We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exotic and tasty.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Xoco

Xoco
Ranked #72 of 9,493 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Exotic and tasty.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

A new experience of Mexican cuisine......not the usual enchilladas, tortillas, tacos, quesadillas, etc. Had a refreshing hibiscus drink - it was wow, so unusual! And, the portion of soup makes for a full meal - so flavourful! Could not resist the desserts - especially the peanut and chocolate coated churros......wish I could have tried more dishes! But the place was crowded and a long queue of customers was waiting for a place. Besides, the food does pinch your pocket a bit,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gangapriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    213
    63
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The "little sister" of the Rick Bayless restaurants with big taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We shared three different sandwiches that were WOW WOW WOW!!!

The components of each sandwich tasted great on their own, but together, out of this world. Very well seasoned, the right amount of heat, and simple - yet very flavourful. The bread had the right amount of crunch, while being able to easily bite into it. The meat was tender and juicy.

It was a great spot for lunch. Sat outside with two beers and couldn't be happier.

P.S. had to ask how it was pronounced, since my resort Spanish only takes me so far...It's 'Sho-Co

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MochaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Intense and Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

First thing in the morning - chocolate and coffee beverages that'll nock you out - very concentrated but not so large that overwhelms. Pricey, yes. Quality, yes.
Tortas also wonderful, well balanced flavors - was amazed how well they reheated!
Daughter thought Yogurt Bar excellent - fresh fruit was perfect. Bought bag of homemade granola and... fought over it with husband back home!
I adore Mexican food done well, and Bayless' restaurants don't disappoint if you can pay the price and wait/plan ahead. I'm devouring their cuisine whenever I can.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the fuss is about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had the woodland mushroom torta. Seemed to me like it was a pretty small meal for the price. It tasted pretty good with the spicy salsa, but I don't think it really justified walking 20 minutes from my hotel to eat it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank yevs19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Deliciosa Torta!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Being a lover of Latin American food and in particular Mexican I was very excited to try some of the Bayless restaurants. The woodland mushroom torta is outstanding, has a nice rustic flavor complimented with a spicy salsa. Also great was the Baja chicken torta and the lime drink.
We also tried Frontera Grill around the corner and Tortas frontera at the airport, again great and highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xoco also viewed

 

Been to Xoco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing