We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$317
$233
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
$475
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$275
$242
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$211
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$187
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$239
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$604
$376
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$233
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,528)
Filter reviews
2,528 results
Traveler rating
2,087
249
125
41
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,087
249
125
41
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno tipping policyhouse cargold coast suiteelysian hotelgas fireplaceluxury suitetv in the mirrorroom servicesoaking tubwet barbeautiful hotelliving roomfour seasonssteam roombottle of champagnerush streetturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,858 - 1,863 of 2,528 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Service was excellent (e.g. Raining when we arrived & doormen rush to the car w/ an umberella). Had forgot my contact solution & housekeeping readily supplied (along w/ extra pillows). Room service also timely. Did not have any paid Spa services but did use the facility. Eucalyptus steam was fantastic. Was somewhat discouraged that from the website pics & others we were w/ attending a weekend seminar, that they had a fireplace in their room & great view. We had a King rm. but no fireplace & a view of a brick wall. But tried to focus on the positives of the room & beautiful decor. Bathroom was large & spectacular. Wetbar nicely stocked & liked drawer refrig./freezer (that had ice readily available). Would recommend but would ask more about the specifics of the room I was making reservations for, such as view & fireplace. Is $$$$$ but you feel so pampered.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
5  Thank DrKKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear DrKKF,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your room, with all of its unique amenities, our Spa and our room service. I am also happy to read that our service team was able to efficiently assist you throughout your visit. I look forward to our next opportunity to properly serve you when you visit with us again in the near future so you can experience a different type of room, this time with a fireplace and a nicer view.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Waldorf in Chicago was just what you would expect from the name, fantastic. The room was a king suite and it was huge. The balcony overlooking Rush Street was an added attraction and the service was spectacular. The staff was "spot on" at every turn. Don't get me wrong, the price was more than I usually am willing to pay... about $550 a night, but the treatment was equal the price tag. Would we stay again... yes! If we can afford to!

Room Tip: The Waldorf is a short walk to the Magnificent Mile on Michigan, but don't miss the great stores on Rush that are just outside your door.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LarryWilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear LarryWilder,

Thank you so much for posting your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your suite, the view from your balcony and the hotel’s location. I am so humbled by your comments regarding our service team as well. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you and your travel companion when your travels next bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Excellent stay for our anniversary, great location for shopping/dining. Upgraded to room on top floor. Room had separate living room, large bedroom and bathroom. Bathroom was all marble with a soaker tub. Balcony view was nice. Spa was awesome. Breakfast at Balsan was good. First stay at a Waldorf and was not disappointed. Wife loved her massage and recommended spa to multiple friends. Overall we couldn't have stayed at a more beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Visit the spa even if not booked for a treatment
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Ctrigg1,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago to celebrate such a special occasion. We are very humbled by your kind comments and truly delighted to read that you both enjoyed your suite, the view from your balcony, our different amenities in the room, our restaurant Balsan, and that you had a very relaxing time in our Spa. We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you and your wife back, hopefully very soon.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Waldorf Astoria in Chicago is a luxurious hotel in downtown Chicago steps away from north mitchigan avenue which is the main shopping street in town. The hotel is quite close to the lakeshore and major parks of the city. Hotel has a spa including a well equipped gym and a lap pool. There is only one restaurant in the hotel which is a casual bistro serving breakfast lunch and dinner. Staff is helpful and very friendly. Special thanks go to James who served s breakfast with efficiency and a smile. Common areas are beautiful and decorated with style. We were in the Astoria suite which is spacious and well equipped with all amenities including a microwave.

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank myself-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear myself-7,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the Astoria Suite, the hotel’s location and all of the unique amenities that the Waldorf has to offer. I am also happy to read that our service team efficiently assisted you throughout your stay, especially James. We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you when your travels next bring you to Chicago either on business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

What more can I say. I love great service and from the bartenders, spa employees, to the repair men I was overwhelmed at how each person made a tremendous effort to make sure I was welcome and everything was perfect. I especially liked how gratuity is included so no more carrying around change specifically to tip. The room was spacious, clean, fantastic sheets, comfortable pillows and mattress. Next time I stay in Chicago this will be on the top of my list.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear NY1620,

Thank you so much for posting your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are so humbled by your comments regarding our service team. Feedback like yours truly inspires us to continue to strive for Excellence in everything we do. We are so delighted to learn that your enjoyed your room, with all of its different amenities, and our no tipping policy. Our philosophy of service is to serve without expecting anything in return. We can’t wait to welcome you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews