We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Buddy Guy's Legends
Ranked #104 of 9,599 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stopped in on Sunday to watch one of their free jazz concerts. We were so happy we did! The food was great, very reasonably priced for a downtown Chicago hot spot! Even the drinks were average priced, which is a suprising because even beer in the city is crazy expensive! The ambience is fantastic - music memorabilia everywhere! I highly recommend a stop in this "legendary" night spot and I look forward to returning again soon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hist0ricTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    186
    57
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fox, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“We had fun, but...”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very crowded, even though we got there 1 1/2 hours before the start of the show. We were unable to get a table downstairs, had to go upstairs and watch on TV screens for the most part.

Some fairly obnoxious drunks at another table didn't bother us directly, but weren't fun to watch. management didn't seem interested.

The show itself was good when we were upstairs, terrific when we finally went downstairs and determined to just stand and watch. Buddy Guy did a super show (He performs there in January; I don't know about the rest of the year.)

Food was Southern style-- very tasty, with very generous portions.

If you go there to see Buddy Guy, get there way early (5 or 6PM) and enjoy the opening acts too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good night out”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Not a fan of blues music but my friends were, a good night out. wished hat got there early to get a table rather than eat at the bar, food was good

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank regred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best live blues music experience!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visit Legends every January to see Buddy Guy play live, and always leave more fulfilled and amazed than the time before...amazing musicians, warm hospitality and hearty good food take the chill out of cold wintry Chicago nights.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DinerGirlP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Just a Deep South Honky Tonk”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Being from the deep South I call this place a Honky Tonk with a sense of overwhelming endearment. A great place to eat authentic Southern food and listen to great blues music. Buddy Guy only plays two weeks a year but anytime would still be a real treat to the savvy travelor.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MGKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddy Guy's Legends also viewed

 

Been to Buddy Guy's Legends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing