We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, a bit lacking on ambience”
Review of Xoco

Xoco
Ranked #62 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, a bit lacking on ambience”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is not where you go for a nice night out. there isn't really table service (except for when they bring your food). Never mind all that - you go here for eating and eating only. I loved the seafood caldos, the choriqueso torta, the churros, and of course the guacamole. I can't remember what I had on previous trips except that it is always great. It's also a very reasonable way to check out the Rick Bayless style without going to the other more expensive restaurants, which I hope to check out soon. Oh, and their margaritas are excellent!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LittleHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    220
    66
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Whoa!!! You gotta go here NOW!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A group of 4 of us made a split second decision to see if we could go to Frontera on a Saturday in March 2013. As we should have expected, there was a 2 + hour wait. (Should have made reservations!) Not to worry though, Xoco filled our requirement for delicious and authentic Mexican cuisine. The service was fantastic; Even though the wait was long, the host made sure we knew we could order drinks while we were in line, and that we could help ourselves to water since it gets dry to the open stove. The freshly made chips and salsa with guacamole were to die for! Each of us tried each other’s tortas as well, and all were fantastic. For the price, quality, and authenticity, you can’t beat it! What are you waiting for!? Go there NOW!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious Churros!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stopped by after eating next door at Frontera Grill. It was mid afternoon and there was no line. We got Churros to go which were absolutely delicious! Since it wasn't busy, there were a lot of staff engaging in personal conversations and playing around which was a little off putting. But, I guess the extra staff is needed when it gets busy from all the talk of long lines. Would still go back for the yummy churros.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaraMiaRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“long lines for so so food”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Overrated tourist trap. Food isn't that great and there is always a line out the door - that isn't worth the time. A pass in Chicago

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckahoe, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yummy Lunch”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

On our trip to Chicago my husband and I ate at Xoco twice for lunch. We got short rib, pork belly, and carnitas caldos and a cochinita pibil torta. We were there when it was kinda cold outside so the caldos really hit the spot. We also got churros and a chocolate shot. Everything was really delicious. There was a bit of a wait for lunchtime, but I think it was worth the wait.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoseB60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xoco also viewed

 

Been to Xoco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing