We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Xoco

Xoco
Ranked #65 of 9,499 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food is always fresh and delicious. Get there early to avoid crowds. I always try the food that I never see at home and I have never been disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jn2jn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    213
    63
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great concept for Mexican street food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant is a must stop for Chicago foodies. Rick Bayless does it again. This place has the best churros and chocolate dipping sauce ( http://instagram.com/p/OQxDZnEvIG/ ). Also I discovered the best Mexican sandwich - The Ahogada Torta ( http://instagram.com/p/OHxznPkvO2/ ). Come here during non peak hours otherwise it's a long wait.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovegoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis Mo
Level Contributor
145 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“great Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had breakfast here (french toast, choros and hot chocolate) that was incredible. Decided to come back for lunch, Rick was in the resteraunt selling his book so the place was packed. My wife had a chicken torta, while I had the pork belly soup. Both were really good, but be warned, both were very spicy for our wimpy midwestern taste buds.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pjsltk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing, casual Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place is worth a stop when you are in Chicago! This is a wonderful Rick Bayless restaurant with incredible, casual street-style Mexican food! The guac, sandwiches, soup and churros are all to die for! Plan to wait in line though because it is a small restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winterfe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
174 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Mexican street food at affordable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was small so try to come here at an off eating time. The way they have you order is odd. You stand in line when you get to the register you can't order until they give you a table number. The house made hot chocolate was awesome. We all loved our meals. We had to bug three different people to get our hot chocolate and desserts which they said we had to tell them when we were ready for them (even when we did it took awhile)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xoco also viewed

 

Been to Xoco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing