We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast”

State and Lake Chicago Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
State and Lake Chicago Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #284 of 9,675 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Transit: Red Line: State and Lake Brown/Purple/Green/Orange Line: State and Lake Blue Line: Clark and Lake
Description: Led by award-winning Executive Chef Nathan Sears, sleek contemporary gastropub State and Lake Chicago Tavern combines the flare of artisanal American cuisine with the warm, welcoming vibe of a neighborhood pub. Named after the iconic intersection in the heart of the city, State and Lake Chicago Tavern serves up new twists on bistro fare, with an emphasis on featuring the finest locally sourced and wholesome ingredients.
New York, New York
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

service can be uneven, one day I had fantastic service, the next it was abysmal. Change of staff?
the pancakes are terrific.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    111
    59
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brielle, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just what I was Looking for!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

During my Feb 2013 visit to Chicago, I was looking for a breakfast place and so wanted a Bloody Mary. Looking on line, I found that just a short walk from Inn of Chicago, State and Lake offered breakfast.

While I've walked past State and Lake before, this was my first trip inside, and I found it cozy. There were just a couple of patrons that morning, I was greeted warmly, my server was friendly and attentive, and the hash and eggs hit the spot. The Bloody Mary? Both were perfect!

Thanks State and Lake...I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeXit98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great pub for drinks & food”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Ate lunch here on an extended business trip and really enjoyed the experience.

There is a great selection of local beers, good wine & drink choices for every season.

The food is better than I expected, with food being more than pub food, although that is the main thrust. I found the house made pickles great, some great dipping sauces for fries and helpful friendly staff to serve it up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilandSaraF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Breakfast!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is hands down the best breakfast place in a hotel that I have been too. It is not cheap, about $15 per person but that is pretty average for a sit down breakfast in Chicago. The hash is awesome!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lauraleigh9mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at the Wit during my trip to Chicago and popped in the restaurant for dinner. After reading the menu, I saw it was a bit pricey for my taste however the wine I had was great and decently priced. The ambiance is great as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State and Lake Chicago Tavern also viewed

 

Been to State and Lake Chicago Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing