We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Ranked #90 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Entirely satisfied with this property. While the room was very, very small, it was just fine given the limited time that I spent in it while in Chicago on business. The desk staff was "over-the-top" efficient and generally pleasant. The bedding was new and of good quality. The room, although teeny, could have been greatly enhanced by a single comfortable chair which would have made all the difference to me. The only place to sit was poorly designed with an attached desktop that reminded me of cheap institutional furniture, much like you'd find in a college study lounge. Otherwise though, the location can't be beat for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myredjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    404
    117
    57
    25
See reviews for
122
363
116
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
263 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed here for the Rock n Roll Chicago Half Marathon in July. The location is great, right by Michigan Avenue, State Street and the El. There's plenty of restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. The hotel itself does have a business area to print off boarding passes, check email, etc. The rooms are a variety of sizes so you can either have a suite room or standard size room (read a room with a bed to a room with a bed and a sitting area). The hotel is clean and well kept and the staff is incredibly friendly. I arrived early and was able to check in before the check in time. Definitely a good night sleep in this hotel! There's also a self check in/check out kiosk area and they'll hold your bags for you. I'd go back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prescott, ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

For the price this place is great. While the rooms are small, the location is great and service is very good. I have eaten at the Italian restaurant located on the first floor and the food was relatively inexpensive and adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Club Quarters could actually be a REALLY cool hotel. The building is old and the lobby has beautiful character. The rooms are TINY! I took my Mom to Chicago to celebrate her 60th birthday. The first room they placed us in was literally like a small room on a cruise ship with 1 bed. We requested to be switched to a room with 2 beds, they were happy to accomodate. We were surprised when we arrived to our new room that it was 2 TWIN beds!! I had never experienced that before...even in Europe! That being said, the room was clean (most important thing), value was great and it was close to the Mag Mile. So if you're looking for cheap and easy, I highly recommend. If the hotel does some minor upgrades I'd give it 4 stars!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karalyn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were so impressed with the fabulous location -- just walk outside and across the and across the street and you're on the Magnificent Mile! Also super close to the House of Blues, Trump Towers, and other great Chicago icons like the Chicago Tribune and NBC building. So many options within a 5-10 minute walk.

Rooms were nicely-appointed, clean, and quiet. Like most CQ locations, rooms were on the smaller size, but still have everything you need. The 2nd floor "Club Living Room" had great work spaces, free printing and wifi and rentable iPads.

We loved the inexpensive restaurants inside the hotel lobby (a cute, comfy Italian cafe and bar) and next door (the Corner Cafe, a casual dining similar to Panera, but less commercial, with delicious hot chocolate, baked goods, soups, pastas and sandwiches).

Best of all -- we got a great deal for the night. Less than $150, including parking, which is great for this location!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank readaboutmytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicagoland, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stay here when I am in Chicago for an overnight shopping or theater weekend stay. There is not a grand lobby or staircase but a small comfortable elevator lobby. The rooms are on the smallish side but are well appointed, clean and comfortable. I was recently assigned a room with a lovely view of the Chicago River. The hotel is only steps away from the magnificent mile in one direction and about the same distance from the loop and the theater district in the other direction. I have found staff to be efficient and professional. I think this is the best hotel value in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a budget hotel and does that VERY well. It is extremely well designed, with sleek, well coordinated and contemporary room interiors, combined with a dreamy white marble entry staircase, and elegant artwork. But it is the extra features I appreciate, such as good lighting and adequate shelving in the bathroom, in addition to all standard items. The location can't be beat. I was sent here when I came for a meeting by a national organization and they chose well. The hotel feels like a boutique hotel, with its friendly staff and cozy second floor, lounge, with LOTS of free munchies, coffee, tea and sodas. One feels at home. Unless you have five star pretentions, make Club Quarters at 75 Wacker your choice for downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the river are a bit more expensive than those toward the back. We were offered an upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MUNTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#63 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Downtown / The Loop
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
Hard Rock Hotel Chicago
#109 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#50 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#63 Business Hotel in Chicago
#72 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker at Michigan is a superbly located hotel, which resides in the legendary Mather Tower. Built in 1928, the hotel features state-of-the-art amenities and attentive, but never overbearing, service. Just one block from the world-famous Magnificent Mile and steps from the Chicago River, guests will delight in the fact that the hotel is characteristically Chicago yet uncharacteristically priced. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker At Michigan Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing