We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great event space, awesome view”
Review of ROOF

ROOF
Ranked #952 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Transit: CTA Brown Line: State and Lake CTA Red Line: State and Lake
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great event space, awesome view”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We held an event at ROOF on theWit and were very pleased with our choice. It was a gorgeous space, with amazing views of the surrounding city and the lake. Lovely weather, so we had it as open as possible. Nice mix of seating areas. Great bars and good service. The food that I tasted was delicious (carving station, flatbreads, hors d'oeuvres, mini desserts). Not sure I'd return for the nightclub scene, but this more low-key vibe was fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    43
    22
    7
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
179 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Trendy and cool”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is one of the hot spots of the city where you go to see and to be seen. great location, great views, fantastic service, higher prices ( of course!), nice faces, cool atmosphere, great music. A place to hang out for breakfast , lunch or dinner

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank savask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A full out nightclub”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were not expecting a full out dj, lights going, music pumping place. We thought we were walking into a casual rooftop bar with couches. The line was around the corner to get in. Lots of short tight dresses. Definitely a dress code. $10 cover. It was fun. The roof was not retracted the night we were there since it was cold but I can see how it would be amazing outside. Great view, just could not get outside for fresh air which was a bummer. I guess that part closed at 11pm and we got there after that time. Crowd was a mix of younger and older. Bathroom attendant. Girls that work there dancing on the bar in little outfits. If that is what you like, you will enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank traceytavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1,922 reviews
1,172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
“Beautiful view from up top”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

With a room at the Wit comes free entrance to the club. Drinks are well poured and in line with other bars in the loop. We did not eat but others in the immediate area did, all the food looked good.
You can see all the way to the lake from the far side of the bar, the majority of the tables were reserved with no one sitting at them for the 2 hours we were present. We had a couple drinks at the bar, [--] with the bartender and had a enjoyable time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OVERRATED”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

If you want to spend outrageous money on drinks and some so-so bar food, this is the place for you. The view is good, but not worth the money or hassle that comes with a visit to the 27th floor of the Wit Hotel. If you want a table, the $100 minimum per person is hard to reach as one can only drink so much and with the food being largely appetizers, the usual bar finger food. Most of the seating is informal couches with coffee tables to set food and drink- an awkward arrangement when the place demands a high price for a visit.

In short, if you must go, have a single drink at the bar, watch the people and leave gracefully.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TXJHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ROOF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing