We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“27 stories high”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ROOF

ROOF
Ranked #976 of 9,493 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Transit: CTA Brown Line: State and Lake CTA Red Line: State and Lake
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“27 stories high”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Well, that was unique! Drinks are really good, and service is really excellent. You pay well for the ambiance and novelty. I had the most amazing peach, cucumber, & gin push pop!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bestnanaever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    42
    22
    7
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Go early if you want a seat and an older crowd. Go late if you want the scene. Great drinks and service. View is just OK, buildings but space is big and inviting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great event space, awesome view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We held an event at ROOF on theWit and were very pleased with our choice. It was a gorgeous space, with amazing views of the surrounding city and the lake. Lovely weather, so we had it as open as possible. Nice mix of seating areas. Great bars and good service. The food that I tasted was delicious (carving station, flatbreads, hors d'oeuvres, mini desserts). Not sure I'd return for the nightclub scene, but this more low-key vibe was fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
178 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Trendy and cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is one of the hot spots of the city where you go to see and to be seen. great location, great views, fantastic service, higher prices ( of course!), nice faces, cool atmosphere, great music. A place to hang out for breakfast , lunch or dinner

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank savask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A full out nightclub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were not expecting a full out dj, lights going, music pumping place. We thought we were walking into a casual rooftop bar with couches. The line was around the corner to get in. Lots of short tight dresses. Definitely a dress code. $10 cover. It was fun. The roof was not retracted the night we were there since it was cold but I can see how it would be amazing outside. Great view, just could not get outside for fresh air which was a bummer. I guess that part closed at 11pm and we got there after that time. Crowd was a mix of younger and older. Bathroom attendant. Girls that work there dancing on the bar in little outfits. If that is what you like, you will enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank traceytavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ROOF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing