. The food and drink choices are limited, but uniformly delicious. Our first visit was for late lunch--we each had a torts (sandwich)--one wild mushroom and one grilled shrimp Friday special. Later that evening, while waiting an hour for a table at Frontera around the corner, we had guacamole and chips ($8 for "loaded" guac and two salsas) and drinks. Next day we tried the "caldo" choices for lunch--tasty soup/stew bowls.
Oh and then there's the highly addictive Aztec chocolate--hot chocolate made from cocoa beans ground on the premises!
They've really got the logistics down in this tiny spot too--table assigned before food is ordered, so you know there's a place to sit when after you order. Friendly staff chat you up and bring drinks if you have to wait in line for a table assignment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mfred57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Delicious and off-kilter menu items”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place is the brain child of celebrity chef Rick Bayless. The cuisine is broadly Mexican, though flourishes of other Latin American and a few fusion notes ring throughout. Without sounding like a gourmand, the fare is comprised of well-spiced meat sandwiches, large meat or vegetarian soups and numerous 'street food' sides. I counted a half dozen vegetarian items on the menu, though off-menu accommodations are possible. Hungry eaters should order one and a half things-- starter plus two entrees for two should do the trick. There's no outright table service, though when you're in queue to make your purchase, attendees ask you for the size of your group and recommend tables based on availability. It's the restaurant's de facto on-site reservation system, the best I could tell. I recall an adequate beer selection.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xoco also viewed

 

Been to Xoco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing