We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views”
Review of Chicago Water Taxi

Chicago Water Taxi
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.33*
and up
Chicago River Walk Tours
Ranked #1 of 31 Transportation in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are Chicago's river transportation service. An iconic fleet of black and yellow boats, we serve all three branches of the Chicago River from March to November. Our stops include Michigan Avenue, Chinatown, North Avenue, Clark and LaSalle, The Chicago Riverwalk, and Union and Ogilvie Train Station. There is no better way to get around Chicago than by boat!
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Grab the water taxi to head to Navy Pier, as we were the only ones on board, the host gave us a great commentary, pointing out all of Chicago's amazing history and beautiful architecture. Stories of Al Capone, prohibition, and every day Chicago life. Looking up at the buildings from the water gives a whole new perspective and to see the river lit up by the reflecting lights was awesome.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    221
    30
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Great Way To See Chicago”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Highly recommended! Take the time to take a water taxi - especially if you have nowhere specific to go! For just $8 for one ride (all-day passes are available), it's a great way to sail down the Chicago River and admire the beautiful architecture of the city.

From Navy Pier you can take a taxi out into the harbour to the Shedd Aquarium. On a sunny day in clear waters, passing the hundreds of boats, with the skyline in the background, it's a half-hour that's tough to beat in any city.

Alternatively, take the water taxi from navy Pier to Sears (Willis) Tower. With a couple of stops, including Michican Ave, it's possible to get off and eat at one of the riverside cafes / restaurants before continuing. The architecture is stunning, and ending up at Sears Tower and Union Station makes for a wonderful way to spend part of your day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank CobbleSoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I know it's for locals but ....”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

You really have to ride this. There is nothing like getting to know a city by the water than by going into the water.

We found stairs to get to the launch but I was worried about buying tickets so I sent my husband ahead. Not a problem. We had a staff member help us purchase our tickets to Michigan Avenue and then stepped outside to wait and that's when I gasped! It was so amazing to see the Lyric Opera House. I love architecture and so was completely wowed.

Boarding was quick and easy and the ride quick and smooth. I was spinning around and around, trying to get pictures of all the buildings. I would definately utilize this again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great way to travel”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We took the water taxy from down town Chicago to china town and it was great! We paid $8.00 for an all day ticket! Loved it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi2177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Water taxi ride”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

First time in Chicago. Had been walking, taking the train. Decided to go to Chinatown per the yellow water taxi. It was really nice, peaceful. A nice walk to the main drag of Chinatown, which
is very quiet compared to SF/LA/NY Chinatowns. Great price and a nice way to travel. It was
August and the weather throughout our week stay was very nice, not too hot or too smuggy.
Price is very reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RatingsfromMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicago Water Taxi also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Water Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing