We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #14 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!!!!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went to Chicago for the IMTS machine show and stayed at the Waldorf what a wonderful experience from the get go. The hotel is beautiful they upgraded us to a king suite with beautiful views off the balcony. The staff was friendly and helpful in every way from getting us an umbrella to giving directions and reservations to some fabulous restaurants and attractions!!! Clean and within walking distance to most everything just a fantastic experience!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovelyLexi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear LovelyLexi2010,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am so delighted to read that you enjoyed your suite, our hotel’s location and that our service team was able to efficiently assist you throughout your visit. We will look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Chicago either on business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,892
    226
    109
    34
    22
See reviews for
542
939
116
414
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My first stay at a WA. Suffice it to say that it won't be my last. Initially we had planned to stay at another hotel. We changed because the other hotel had no more suites and I was bringing along the family (wife + 3 kids) for some time off. I'm really glad we did. The suite itself was fantastic - well designed and some nice touches, like the light switches with various dimming settings and which could control lights in various rooms, plus a TV in the bathroom mirror to catch the news while brushing your teeth. Service was impeccable - all the staff were helpful and friendly. They also helped us to arrange for a babysitter (who was also excellent). Facilities were very nice - we had a chance to dip in the lap pool a bit. Just wonderful. One of the best hotel experiences I've had. And I've had a few.

Needless to say, it was a bit more expensive, but if this is what it's like to stay at a WA the premium is well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trip_guyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear trip_guyToronto,

Thank you so kindly for posting your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are so delighted to read that we were able to accommodate you and your family with the right kind of suite and that you truly enjoyed it. It’s also a pleasure to learn that the team was able to assist you with your babysitter needs, that you enjoyed all of the different hotel amenities and that you and your family would like to visit the hotel again. We truly value your loyalty and can’t wait to welcome you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Checking into the hotel, I was greeted with a warm friendly set of faces at the desk. There is a courtyard in the front for stressless parking and unloading. Most rooms have a great balcony and furniture! My room had a fireplace that the staff was happy to turn on for us. The rooms were very upto date and had been built with no expence spared. we usualy stay at one of the four seasons which are very nice but I will be back again to this wonderful hotel. Walk out the door and you are in the middle of Michigan and Rush for shopping and dinners. what a great stay.

Room Tip: Had a beutiful corner suite on a high floor for a great view of the city and the lake. The higher y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Misonix,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay during your last visit to the Windy City. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your room, with all of its unique amenities, the hotel’s location and that you will be visiting us again sometime in the near future. We will certainly be looking forward to our next opportunity to serve you when your travels next bring you to Chicago, either on business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is quite simply wonderful. The service impeccable, the quality of the rooms outstanding. If you can afford it, you should. It's located close to Rush Street restaurants and within walking distance of the Magnificant Mile.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear dbuley,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are so humbled by your comments regarding our service staff and the quality of our rooms. We can’t wait to welcome you and your travel companion back, hopefully very soon!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

First time visit to Chicago and picked the Waldorf for my stay.

The hotel is fantastic with top notch service. The rooms are spacious with all ameneties required to give you an at home feeling. I love the tv in the mirror.

The hotel is roughly two blocks off Michigan Avenue which has some great shopping and restaurants. The shops around this property are also great not to mention some good food choices.

Nothing bad can be said as the Waldorf kind of speaks for iteself.

Will be back in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kylevancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear kylevancity,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay on your first visit to the Windy City. We are so thrilled to read that you enjoyed your room; the TV in the mirror is one of our guests’ favorite amenities, and the hotel’s location. We truly value your loyalty.
We will look forward to our next opportunity to serve you, hopefully in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed for one night and was upgraded because of my HHonors Diamond to a junior suite. Room was extremely comfortable with a fireplace. The bathroom was large and quite modern.

Overall stay was good and would definitely return !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetsetter1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear jetsetter1k,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your suite and our hotel’s modern décor. We will look forward to welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to Chicago either on business or pleasure!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here on a free night with Hilton Honors. Definately the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at. We were upgraded to an enormous suite that was very quiet, elegantly furnished. It had the largest bathroom I think I've ever seen. What made the visit really special, though, was the service. For example, when swimming with my daughter, someone brought pool toys to us and then bottled water a few minutes later - without asking! The kids loved the fact that the room had free popcorn and rootbeers as well as a card informing them about the free cookies that they could order - specially baked and delivered to the room of course. The staff greeted us by name even though we were only there 24 hours. How you provide these levels of customer service I've no idea - but it was extremely impressive. My only problem is that the kids are now spoilt forever - they will never stay in another hotel like the 'Waldorf Hysteria,' as they pronouced it. My 8 year old has informed me, though, that she is saving up her money so we can all move into the hotel when she grows up.
I also recommend the cupcake-wars winning Sprinkles cupcakes across the street - if you look at their website and quote the word of the day - you'll get a free cupcake!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank miljones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear miljones1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are truly humbled by your kind comments regarding our service team. Feedback like yours truly inspires us to continuously strive for excellence in everything we do. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your suite, with all of its unique amenities, our pool and that your kids also enjoyed their special treats. We will look forward to welcoming you and your family back when your travels next bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,346 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,467 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,596 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing