We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not the greatest rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Ranked #75 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Club Quarters. The location was wonderful. But the room was not the greatest. The shower head was spraying from all directions. It was a hand held shower head and I could never get it to spray at me, just on the floor. The rooms are tiny. The hall and room smelled of cigarette smoking. The staff (while pleasant) seemed disorganized.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarefreeTraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,258 - 1,264 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at the CQ on Wacker for five days in October and unfortunately was not very impressed. It is one of the hotels my company requires employees to book, so I had little choice in staying here.

I had requested a high room with a decent view when I booked, but upon arrival I was given a room on the second floor, which I was told was the only one with a view. The room, while pretty large, was rather outdated and looked like a 70's motel room. It had a very oddly placed sofa which faced the writing desk, so no reason to sit there. Very small TV and overall, the room felt a little dingy. The second floor is also where the lounge and free snacks are, so it can be noisy.

I requested a different room and was given one the next day, This one was on the 24th floor and had a spectacular view over the skyline. It also looked as though it had been renovated more recently, although I still wouldn't call it a comfortable room--not a place where you would just hang out. And since there are only two elevators serving floors 10 - 37, you can wait for a long time to get to your room.

On the plus side, staff was very friendly and the location is fantastic. The beds are very comfortable, if on the firm side. The free water, coffee and snacks were nice as well, and the hotel has free self-service laundry. Only a few washing machines and dryers for a large number of guests, but I had no trouble doing a load on a Thursday evening. And it's probably one of the cheaper hotels in the Loop area.

Overall, not a bad place if you just need a comfortable bed and aren't looking for any hint of luxury. Personally, I would prefer to stay somewhere else next time I am in Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boston_tripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago
1
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Room smelled of smoke every day even though we had supposedly booked an non-smoking. Also asked for a fork but it never came.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A great location on the river within walking distance of almost everything in downtown Chicago. Helpful staff; free wi-fi throughout the hotel; comfortable rooms; fantastic views over the river. Reasonable rates. I was in town for a small conference, and we had the use of a comfortable meeting room right next to the guests lounge which had coffee, tea, and soft drinks 24 hours; light breakfast too: fruit, granola bars, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that ovderlooks the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mph111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Club Quarters at Michigan & Wacker is very well located for a long weekend or business in Chicago. Access from the airport is relatively easy by Taxi or by Train. Facilities are well maintained. The room I got has an interesting design (26’x7’), but comfortable and with a wonderful view to the river. Service is good and people are quite friendly. Check-in was fast. The only missed point was that the restaurant closed the kitchen at 10PM on a Thursday. No big issue; there are plenty of good places nearby. Certainly, I would recommend this hotel for staying downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CombateBeachResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

fabulous location so central - especially for the magnificent mile - Michigan avenue, just two minutes walk away!
try get a room on the 30th+ floor for the views!
good simple service no frills hotel.
the rooms are big [lounge area microwave, fridge etc], but are shockingly dated [80's?
which is a shame cos this would be an amazing boutique hotel.
bathroom had no bath, but the shower was great.
would stay again.

Room Tip: choose a room on the top few floors, for the views. ask for a bath if you require a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andiboy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

The location was perfect. We stayed there for the Notre Dame/Miami football game weekend. On Friday we walked the Magnificent Mile and to the Navy Pier. Saturday we went in the other direction to Soldier Field. The hotel itself was very clean and comfortable. Coffee on the second floor and water on the floor were a nice touch. Would definitely stay here again when in Chicago

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mylmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#74 of 192 in Chicago
1,140 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#100 of 192 in Chicago
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan

Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#63 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $73 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan is a superbly located hotel, which resides in the legendary Mather Tower. Built in 1928, the hotel features state-of-the-art amenities and attentive, but never overbearing, service. Just one block from the world-famous Magnificent Mile and steps from the Chicago River, guests will delight in the fact that the hotel is characteristically Chicago yet uncharacteristically priced. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker At Michigan Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing