We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nearly as wretched as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Ranked #72 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not nearly as wretched as expected”
Reviewed October 6, 2009

This place could have been a lot worse - I needed a room in the neighborhood at the last minute, and was certain I'd be sleeping amongst the denziens of Chicago's homeless.

The check in experience is pretty spartan - it's automated, parking is a joke, and the elevator situation is comical it's so difficult. The rooms are really tiny, but newly renovated, and actually pretty cool. Somewhat European in design and overall economy. The location is pretty cool, and believe it or not, this hotel snob would actually stay there again. It stops just short of "I'd take my wife there" but it's ok in a pinch.

Give it a shot if everything else is taken.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank segs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    491
    145
    73
    33
See reviews for
173
464
159
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We booked this on priceline. If you read lnphantom's review, it sounds like they booked on priceline too. Priceline gets you one room with a bed, if you want to fit four in a room don't be a cheap..... and put two people in two rooms. We booked on priceline and would love to stay here again. We stayed at the Intercontinental last month, and I have to say despite the smaller rooms i would prefer club quarters over them. The rooms are very quiet and clean. The location is great, just a short walk from the L and half block from Michigan. They let you have free bottled water. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small, but hey, when I am in Chicago i only sleep in them anyway. I slept very good while there.
The free use of the computers is very helpful also. You can check in and print off your flight passes. There are some nice eating places nearby. Give them a try but don't expect a huge room. It is more of the European sized room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ativan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at Club Quarters. It was no Sheraton which is down 2 blocks down and gorgeous decor, but they Club Quarters was functional, clean, and they did not nickel and dime you like larger hotel chains.

I checked in via a computer (with staff helping me) and it was very easy. There were upgrades avail to go to a suite level for $15 but I stuck to my simple room. It was small. Good enough for one person. The room had a large shower with shower curtain - no tub.

They had free internet in the rooms and brought me an ethernet cord for my laptop whose wireless card is not very good. They have a filtered water system in the hallways and empty waterbottles for every guest to help themselves. Usually internet is $10-$15 a day and water is $5 - $7 a bottle. I just really like how this hotel included it all for free!

I did not check out the gym, but know it was included as well as a lounge and business area.

Great location off of N Wacker.

For business travelers I highly reccommend. If you are going to Chicago for vacation, I would get a larger room.

For the price you pay, I was very impressed with the Club Quarters and will stay at this location again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackStar926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Recently stayed 7 nights @ Club Quarters on Wacker Dr in Chicago.
Beautiful Views & Great Location
Yes the rooms are small but very clean, the staff was extremely friendly, the security was great and the convenience of guest amenities (free water, ironing board, coffee supplies) was abundant and easy to access. Did experience Internet problems but it was fixed. Fantastic views of Trump Tower & Marina City and the Chicago River.
Easy access to all public transportation and easy walking distance to many of the cities best features. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank GolightlyPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We booked a double in order to share rooms. When checking in however, we were given a queen and had to go down to the lobby again to complain for getting what we had ordered. The staff was not particularly helpful (asking why we could not sleep together in the queen) but in the end gave us a double. Just a side note: they did not mention the 15$ surcharge for the second person until we checked out. The room was pretty standard, nice but a little small. We had a very nice view over the river. What was particularly cool is that they offer filtered water on each floor.

Service however was really poor. Towels were not replaced, soap and shower gel had to be ordered on the phone because not even empty bottles were replaced by the staff. There is a complimentary laundry (washing machine and dryer) in the basement. However, there was no detergent. After calling the reception and asking for some, the promised it right away. It took us about an hour to get the detergent in the end.

The last thing was the internet. There is wifi in the rooms but it is so incredibly slow and unreliable that we could not really use it at all. A plus though is the fact that it is possible to print documents from your laptop for free.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bioko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We booked a room for a week at the Club Quarters at Wacker and Michigan - it was the designated hotel for a wedding we were attending.

We booked a studio with queen bed and kitchenette with the intent of saving money by preparing our own breakfasts and lunches. We arrived and we told we would have a nice view of the Chicago River. We got to our room and found a view of the office building next door. Our bed was double instead of queen and the kitchenette was a tiny microwave, sink and bar fridge situated right outside the bathroom and along the hallway so that you were right in everyone's way. The room was small and cramped and there was no space to eat. So much for prepping our own meals. We called and asked if we could be moved to a larger suite and were told they were all booked.

The bath was only a 3-piece, which was not advertised on the website. The staff kept forgetting to stock us with clean towels and toilet paper, and we had to call down to the front desk for them.

The free wifi only worked 50% of the time - a real problem if we'd been travelling for business.

All in all, our stay there was not worth the rate we paid and we will not stay there again or recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50ftqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We found this hotel to be a great choice if you don't want to spend $$$ for staying in an upscale hotel. The location is perfect. In fact, it couldn't be better. The hotel is located on the river, across from Wrigley building.

The hotel is in a nice building, constructed in 1920's.

Staff is very professional and friendly.

Rooms are not fancy, but clean and are far from basic. My wife enjoyed down duvet.

Free bottles of filtered water is a nice touch.

Ask for the rooms with river view. It's amazing.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shtirlits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 189 in Chicago
1,008 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#63 Business Hotel in Chicago
#72 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan is a superbly located hotel, which resides in the legendary Mather Tower. Built in 1928, the hotel features state-of-the-art amenities and attentive, but never overbearing, service. Just one block from the world-famous Magnificent Mile and steps from the Chicago River, guests will delight in the fact that the hotel is characteristically Chicago yet uncharacteristically priced. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker At Michigan Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing