We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay. Try the Creme Brulee French Toast. It is awesome!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good stay. Try the Creme Brulee French Toast. It is awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend because most of the traditional hotels were fully booked and ridiculously expensive. It was our first time at a B&B. We had a suite with two bedrooms, a small kitchenette, and a bathroom. Our rate also included full breakfasts at Dave's Polo Cafe (downstairs) and free parking. Our flight was delayed for two hours and we did not get in till almost midnight on a Friday night. We did call Dave, the owner, from the airport to let him know we would be late. Dave was very kind and understanding and was there to receive us when we arrived. The building is old (90 years old, according to Dave) so plumbling and the interior were a bit dated. The suite was relatively clean, though the carpet could use a good vaccuming especially underneath the queen-sized bed. There was also no toiletries in the bathroom but there was plenty of towels and a hairdryer. The breakfast on our first morning there (Saturday) was very good. We could order anything from the brunch menu. We had the Creme Brulee French Toast, Chilichilles and Eggs Benedict which were all very delicious, especially the Creme Brulee French Toast. Our second morning there, we were under the impression that we could order anything from the breakfast menu but was told by Kevin (Dave's right hand man/manager) that we only had two choices - Creme Brulee French Toast or scrambled eggs, potatoes and bacon. Our stay was pleasant. Dave is an awesome host. He is very hospitable, kind and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VACATION1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
18
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin. Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago because all of the traditional hotels were booked solid and insanely expensive due to a trade show being in town. Ended up having a fantastic time! We had a suite with two bedrooms, a full kitchen, and a bathroom.

Dave, the owner, is very kind and happy to give you all sorts of tips for a great weekend in Chicago. The breakfast in the morning is included at the downstairs Polo Cafe, as is parking. The breakfast is really good, although the omelet could have used more cheese.

Even with taking cabs to and from the city (about $12 each way), you will save a bundle by staying out here. The location is the only downside - it's in a neighborhood with not a lot happening nearby. It's also fun to learn about the history of the place from Dave and to hear his stories about how the place has changed through the years. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erintravelaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Dave and Kevin were exceptionally enthusiastic hosts! We booked out the B&B on behalf of small business owners from across North America attending a convention, and all were in agreement the food and service were well beyond expectations. The breakfasts were spectacular and they provided shuttle service daily to McCormick Centre. The restaurant is not operated every day, however they opened up just for our group of 11 and provided a meal that would rival any top 10 Toronto restaurant! The facility is ideal for hosting clients & suppliers alike. Lots of parking. Great value & ambience overall versus the downtown hotels. I will make certain to stay there next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

If you are planning a trip to Chicago, I encourage you to give the Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast a try. It is minutes from downtown, and very close to I94 and 55. Or, if you are in town to enjoy a White Sox game, the B&B is just a few blocks from the stadium.

Spacious rooms, mixed with great service, and the best breakfast you have ever had. Whether it is a family trip, a quick get away, or a business trip (which was my reason for staying) you can't go wrong with this gem.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdstoney16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

While in Chicago on a business trip, I stayed at the Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast Hotel. Owner Dave Sambler greeted me in his first floor restuarant (Polo Cafe) and served up the most delicious certified angus beef burger known to man. This was just the beginning of a three day stay that left me with a lasting impression of Bridgeport B and B. Bridgeport is close to McCormick Convention Center, White Sox Stadium, and several bus and train lines. The immediate neighborhood is middle class and was perfect for my stay. Dave and his staff delivered such personalized service, that I felt like more than just a guest. Daily gourmet breakfast (omlettes, steak and eggs) was included in the price and the serving time was flexible to meet my schedule. What more could I ask for? i had my own key to come and go as I pleased, and I the space itself was a suite/apartment with more room than I needed (2 bdrms, kitchen area, sitting room, etc. When it came time to check out and return home, I had become friends with Dave and his amazing staff. Personalized places like Bridgeport are hard to find these days. I will stay here again!
Chris Connor, NYC

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FDNYChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

Polo Cafe is known for offering Something Different ... Something Wonderful - we have agreed with this as we enjoyed their offerings at the cafe and Taste of Chicago booth. This weekend, we also got to experience David's famous French Toast in the morning following our stay above the cafe in one of the bedrooms restored to honor Bridgeport's history. Top line linens, artist painted Field of Dreams mural, autographed pics and other White Sox memorabilia were featured in our room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dajtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

Dave and Kevin helped my business trip to Chicago go off without a hitch. I wasn't interested in the hotels lining Michigan Ave or their high prices; I've stayed there before and they don't have any character. Dave offered me a great deal on a room during the week as well as door-to-door delivery to the convention center.

Dave's guest suites are beautifully appointed and include a small kitchenette. The full service restaurant on the ground floor meant that I only used the kitchenette to store left-overs! The bridgeport neighborhood was fun for walking through and window shopping. Added to the fact that the Midway is closeby, this B+B can't be beat!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
South Loop
Hyatt Regency McCormick Place
Chinatown
Jaslin Hotel
Jaslin Hotel
#130 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
South Loop
Wheeler Mansion
Wheeler Mansion
#140 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#96 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,407 reviews
Chicago South Loop Hotel
#103 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3322 South Morgan Street, 2nd and 3rd Floors, Chicago, IL 60608
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Above his legendary restaurant, Polo Care and Catering Bridgeport U.S.A., chef-owner, and now innkeeper, Dave Samber continues to offer "something different...something wonderful!" in his spacious 2 and 3 bedroom themed suites with private bath and complimentary lighted parking, plus free shuttle service TO local trains and McCormick Place. You'll also be treated to Dave's scrumptious breakfasts and his weekend brunches: Bloody Mary Brunch on Saturday and HALLELUJAH!! Bridgeport GOSPEL Brunch on Sunday. It's all part of their real Chicago Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bridgeport Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing