We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale hotel, no pretentiousness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #7 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Upscale hotel, no pretentiousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a very nice quality, upscale hotel in a great location in downtown Chicago. You are only steps away from the Magnificent Mile, Water Tower shops, Hancock building and the Rush/Division area that has great restaurants and bars. The staff was incredibly friendly. There was always someone to open the door for you when entering and exiting the hotel. We needed extra glasses in the room and they gave us options for the type of glass and delivered them immediately. We also needed an email printed and it was at the room within minutes. It's a clean hotel and was very quiet also. Even though you pay for valet of your car, the bell hops and valets do not take tips. We splurged on a King Luxury Suite and it was amazing! Overall a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to maximize your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank schpatzdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear schpatzdc,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am truly delighted to read that you enjoyed the quiet and peace in your Luxury suite, the hotel’s location and overall ambiance and that the service team was able to efficiently and graciously assist you throughout your visit. Comments like yours inspire our continuous pursuit of excellence in everything we do. Your patronage is highly valued and appreciated. We will look forward to welcoming you and your friends back when your travels next bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,620
    182
    87
    23
    15
See reviews for
438
800
97
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great stay, amazing service, wonderful spa, beautiful rooms, fantastic location, good food. We went for a Chicago staycation. Enjoyed massages at the spa and a lot of relaxing. Highly recommend! We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
4 Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Larry F,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago for your Chicago stay-cation. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the unique amenities the hotel has to offer, especially our Elysian Spa and our restaurant Balsan. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our service; I will certainly share your appraisal of the team with the entire staff as it inspires our pursuit of excellence in everything we do. We highly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you and your travel companion back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

First Class all around. Every need met during our stay. Room amenities were impecable. It is always nice to enter a room and find your every need met including your own ice maker and ice box completely stocked with your bevererag needs. The dining experience was excelent from presentation to completion. Breakfast was a great start and the creative dinner menu on Sunday was out of this world. If you like wine the manager has done his homework vast selection for every price and taste. This is a must stay hotel when in Chicago, whether your alone or with a whole family this hotel will meet all of oyur needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear David S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am truly excited to read that you enjoyed the different amenities our suites offer, and that you had memorable dining experiences in our restaurant Balsan. I will certainly share your kind remarks with the culinary and service team. Our Food and Beverage team has been working diligently on the wine and food Spring menus. They will be a fantastic new adventure for our diners. We hope you can come back soon to enjoy them. Thank you for recommending our hotel. We will look forward to serving you and your family again when your travels next bring you into Chicago.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

What an amazing experience. Staff top notch and so helpful. Love the courtesy car that is offered. The suites are spacious and very comfortable. Spacious closet and drawer space. Unbelievable bathroom and the spa FANTASTIC. It was also nice to have a fireplace and bar set up that included a microwave, ice that you do not have to run down the hall to get. Top notch!!!

Room Tip: Verify in advance if you are requesting s suite with a bedroom with doors that the bedroom is able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jack5511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear jack5511,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your suite, with all of its unique amenities, and that you also had the opportunity to visit our Elysian Spa. I hope you experienced some of the amazing treatments it has to offer. We will look forward to welcoming you and your friends back when your travels next bring you to Chicago!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I decided to meet my friend in Chicago to celebrate her 35th birthday. We checked in on Friday and the hotel was beautiful and the lobby staff was wonderful. Unfortunately, on Saturday, housekeeping did not come until 4 pm and since we just returned from shopping all morning, we just asked her to just refresh the bathroom and provide more towels. Around 10pm, we started smelling cigarette smoke in our room (it is a non-smoking hotel and I'm pregnant) so they sent risk management to our floor and found out who was smoking- I assume the party next door. The front desk offered to switch rooms, but they only had a king suites available with only king beds. We figured since they already rectified the situation we didn't have to move at 11:00 pm.
Unfortunately, the group continued to smoke throughout the evening and the night ended with the party next door singing happy birthday with applause at 4:45 AM.
Fabulous. $400/night for a non-smoking hotel with smokers next door and minimal housekeeping service.
Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShellyWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear ShellyWeb,

Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago to celebrate your friend’s birthday and for the review of your stay. I am happy to read that the team made you feel welcome at the time of check in and that you enjoyed the beauty of the hotel. However, I am disappointed and truly concerned to read that the rest of your experience fell far below your expectations. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced due to the guests who were smoking and being loud next to your room and the lack of housekeeping service.

Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please contact me at the Executive Office. I would love the opportunity to make things right and find a way to have you stay with us again. On behalf of the entire team, we are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you and your friend on such a special occasion.

Apologetically,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The rooms are elite. I happened to be upgraded to a suite and found it to be both comfortable and high end. Favorite aspects include a comfortable fireplace in the living room, a practical refreshment center with ice stocked for my needs, a very comfortable bed and an unbelievably quiet room (in terms of quietness in a hotel, this is the best I have experienced in 20+ years of business travel). Also, the bathroom rocks. The TV integrated into the bathroom mirror is very cool. I now "need this" at home! So... accommodations are elite and top notch!

From a business perspective, I would say this property is so-so. First, the mobile reception is spotty. I was there for 2 nights and morning of the next day and consistently had mobile calls drop. The in room phone wasn't much better. The speaker phone volume was painfully low making it impossible to use and the hand set cord was just not long enough to be effective. Made for a long morning for conference calls. The room service cost was over the top... a breakfast consisting of eggs, bacon, potatoes, toast and coffee = $60. I'm used to over the top hotel room service, but I'd call the Waldorf over, the over the top scenarios. However, if you're staying at the Waldorf... your either on business or well off, so the price tag probably is moot.

I also walked out to get a cab in the morning and there was no one to be found outside to help me... if you run into this situation, just walk out the courtyard to the road... and you'll typically see a line of taxis on the right. The area is a little sketchy, so if you don't see them, I'd walk back in and use the Uber app to get a black car for your needs or ask the front desk for help. Note: The 2nd day, I had about 3 people ask if I needed a car... so I suspect the "more" vs. "less" help is the norm at this place.

Beautiful place... not sure I'll be back for business stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Andrew H,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found our accommodations elite and top notch. I am truly disappointed, however, to read about the many inconveniences you experienced during your visit; especially concerning the mobile reception and the absence of our team when you found yourself in need of assistance at the front door. I have shared your concerns with our IT, Engineering and Front Desk managers for internal review. Your patronage is highly valued. We will look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back so we can properly serve you.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Classy, consistent five star quality. Lobby elegant, great location, can walk to top retail and restaurants. Very . attentive staff. Never a problem, have stayed over 20 times....always have a great stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
3 Thank Paulam843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Paulam843,

Thank you so much for posting your review of your recent stay with us. Your loyalty is highly valued and appreciated. I will certainly share your kind comments regarding the hotel and staff with the entire team as I know they will be very pleased to learn of your recognition of their efforts to make our guests' stay more pleasant. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,659 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,370 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#6 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing