We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great property and excellent service...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great property and excellent service...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We were very excited to visit the Elysian Hotel after hearing the reviews. The property is lovely, beautiful lobby, restaurants and spa. Our room was a large corner suite (we were upgraded) with a large balcony, a fireplace, separate living area, beautiful marble bathroom with a TV imbedded in the vanity mirror and other upscale amenities. I especially appreciate the "no tipping" policy and the gracious staff. We had a near perfect experience with just a couple of minor hiccups that were resolved immediately. I have stayed at the Four Seasons and the Peninsula; the Elysian is my favorite.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank incognitodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,829
    218
    107
    32
    20
See reviews for
524
908
111
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

I loved everything about this hotel and the service was amazing. The only issue was the expectations I had from reading some of the previous reviews. Many people talked about the complimentary upgrades if you belonged to preferred hotels (which I do). When I asked about this, they said all they could do was certain upgrades for a fee. I maybe had my expectations to high for that extra service & other little things from what I've read. I found the overall service great, especially the concierge & service staff. So take this review with a grain of salt, but I can say I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Elysian was the third hotel we stayed in during our visit to Chicago, and it made our visit special. The hotel is in a nice area. The hotel staff are beautiful people who obviously love working there, and the service was top class. Our suite was lovely, the spa and gym were terrific, and we frequented the bistro which was great too. Our first hotel was Ritz-Carlton (small room, small gym, no atmosphere, overpriced) and the second was the conference hotel which was drab but convenient for a few days...so glad we found Elysian!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
200 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We travel to Chicago frequently and are regulars at a nearby hotel, but decided to try the Elysian this time.Very light, pretty new hotel in a great location. Short walk to highest level Chicago shopping and restaurants. Grand driveway entrance that is easy to pull in and out of - rare in that area of the city. Lobby is small and intimate compared to Peninsula or FS. We stayed in a Superior one bedroom suite with a terrace which was an upgrade. Bathroom was great, with Asprey amenities and TV behind the mirror was fun to have for morning news. Internet service was good and free. Parking is $50/ night which seemed high as it was equal to our BMW rental. Good sound system in the bedroom. We had a nice view of Hancock with partial lake view.We were told that this was one of the best views in the hotel. If that was the case both the FS ( equally good location) and even Trump ( closer to the loop) where I have stayed on prior trips have far superior/more dramatic lake/river/city views. I had booked the suite that was one room with a fireplace in the middle which definitely gives a more open feel and would recommend that room type. Spa/ gym/ locker area were excellent, pool is a one lane lap pool. Much bigger indoor pools at both the FS and Peninsula. Service is supposed to be great at this hotel. We were a a little disappointed. Two of four days we had trouble with the fireplace in the room and engineering had to come three times to fix it. The concierge was difficult to access by phone and we had to wait for them to return calls several times. They also left at 7 30 at night which was before our dinner hour made it difficult for dinner arrangements, adjustments in time, directions etc where we ended up working with the phone operator or calling for ourselves. In general they have a policy that anyone can help you with everything but that is not always the case in fact. Getting things like a plastic bag were more of a hassle than they should have been. They seem to try and want to help, but a phone operator or front desk staff is not a concierge or housekeeping. They are helpful and nice on the phone but don't always know what you want or if they have it so simple things take several calls. We went to the bar twice and the room was full. We waited 35 min for a drink and it came completely wrong ( martini instead of highball on the rocks as requested) with the waitress gushing about how great it was. After waiting so long we just paid took it and went up to the room in order to get out of a very small crowded space. Really not a great bar to bring another couple for drinks b/c on every night we were there it was difficult to seat for and get drinks. There are many nearby hotels that have great bars to host guests. Room service bkfst was fine. In the restaurant we had a very surly waitress who dropped a plate on my glasses, brought creme fraiche instead of sour cream with berries and insisted there was no sour cream in the hotel though we had it two prior days with room service and brought out 2 omeletes of 4 for the same table about five minutes apart and when asked about the others said she only had two hands. There is a great low-key neighborhood brkfst spot around the corner though - Tempo. We did not try the Michelin starred Ria b/c we were told by the concierge on the first of four nights that it would be difficult to get in between 7:45 and 9:00. We were surprised hotel guests don't have priority access to the restaurant so if you want to go, book at the time of your reservation. We requested and were told we could have a late checkout at 4:00 when we checked in. Then when we confirmed they asked if we could move it back to 3:00 b/c they had lots of other check-ins. We found this a little unusual but when we called back and asked if they could honor the original check-out time so we could shower before our flight in the room they were agreeable. We travel to Chicago frequently and may return to the Elysian b/c of the convenient location, depending on rates etc. However, there are nearby properties with much more seasoned staff, more available concierges for longer hours, easier access to restaurants etc that just seem to make things flow much more seamlessly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripindicular1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElysianHotel, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Guest,
I appreciated reading your comprehensive review of your recent stay with us and I apologize for the missed opportunities to serve you with a flawless stay. While it’s tough to read about our missteps, I view comments as a chance to correct, adjust and fine-tune the experience we provide. I hope you’ll allow me a chance to reach out to you privately so that I can introduce myself and ask what I can do to earn your return visit.
Kind Regards,
Kevin Robinson
General Manager
krobinson@elysianhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

I just stayed at the Elysian for 4 fabulous days. We were indulged in every way. The staff are warm, friendly and wonderfully accommodating. The room - we were in a gorgeous suite - was very luxurious. The windows actually open so you have fresh air as opposed to the continuous din of a fan. The Balsan restaurant was really good. Very close to everything and there isn't anything more you could ask for in a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinluxury54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElysianHotel, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the kind words describing your four day stay with us. We strive to create remarkable moments and we are humbled by recognition of our efforts. Come visit us again soon.
Regards,
Kevin Robinson
General Manager
krobinson@elysianhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

In a time when mediocrity often rules, the Elysian Hotel and Spa stands out as a pinnacle of the highest in quality and elegance. Located north of the Chicago River, the Elysian is close to great shopping, dining and entertainment. Every aspect of the hotel is of the highest calibre. The rooms are elegant, spacious and cozy. We spent two nights in a Gold Coast Suite and could have never left the room. From the warm fireplace, to the fantastic sound system, to the wonderful bathroom, this suite had everything you could want. During our entire stay we never heard a sound from another room or the hallway. Amazing!

One of the greatest high points of the Elysian is their staff! Everyone was exceptionally friendly, caring and ready to take care of every need we had. On two occasions I left items in my car and they retrieved them for me in minutes--and with a smile when they delivered them to our room. And when we needed advice for shopping and dinning, the staff at the concierge desk was spot on with suggestions. They even assisted by driving us to the Theater District for a show. Amazing service!

And not only is the hotel amazing, the Elysian has one--if not THE--best spas in the country! The facilities are top-notch and the staff are the best. Caring, sensitive and experts in their art. The Spa facilities are tremendous. You must take advantage of them during your stay. They are worth a visit even if you don't stay.

This experience is not an inexpensive one but I can think of no better place to recommend for a truly wonderful experience that will refresh, restore and pamper you and your love. We will be back!!!!!!

Room Tip: The Suiter Special is great! If you book one of the suites you get the second night free. Also, up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElysianHotel, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Chicago, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Guest,
You’ve covered quite a lot of detail in your review of our performance and I am especially proud of your recognition of our staff. They are the most important aspect of any hotel experience and I thank you for acknowledging their hard work. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Kevin Robinson
General Manager
krobinson@elysianhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Everything about this hotel is top-notch! The rooms are beyond beautiful, the service makes you feel like royalty, and the amenities are unparalleled! They do a great job. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The suites are sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thescottvanatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#10 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing