We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some lapses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #15 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Some lapses”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Beautiful clean and quiet room with soothing colors and a gorgeous bath after the warmest arrival greetings possible. This hotel is very good, but there were problems worth mention.

The Astoria Suite had an odd furniture arrangement with bed encroaching a large desk and large bedside table rendering them nearly unusable. Don't expect to get desk work done in this type suite. Agree with the comments of some previous guests that televisions (all three) in the suite suffered from digital pixilation and stuttering starts/stops that never could be fixed.

Service lapses were enough to mention. There was a lost dinner, with claims from room service (after an hour) that it was delivered. Finally retrieved, the food was room temperature. Also, there were three occasions the concierge was occupied with personal calls that seemed non-essential. We did get calls to the room in a short time, but then a confirmed request for a car to the airport the following day resulted in the front desk having no record of the car being ordered on departure.

Room Tip: Avoid Astor Suites if you have work to do on a desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelteam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,868
    223
    109
    33
    22
See reviews for
533
929
114
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Had breakfast for two at the restaurant. There was absolutely no atmosphere and very little in the way of special touches (nice table settings, linens, etc.) I get the whole minimalist thing but this was just cheap. Food was ok. Both had bacon, eggs, a bagel , and juice. Bill, with gratuity automatically added in was over $100. Just skip it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blkcamaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I live in Western Michigan and flew out of Chicago on a trip to Jamaica on the return trip instead of driving back home after a late night return flight. We decided to spend the weekend in Chicago at the Waldorf Astoria. Oh Boy.. This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in…..and I’ve stayed at Trump’s hotel in NYC and Chicago and the Peninsular in Chicago, along with the New York Palace.
The service here blows the others away. We stayed in room 2403 a suite, I could live here the view was of the Miracle Mile. All of the shopping is nearby along with great places to eat. We ordered room service the first day and the coffee was delicious. The Alafia containers they kept the coffee in kept the coffee hot for 3 hours. The room had a drop dead gorgeous bathroom with Ferragamo toiletries which are the best! The mirror in the bath had a flat screen TV in the mirror. Along with two other top notch flat screen s in the Living room and bedroom. The linen was so soft and modern. The bed was very comfortable and the suite had 1 ½ baths which made for a happy Mrs. . The shower was huge and the water was nice and hot quick. The Valet’s, door man and desk staff were all professional and friendly. This place could be stuffy but it is not. The spa and gym were to die for..First rate new equipment with a killer locker room and spa. The décor of the hotel is first rate and very calming and relaxing. If I were a Pro athlete playing in Chicago, not living there in the off season I would live here during the season.
Now the bar here is very nice with all of the high ends liquor.. I mean high end. Pappy van Winkle bourbon at $300 a bottle and $50 pours. The room is nicely decorated but a little on the small size, my suite was larger than the bar. All of the suites have balconies, so no cigar smokers outside in front of the hotel because you can smoke in your room on the balcony. During our stay there were two weddings we ran into one of the brides on the elevator…..Her dress must have been in excess of 20 grand she looked beautiful.
This is a special occasion hotel. For romance or business. If you take a client here they will be impressed in an impressive city.
I am spoiled after staying here it is all downhill for other hotels I may stay in especially for work.
This hotel is rated the number one hotel in the USA, I see why now!
The only downside was the Sunday brunch with a limited menu and bad espresso. However the prices weren’t bad. There are better places in the area…one disappoint is that there fine dining restaurant was closed for breakfast this is a mistake as the room is beautiful. The food and service for Brunch is better at the Peninsular and especially at the Trump.
Stay at the Waldorf and eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a suite on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Words can not describe how wonderful it was to stay at the Waldorf Astoria (aka Elysian). With the help of Al at the front desk, I was able to fool my soon to be wife into coming with me to Chicago for a manger's meeting. Needless to say, she had no clue what was about to happen to her. The hotel and the room was simple amazing. I picked out a suite that came with a fireplace and it was breath taking. For those staying there, you must go and check out their on-site restaurant RIA ( 2 star Michelin). You will not be disappointed. Thanks again to Al and the staff for helping me make that weekend so special. Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesr Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We recently stayed for a three night stay to celebrate our anniversary. Like others there was a bit of a concern with the corporate name change. We were quickly convinced there was no reason for concern. The entire staff was wonderful and always helpful. When we asked for a cab we were offered the house car which was complimentary. The fitness area/spa were a treat not to be missed. Fabulous location with easy walking to so many activities. Would be hard pressed to see how anyone could not give 5 stars to this hotel! The bed is one I would love to take home and keep!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danbear52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I originally reviewed this property in 2011. Subsequent to that review, this hotel changed its name from the Elysian to the Waldorf Astoria. I was concerned that the quality and service might change with new ownership. I am happy to report that the hotel in all aspects is as excellent as it was under the Elysian name.

One of the small issues that makes this such a wonderful place to stay is the "No Tipping" policy. This policy remains the same. I will not be redundant with my comments from last time. You may review it or comments left by others regarding the consistency in quality that makes the hotel stand above all others.

Room Tip: Here is a Room Tip: When you check in, if you have reserved the one bedroom luxury suite, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volleyball4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just finished a night here with my last Q4 FN certificate. Outstanding property and terrific staff. This is the hotel you would like to stay entire time of your stay without even thinking about going out.

Checked in and was greeted as a diamond member. Room was assigned to original booking (King Deluxe), but after politely asked about upgrade, the front desk lady was unsure and went back to check with her manager. When she came out, I was told upgraded to a Waldorf Suite on east side of the 26th floor!

As a reward stay, I didn't expect too much but this hotel has surprised me in every possible aspects. The staff is trained with top notch courtesy and professionalism; the details of decor are flawless.

The best and yet the most unbelievable part: no tips accepted everywhere in the hotel, except Balsan (restaurant on 3rd floor) that automatically adds 18% gratuity to your entire bill.

The house car offers a convenient transportation alternative, with only three restrictions: (1) only drop off, no pick up; (2) first come, first serve, no reservation can be made beforehand; (3) only drive within 2-mile radius of the hotel.

Now the downside, the room itself is just a junior suite (anyway, this is a free upgrade for a reward stay and I am totally okay with it), but if you want to throw a party by counting on a "spacious" upgrade to a Waldorf suite, you may have to think about it again; the hotel is surrounded by skyscrapers so that the lake view is minimal, if there is any.

Other than that, no wonder it is the number 1 hotel in Chicago (by TA) and totally worth your every point/buck!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wende L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,304 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
1,445 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
1,573 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing