We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience- Favorite spot in Chicago!”
Review of Andy's Jazz Club

Andy's Jazz Club
Ranked #10 of 561 Nightlife in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Chicago's Best-Known and Most-Respected Jazz establishments, historic Andy's offers casually sophisticated dining with a musical menu of Chicago's top Jazz Artists. Local performers cover a range of styles from Traditional and Swing to Bop, Fusion, Latin and Afro-Pop. Our "Spotlight Performer Series" events showcase some of today's most "in demand" world touring musicians in an intimate setting.
Orange, California
1 review
“Great experience- Favorite spot in Chicago!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I would have to disagree with the last 3 reviews. Music was fantastic, very "jazzy" if you will. Service was excellent, very friendly. Others have said the food is "pricey" but it's quite average compared to other restaurants in the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Califoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    157
    32
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“the decline and fall”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Figured maybe the recent two reviews were in a bad mood. Nope. Group was good. Whoever runs the place needs advice. Group obviously encouraged to play lightweight when in fact after a request to "cut loose" from us were fantastic, then back to lightweight. When I asked for a trumpet solo they took off, apparently not encouraged by management. Overpriced mediocre wine, charge for a "split plate" because we shared a salad, extra charge for ice cream on the bread pudding with no warning that it was extra, chicken dish with a wing and a drumstick and no white meat, ravioli with a few swimming in a bowl--The highest priced meal we paid for in Chicago and a cover charge to boot. Great setting, good musicians held in check, management needs a transplant. Find a different jazz club if you're in town. Avoid Andy's.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad experience!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I had a negative experience at Andy's: the place was crowded and manager and waiters were rude, because me and my friends were near the bar. Manager said: "take your money back and go out!!" In addition: the jazz band was horrible, out of tone, pathetic!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ARickli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Bad Music...horrible food”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

If you don't love jazz a lot...then you had better skip this place. It has a reputation for bad food and it is well earned. $10 cover and music is loud.....you can't converse at all.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cdrlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
“Excellent jazz great atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Every time we visit Chicago, we stop by Andy's for a little jazz. Over the years we have scouted out many of the jazz clubs in Chicago and Andy's is one of two of our favorites.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ecko85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andy's Jazz Club also viewed

 

Been to Andy's Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing