We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding night hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #14 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding night hotel”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked a room here for our wedding. The lobby desk is quiet and the woman who helped us was very nice- not snooty at all. My husband had ordered flowers, champagne and strawberries and all were in place. The room was gorgeous- very elegant and serene. Everything was so spotless I wondered how they can keep it that clean. It was also unbelievably quiet- no hallway noise, no traffic noise. The marble bath was gorgeous and there is a huge soaking tub. I have stayed in a few really nice hotels. This would be in the top 2 with the Beverly Hills hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Mary M,

Thank you so dearly for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago to celebrate such an important occasion in your and your now spouse’s life. I truly hope that we assisted making it a little more special and memorable. I am delighted to learn that you found your room, with all of its unique amenities, peaceful and enjoyable. We are humbled to learn that we are now one of your top two favorite hotels. We will look forward to our next opportunity to properly serve you both so that we can hopefully escalate to the very top of your list.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,890
    226
    109
    34
    22
See reviews for
541
939
116
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa,Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed in. Definitely, could be rated Michelin five peaks red in our opinion.
Rooms (all suites) are luxurious and beautifully decorated (tasteful modern). Service was amazing and tips were refused. Yes tips were refused!!! Location is perfect, one block to Michigan Ave and the start of the Magnificent mile ( and Bloomingdale for shoppers).
Many restaurants in the areas (especially Gibson's, Hugo's Bar and Lou Manelti's for pizza). Walgreen and Starbucks across the street.
Now would not stay anywhere else in Chicago.
(N.B. unfortunately RIA restaurant in the Hotel is now closed).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ocean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear ocean23,

Thank you so much for posting your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your room, our décor and the hotel’s location. It is our true pleasure to assist our guests without expecting anything in return. Our best reward is to experience our guests' satisfaction and desire to visit with us again.

RIA is indeed closed, however, we have commenced a new exciting project in that space and our Executive Chef is fully focused on the evolution of our menus in Balsan, Bernard’s and soon, our Spa. I hope you can soon try some of its delectable offerings. We will look forward to serving you and your travel companion again in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed there the week before mothers day and all I can say is this place is amazing! We had a wonderful experience! The gentleman working the front desk was a bit snooty but we didn't let that ruin our stay.

The rooms are the cleanest we've ever seen. They place little bottles of evian drinking water next to the bed every night. We requested a crib for our baby and it was similar to the one we have at home! Was very impressed :)

Bathrooms were large and impeccable. They had a separate shower, spa tub and there was a glass door separating the toilet for privacy. The valet staff was very attentive and efficient! They offered us umbrellas on days that were looking a little gloomy which was a nice touch.

Will definitely stay there again! Had a fantastic trip!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Carmish1,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room, with all of its unique amenities, our valet service, and that our team was able to efficiently assist you in time of need. We are delighted to hear that you are planning to join us again. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Let me start by saying, I travel a lot! A whole lot, for work as well as pleasure. As such I stay in a lot of hotels. I have NEVER, EVER stayed in a hotel this nice. That includes Trump Towers in Vegas and New York! This place blows the doors off of both, for one reason the staff! The service, the staff the "gentlemanly" approach was unreal. You owe it to yourself to experience this place. We have decided to return at least once a year. Wow! Wow! Wow!!

Room Tip: Use the service car they provide. (First come first serve and a two mile radius.) The Spa is awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear James W,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago to celebrate such a special day. We are all sincerely humbled by your kind comments regarding our service team. Feedback like yours truly encourages us to continue to strive for excellence in our daily performance. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your room, the SPA and our house car service. We will certainly look forward to our next opportunity to serve you and your travel companion when your travels next bring you Chicago. .

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband, 4year old, 7 month old and I just returned from a wonderful 4-night stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago, and we didn't want to leave!! Every one of the staff there should pat themselves on the back for their hospitality towards my family and I.

We were nervous to travel with the 7 month old as she's much more demanding than I remember my first when it comes to her schedule, but they were more than accommodating. We loved our room, and it was wonderful to have the crib... the only recommendation I have is to position the dresser somewhere different as we bumped into the hardware a few times :| But that's really just a recommendation, not a complaint!

We loved that the pool was available for children and especially that floaters were made available. My 4 year old had a blast.

The hotel location also was great for us and we enjoyed using the complimentary house car to our destination, then had a nice walk back to the hotel up "Magnificent Mile"!!!

Lastly I wanted to say a big THANK-YOU to everyone there for making us feel at home! We will certainly be back, and we hope to have the same experience!!! Just maybe this time we'll splurge a little on a separate bedroom and maybe an additional night or 2!! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brighteyes07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear brighteyes07,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago on TripAdvisor. We are so humbled by your kind comments in regards to our service team. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your suite, our pool and our house car service. It was our pleasure to serve you and your family and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were last at the Waldorf two years ago when it was known as the Elysian. Not much has changed which is a plus and a minus. Check in a breeze. Martin does a great job at the front desk. Location outstanding. Staff first class. Gym very nice but not as equipped as the Park Hyatt. Spa perfect.

Our 1200 square foot suite was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Bathroom as one would expect. An exceptional value.

The bar was a pleasant surprise. Dimly lit but very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Our server Rachel was professional and competent. A real pro. I wish the same could be said for the breakfast fare. Maybe the worst food ever in a luxury hotel. The omelets were a disgrace on two consecutive mornings. I asked for a banana with my yogurt and received a six dollar up charge. Do yourself a favor and eat somewhere else, however inconvenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioMaranello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear OhioMaranello,

Thank you so much for joining us back at the Waldorf Astoria Chicago. We truly value your loyalty. I regret to learn that your experience in our restaurant Balsan was disappointing. Your feedback is tremendously appreciated as we continuously strive for improvement and excellence in our products and daily performance. Your comments about your breakfast fare were brought to our Chef’s attention.

I am delighted to hear, however, that you enjoyed your suite and our bar, Bernard’s. Your kind comments about Rachel and Martin will certainly be shared with them and the rest of the team. We will look forward to welcome you and your friends back when your travels next bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Recently spent a weekend at this hotel and was very thrilled with everything. The only thing I could say was wish we were there for a week! The staff was wonderful, courteous, professional in a warm manner. Our king suite was amazing. Spacious and well decorated. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. Unfortunately did not have the chance to use the spa but did have a tour and looked lovely. Would love to come back and visit. Pricey but you get what you pay for!

Karen M, Ontario

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAChicago, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Karen M,

Thank you so much for choosing the Waldorf Astoria Chicago as your hotel of stay during your last visit to Chicago. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your suite, the hotel’s décor and that our team was able to graciously assist you. I hope you can experience our SPA next time you visit with us. We truly value your loyalty. We will look forward to welcoming you and your travel companion back very soon!

Sincerely,
Richard R. Evanich
General Manager
Tel: (312) 646-1300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,341 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 190 in Chicago
1,466 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 190 in Chicago
1,592 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing