We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, small rooms, minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Ranked #71 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
1 review
“Great location, small rooms, minor issues”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

A group of about 12 of us got together for an extended weekend in Chicago in July and stayed at this hotel.

Positives:
- Great location
- Great views from from rooms (we overlooked the river)
- The 2nd floor lounge area was a great place for casual group gatherings
- Reasonably priced
- Free filtered bottled water

Negatives:
- Rooms are small (but adequate)
- Only two elevators serving many floors, so there elevator rides can take several minutes
- The card-key system wasn't always reliable; we occasionally had to get the front desk to "re-key" them
- One night at 3:30 AM the fire alarm's strobe light (but not the noise) went off on a few floors (including ours) and it took the staff a very long time to figure out how to disable it. The staff was very good about giving us a 2nd room to sleep in on another floor and waiving the cost of our room for that night.

Room Tip: - Request a room with a river view (worth upgrading for)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey--PaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    507
    147
    75
    34
See reviews for
179
477
162
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Loved the old restored areas...rooms bigger than Allerton....great views out windows..clean..nice staff..and concierge services...kuerig coffee comp on 2nd floor....

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maryannabert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We recently spent a week in Chicago, it was the same week that all the heat records were being broken (105!). If ever there was ever a challenging time for a hotel, this would have been the week,

Club Quarters shines! Our very late check in was met with smiles, it was speedy and courteous.

Our room on the 21st floor was spotless, warm and inviting with a beautiful view of the Chicago river.

The hotel has a great Italian restaurant Bacinos on the ground floor, with a nice patio and friendly staff.

One of my favorite amenities was the complimentary laundry facilities complete with detergent and Bounce! After spending all day sweating it was nice to be able to slip on some fresh clothes.

Location, Location....Location! You are in the heart of it all. We took the "L" into the city from O'Hare, stress free....it was a very short walk from "L" to hotel. We took the river taxi to the Willis Tower, walked to Michigan ave., Grant Park, Navy Pier, Millenium Park, bus to Oak St. beach and Water Tower (5 min).

Food:- Where do I start? Pizzeria Uno is around the corner, Ranallis Pizza delivers to the room unitl 5 am!!! Portillos hot dogs is down the street on Clark, Lawry's, Ditka's, Al's Italian beef and great Gyro's are all close by. I can't leave out the Billy Goat Tavern with the best cheesebourger, chessebourger in the world!

Great hotel, great staff, great location, great price........somebody pinch me! I'll be back!

Room Tip: Talk to Deshawn Murry the guest services manager. He is a true professional. Very Helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hollyseslar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We did price line and wasn't sure what we were going to get. We hit the jackpot when Club Quarters accepted it! I called and made a few requests for early check in and a fridge and a microwave since we were staying 5 nights. Then i decided to call back to see about a room with a good view. The guy who answered the phone had all the info for our previous requests and asked if high floors were a problem, "I said no," He said he would pick the Best room for us.We got room 3303 and it had a Fantastic view of the Chicago river going 2 different directions and the Trump Towers right across the street. The room was very clean and had plenty of windows for a great view of the city day and night. We also enjoyed using the club room on the 2nd. floor every morning. Free excellent coffee, newspapers, tv and computers with free printers that we used to map out our sight seeing routes each day and complementary bottled water to take with us.The front desk and staff were Excellent and the room was very quiet and peaceful.Great location also every thing we wanted to do was within walking distance and if not CTA, and free navy pier trolley were close by to take us. The water taxi to China Town was right across the street also.A Very Big Thanks to Club Quarters for making this a Wonderful birthday for Vicki.

Room Tip: 3303,3403,3503,3603,3703,and 3803 all have the best view of the river for watching all kinds of boat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pa.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Can't imagine a better location in Chicago -- right on Wacker. Rooms are compact but nicely appointed. Free wifi is a plus. Comfortable beds. There's no chair or sofa in the room but who cares? With the best of Chicago right outside the hotel's front door, who wants to stay inside? Workout room here is tiny with two treadmills, an elliptical, recumbent bike and dumbbells and bench -- not like the photo I saw on hotels.com. Nearby hotels are $50-$100 more. Save your money and stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeyondScrapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Recently stayed at Club Quarters on Wacker. Initially I was very disappointed with the size of the room and the fact that it was NOT made up when I checked in. I admit I was anything but nice to the desk clerk Andreas but he handled the situation brilliantly, was very apologetic and gave me a great room facing the river. Well I couldn't be happier. He also gave me dining/sightseeing suggestions which made my stay indeed very pleasant. Would I go back? Definitely! And hope Andreas will be there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank victor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We just returned from staying at the Club Quarters (aka The River Hotel) on Wacker for 2 nights. The rooms are extremely small and not all rooms have a refrigerator. We were surprised by how narrow the room was in relation to where they put the bed (don't just jump out of the bed or you will run into the wall). The rooms do not have irons or ironing boards or a dresser (that was odd), but only tiny little stands. The check-in process was average, but with only two people working it could have been a quicker process. One thing they failed to mention was a $150.00 "incidentals" charge they place on your credit card or debit card. Beware if using your debit card because it will actually come out of your account and then once they see there were no issues it will be refunded. Overall, their insight has soured my taste of their hotel even though they did have some nice customer service moments.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CT19781996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#65 of 190 in Chicago
1,032 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/N Loop/Michigan Ave
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan
Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#63 Business Hotel in Chicago
#72 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan is a superbly located hotel, which resides in the legendary Mather Tower. Built in 1928, the hotel features state-of-the-art amenities and attentive, but never overbearing, service. Just one block from the world-famous Magnificent Mile and steps from the Chicago River, guests will delight in the fact that the hotel is characteristically Chicago yet uncharacteristically priced. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Wacker at Michigan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Chicago -- Wacker At Michigan Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing