We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Chicago Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago) (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit per Night
Ranked #7 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Chicago Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a night in Chicago at the Waldorf Astoria. We were upgraded to a suite which was incredible. Room service was very good - the food arrived in time and HOT! They have a no tip policy for the staff. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houston1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear houston1949,

Thank you for your review of recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your suite, our In Room Dining service and our no tipping policy. We truly value your loyalty and will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,617
    182
    87
    23
    15
See reviews for
438
798
97
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nicest big city hotel I've stayed in. As good or better than the Palmer House suite I had years ago. The Waldorf is a little out of the way, about 2-3 blocks off Miichigan and maybe 12 blocks north of the river. Easy walk to many nice store if it is not too cold. The hotel, the room, the spa were all 5 star. Sophisticated, well healed, and friendly. I would stay there again. Yeah, it is expensive, and so is the food. But it is the Waldorf and it is in the one of the top 5 cities in North America. It was great.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a king suite for a hundred dollars. It was worth it. BUt, I think they were a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear P S,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your suite, the Elysian Spa and the hotel’s décor and ambiance. We will look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Chicago either on business or pleasure!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed in the Waldorf Astoria for one night in September this year on our visit to Chicago. we pulled up at the hotel and the polite valet welcomed us and took our car and we was checked into the hotel promptly by the desk staff. We was shown to our room and the bellboy offered to take our bags.

The twin room was huge by city standards and felt very fresh and modern. The room was equipped with a huge tv, speaker with ipod dock and even a tv in the bathroom mirror! Unfortunately i didn't have time for a bath so didn't make use of the novelty.

We arrived in the afternoon and went out for dinner in the city so didn't make use of the Hotel's restaurant. I did use the hotel minibar which had a great collection but wasn't priced as bad as you'd expect from a hotel of this quality. The beds were really comfy and i had one of the most amazing nights sleep i've ever had. While we was out the maid serviced our room in the evening.

We checked out late morning stress free, apart from the valet bill which was over $50 for one night! I did try to tip the valet driver but he turned it down (probably felt sorry for me for forking out so much!).

Summarised this is a great hotel in a great location in the heart of Chicago and is definitely recommended. It's quite pricey as you'd expect, but compared to other 5* Hotels it wasn't priced badly at all really. Would definitely return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aearin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Aearin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am truly excited to learn that you and your family enjoyed your room, especially the comfort of our beds, the hotel’s location, and that our service team efficiently assisted you throughout your visit. We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you and your family back hopefully in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great location, amazing room, very large spacious bathroom with a huge tub and TV in the mirror, breakfast spot on and great food at lunch. The service was great overall, except for the front desk who seemed very bored or just very tired (we arrived around 11 pm).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorelaiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear LorelaiUSA,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am pleased to read that you found our guestrooms, especially the bath tub and the TV mirror, enjoyable and that the food from our restaurant Balsan was to your like. I apologize for the inconsistencies you experienced in the quality of our service. I have brought your concerns to the Guest Services Manager’s attention. Feedback like yours enables us to continue to improve our daily performance and quality of our product. We will look forward to our next opportunity to properly serve you when your travels next bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at the Waldorf in Dec. 2012 and absolutely loved it. The location of the hotel cannot be beat--right in the Gold Coast area, around the corner from all the high-end stores and a short walk to Michigan Ave. I had the Astoria suite which was enormous--nice size living room with working fireplace and a good sized balcony overlooking the city and the lake, a litte bar area, a big bedroom with a separate dressing area, and an enormous bathroom with shower and separate soaking tub and a two sinked vanity. The overall decor is contemporary/modern but comfortable. The bed was also very comfortable and the amenities top-notch. The service was exceptional. For example, we asked for a taxi to go to a restaurant and the hotel drove us in the hotel car instead. The hotel is a "no tipping" hotel where all services are included in the rate. That took a little getting used (feels odd not to tip bellmen). There is free wi-fi in the room and the internet connection was very fast. The conceirge was extremely helpful in arranging transportation, restaurant recommendations, etc. All in all, an excellent hotel. I want to go back to Chicago just to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1LATraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear 1LATraveler1,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed the privacy of our Astoria Suite and all of its unique amenities, the hotels décor, our house car service, and our no tipping policy. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our service staff. I am happy to read that the team was able to efficiently assist you throughout your stay. We truly value your loyalty and we will look forward to serving you and your friends again in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel was fabulous. I travel to Chicago almost every other week and was VERY fortunate to stay at the WA. The service was fantastic, we were running late to a meeting and they offered us the hotel car to get there in time. The rooms had great bathrooms (large showers, tv's in the mirror's), which every girl needs. I along with my coworkers all had suites, with living rooms, fire places, ice makers in the room and we all LOVED this hotel. It's close to walk to shopping, restaurants etc, The only thing we didn't love was the hotel bar, but since there are so many others so close, it was not an issue. A special thank you to Roman at the front desk, for helping to get our clients checked in so smoothly, above and beyond service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Ellen M,

Thank you so much for posting your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your suite, with its different amenities, the hotel’s location, and that our service team was able to efficiently assist you throughout your stay. Thank you for your kind words with regard to Roman’s performance. I will certainly share your comments with the entire team. I regret that our bar did not meet your expectations, but I am happy to learn that this didn’t affect your overall experience with us. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you when your travels next bring you to Chicago!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It wasn't until I went to write this review that I learned this was the #1 rated hotel in Chicago. This is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are nothing short of spectacular. My suite was like a studio apartment with a fireplace, work area, huge bathroom (with TV embedded in the mirror so I could watch and shave), comfortable bed, and enough closet space if I wanted to move in. The service in the hotel was simply perfect. Great location near Michigan Ave and all of the shopping one could want. It would pain me to stay anywhere else on my next visit to Chicago.

Room Tip: A lower floor my help with elevators which were sometimes slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mschorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear mschorr,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your suite, with all of its unique amenities, and the hotel’s location. Thank you also for your kind comments in regard to our service. We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back when your travels next bring you to Chicago either on business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,367 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#6 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 188-room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 4,500 square feet of private event space; European-inspired bistro, Balsan; haute bar Bernard's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing