We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely taken care of”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Ranked #15 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Completely taken care of”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This hotel was exceptional in every meaning of the word. The staff could not be more friendly or professional. Upon arrival, I was greeted by a doorman who took care to gather my things and assist me to the front desk. Front desk staff made sure we had weekend plans and, if not, encouraged copious use of the concierge. Our room was spotless, modern, and elegant. Beds were comfortable and snuggly, and the bathroom products were wonderful - smelled great, washed well, etc. Taxi service couldn't have been more convenient - no need to call ahead, we never waited more than 2 minutes to get a taxi after requesting one upon walking out of the front door. The hotel bar, Bernanrds, had fantastic service with bartenders that would make drinks off-menu and a server who insisted on checking in to make sure all was well (but not annoyingly so like some other high-class establishments). Check-out was a breeze and bags were safely stored until later in the afternoon so we were baggage-free while exploring Chicago before our flight. Tipping of attendants was not accepted, 18% gratuity was added to almost all receipts I received from the hotel (room service, bar tab, etc). Taxi to/from O'Hare ~$50 with tip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,869
    224
    109
    33
    22
See reviews for
534
930
114
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Easily one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in anywhere. The flat panel television in the shower was the best surprise feature! The area is not the liveliest in town, but still close enough walking distance that you can reach major sights within 15-20 minutes. All in all, a terrific place to stay. Even on a rainy night! The only drawback was the cost of breakfast. For 2 people, a simple Eggs Benedict with potatoes and coffee ran us an unbelievable $100!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBStPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Magnificent hotel. Location, rooms, and most definitely the staff makes this the best in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7huskie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My daughter and I arrived in Chicago at 7Am, went to the hotel expecting to leave our bags at the desk, and they let us have our room! The staff was so gracious and friendly and not a bit pretentious, as one would expect in a hotel of this caliber. Stay there if you have a chance!

Room Tip: I booked through Jetsetter and had a fabulous room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

When traveling to Chicago this is a perfect hotel for location, amenities and information. It is a hotel that fits well with the city and celebrates the urban American landscape. We flew into O'hare airport and spend over a week here. The staff had plenty of good recommendations and there were many rests as well. The beds and the view were great and the room very spacious and quiet. Will stop here next time visiting Chicago U.S.A :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I stayed at the Elysian in March of this year and have been meaning to write a review since then! I booked a basic room...and there was nothing basic about it! It was the equivalent of a Junior suite (if not full suite) at other high end hotels. It had a separate sitting area with music and TV, a fireplace, a balcony a HUGEEE bathroom, plenty of closet space and of course a good sized bedroom. The service was wonderful and all inclusive..even when I tried to tip after they pressed a tux and a cocktail dress for me they would not accept. I visited the spa (I dont usualy viist hotel spas but was in a rush) and it was worth every penny! Great service.
The location is great, the building itself is very nicely appointed and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_HH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Elysian for a 'stay-cation,' we both live in Chicago. From the moment we were picked up by the car service we were swept off our feet! The Hotel is beautiful, decorated with sleek modern decor, but also comfortable. All of the employees were extremely friendly, and not at all rude or condescending. I do not believe we are normally the clientale to stay at this pricey Hotel, but they made us feel as though we belonged there just as much as the richest person in the world. I mentioned to our driver that I wanted to go somewhere for dessert after our dinner, but no places would still be open....when we arrived to our room we were greeted with Four cupcakes from Sprinkles!
We also went to the Hotel bar before dinner, and I fell in love with their salty chips, and I was given a bag of chips to take home with me!
And last, but not least the best surprise...after arriving back to the room after dinner, we found a bottle of white wine chilling on the living room table for us to enjoy! The hotel was filled with wonderful surprises, and the whole experience is due to the wonderfully attentative staff! I hope to go back once every year for a romantic 'stay-cation!'

Room Tip: Every room is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,304 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
1,446 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 189 in Chicago
1,573 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Chicago

Property: Waldorf Astoria Chicago
Address: 11 East Walton, Chicago, IL 60611-1412 (Formerly Elysian Hotel Chicago)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five-Diamond Waldorf Astoria Chicago(formerly The Elysian Hotel)is located in the heart of the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood amognst the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street famed restaurants, retailers and lakefront. The award-winning 215 room hotel through innovative services and technologies, creates a new experience in luxury – energetic and fashion forward, warm and welcoming, and fresh and engaging. Amenities include a 14,000 square-foot spa & health club; 7,500 square feet of private event space; Bernard's Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing