We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, fabulous hotel, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #13 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Malibu
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Elegant, fabulous hotel, great location.”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I love this hotel! Although it is new, the service is flawless, unobtrusive. Unless you order from room service, the staff will refuse tips. They are discrete, yet friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is a bit austere, but is still lovely. My room, which was upgraded without asking, was a one bedroom suite with fireplace and terrace. It was quiet, and beautifully appointed, and huge. The bathroom was very large, with separate bath and shower and dressing area. As a business woman, this hotel had everything that you would want. Did not get a chance to use spa or fitness center, but will next time. Close to great shopping, too. I felt as if I were in a hotel particulier in Paris. I will definitely return again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportInPurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,919
    229
    110
    35
    23
See reviews for
555
950
120
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

First, an important note: I did not stay here on my own dime. I was in town for a family wedding and a relative was kind enough to pay for my room. If you're willing to splurge, though, the Elysian is truly an exceptional hotel. Luxurious linens (I don't think I have ever slept as well), a HUGE marble bathroom, great amenities like an iPod dock and a TV in the bathroom mirror so you can watch the game while you're shaving. If you open the window, you'll hear the noise & bustle of the city, but close it and enjoy complete silence.

One kind of weird thing: we checked in on a Friday and there were two wine glasses on our mini bar, which we used that evening. The dirty glasses remained on Saturday, then disappeared and were never replaced with clean glasses! I guess I could have called down and asked for new glasses, but it seems like that's the kind of thing that should have been done without having to ask at a hotel of this caliber. Also, the lock on the front door to our suite was broken and the maintenance person wasn't able to fix it, so we had to leave it propped open all weekend (we had locks on the doors to our individual rooms, so it's not like anyone could have come in, but still, it was a minor inconvenience).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loudfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

The Elysian is a glorious hotel – stunningly beautiful and well located within Chicago’s best neighborhood for shopping and dining. What truly sets this property apart from the others, however, is the attention to detail and unmatched level of service provided.

From the moment you enter the majestic courtyard, you know you are in for a treat.
Staff – from the doormen to the front desk to the cleaning service – goes above and beyond to make you feel like you’re the most important guest. Staff will take a request and, instead of simply providing information to satiate that request, will proactively think of ways to make the interaction and answer memorable.

Some of the hotel’s main luxury competitors – say, the Ritz or Four Seasons, I’m sure, also provide reputable service. But, I always find their approach to be almost cookie –cutter corporate like. It’s as if the focus is on ensuring staff is following protocol or brand guidelines, as opposed to making it about the guest. Staff at the Elysian, it seems, are allowed the freedom to interact with each guest in a more personal and intimate way.

The rooms, meanwhile, are gorgeous and provide ample room. Yes, it’s true. Each room has its own fireplace! The bathrooms are huge. Everything in the room is completely updated and luxurious.

With any hotel, it’s the little details that matter, too: Tips, for instance, are politely declined as staff will constantly remind you that it’s unnecessary as it’s their pleasure. And, the claim ticket they hand you when leaving luggage with the concierge after checking out? It’s not some basic numeric ticket. No. The Elysian hands you a whimsical ticket stating “We will treat your luggage as if it were our own”. Nice.

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. Before staying here, my expectations were incredibly high based on the #1 Tripadvisor rating. I can easily say that the hotel surpassed what I hoped for and envisioned in every way. Not only is the Elysian undoubtedly the best hotel in Chicago, it’s also one of the nicest properties I’ve ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jezzie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed at the Elysian for two nights to celebrate our anniversary. Everything about our stay was fabulous. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Our room felt like our own private apartment in the city for the weekend. The room was elegantly decorated. The fireplace and soaking tub were wonderful additions to the room. I have stayed at both the Ritz and the Four Seasons in Chicago and I would recommend the Elysian over both. Well done!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stlgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austinburg, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Service, staff, accommodations, management, concierge, all impeccable. I have stayed at other luxury hotels in Chicago and this by far is the absolute best. The only problem I experience is I did not want to leave! The restaurants and room service were five star quality. Spa facilities were very enjoyable. The health club area was very well equipped. We took advantage of a few of the classes in the health club and thoroughly enjoyed those as well. The Concierge service was excellent, great recommendations and assistance in obtaining tickets, directions, etc. Lovely hotel. Extremely comfortable accommodations. We booked a suite and it was well worth the price in every way.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana5417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Elysian for a wedding. We had the great surprise of being upgrade to a suite by the Bride and Groom and could not have been more pleased. The hotel made the extra effort to make sure we had a great stay, the first night we arrived they sent us a plate of french macaroons. I'm not sure if they knew french macaroons are my absolute favorite, and these were very good. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous, modern art deco is how I would describe the decor. The furnishings are high quality and the bathrooms are simply amazing. I don't think we ever enjoyed taking a bath as much as we did at the hotel. We ate at the more casual restaurant two times, breakfast and lunch. The hotel also served the dinner for the wedding. All of the meals were fantastic, focusing on the quality and flavors of the food.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley12LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Service and dining are exceptional. It's simple elegance. Staff attentive and service personalized.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,388 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,486 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#9 of 190 in Chicago
1,635 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing